We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very old and used, but relatively cheap and well located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Oriental Hotel to your Saves list
Oriental Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105, Penang Road, George Town, Penang Island 1000, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very old and used, but relatively cheap and well located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is an old Chinese hotel. We chose it after having seen lots of hostels located on the Love Lane and Chulia Street. This one had at least a private bathroom and a lot of space in the room... As mentioned in the previous reviews, the furniture is old and completely outdated, with exception of bed, which is quite comfortable (luckily). Nonetheless the room is functional and big. The biggest problem we had, were the cockroaches, which appeared on the third day in the bathroom...
Another a bit scarry impression is the information placed basically everywhere around the hotel about locking the doors with all possible lockers, checking the corridors, storing anything valuable at the reception, etc... It seems like George Town is one of the most dangerous places in Malaysia, which of course is NOT like that. What is more, we never felt in danger or anything like it... On the contrary. But the hotel gave such impression.
I recommend this hotel if you don't have any other options (which was basically our case for a double room with bathroom)... In other case, look for something else. Even the Continental Hotel, which is very close by, seems a better option, more expensive though...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kasia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    25
    30
    13
    6
See reviews for
14
37
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Though hotel furniture & equipment is really overaged & worn, but we could sleep well in this hotel and all things were at least working. Walls and ceilings shout for a new painting.
AC is centralised, you cannot adjust temperature, but luckily it was not too cold for us (usually we set AC to 25-27 °C).
Quiet rooms, comfortable bed & cussions. Religious speakers at 06:10 AM opposite hotel are pretty loud, but stop after few minutes.

Room Tip: Upper floors = nice view & less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baerig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saska Kepa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

A bit old, but clean. Rooms very spacious with huge windows. AC .......... freezing, but you have got "door" to close it :) New bathroom, daily cleaning service.
Location is advantage of this hotel: close to Little India, in the center, just few steps from Bus stop to Penang Hill.
We'd seen 5 guesthouses before Oriental hotel - it was the best choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaskiaMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed as an overnighter, the rooms are pretty old, air-conditioning was freezing. As the location was quite good and the price reasonable it is ok for short stay. Next time I will stay elsewhere as there are better options.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Oreintal Hotel 93Ringgit = $30.00AUD
Basic budget hotel very tired rooms/ aircon but too cold/TV no English channels/great shower but grotty bathroom/Wi Fi in room/staff helpful/there are better around in this area but alright for an overnighter

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 29OAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hotel ok as a budget hotel .... But I get a call from reception saying there is someone to speak to me .... A girl was asking fir my wife and knew my full name , nationality and room number ... Something only hitel staff knew.... I go down later and guy at reception says 3 girls came in with my info so someone at the hotel is giving out personal info .... Not sure if they were going to rob me or were prostitutes or what but made me feel very unsafe and I checked out first thing

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phuketexpat35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these George Town hotels

kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Reasonable price. Old interior room with centralized air cond. However located in very strategic place.
Not recommended for family with baby or infant. Make sure you cover the bed before put your baby sleep on bed.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indi_andromeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.1 mi away
G Times Inn
G Times Inn
#48 of 77 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
0.8 mi away
Super 8 Hotel
Super 8 Hotel
#52 of 77 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mingood
Hotel Mingood
#47 of 77 in George Town
3.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#29 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 578 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hutton Lodge
Hutton Lodge
#34 of 77 in George Town
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
1.2 mi away
Garden Inn
Garden Inn
#57 of 77 in George Town
3.0 of 5 stars 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Hotel

Property: Oriental Hotel
Address: 105, Penang Road, George Town, Penang Island 1000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 77 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oriental Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Georgetown
Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing