We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright for an overnighter”
Review of Oriental Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oriental Hotel
Ranked #60 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Oreintal Hotel 93Ringgit = $30.00AUD
Basic budget hotel very tired rooms/ aircon but too cold/TV no English channels/great shower but grotty bathroom/Wi Fi in room/staff helpful/there are better around in this area but alright for an overnighter

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 29OAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 85 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Hotel ok as a budget hotel .... But I get a call from reception saying there is someone to speak to me .... A girl was asking fir my wife and knew my full name , nationality and room number ... Something only hitel staff knew.... I go down later and guy at reception says 3 girls came in with my info so someone at the hotel is giving out personal info .... Not sure if they were going to rob me or were prostitutes or what but made me feel very unsafe and I checked out first thing

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank phuketexpat35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Reasonable price. Old interior room with centralized air cond. However located in very strategic place.
Not recommended for family with baby or infant. Make sure you cover the bed before put your baby sleep on bed.

Room Tip: Ask for corner room with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indi U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed 3 times in last 3 years. Can't argue with the location, value and service. It looks old and worn because it is old and worn. Some reviewers say it's not clean. I think they're mistaking old and worn for not clean. At full blast the air con is perfect for aging sides of beef but is easily regulated by the sliding panels over the outlet.

There is a mosque close by on the east side of the building. Their loudspeakers easily defeated my industrial strength ear plugs. East is the side facing the ferry, Chinatown, etc. Get a room on the side facing Jln Penang street which is west.

Room Tip: East side faces a mosque's loudspeakers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ItDontMeanAThing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it's enough! The hotel needs to be updated a lil bit but it's okay. Only RM 80 for double bed. The room is spacious with a big bed. The bathroom is also big but a litlle bit old and not clean. The staff is okay too many people in the hotel so they don't actually know you. There is a car parking behind the hotel so you can leave your car there for free. If you find something better don't stay in Oriental.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that are not facing mosque. If you get it u'll hear the prayers at 5...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The Oriental offers basic and very clean hotel rooms for an excellent price. For 80 MYR only, you can sleep quietly within walking distance to most of the highlights of UNESCO World Heritage Georgetown. Cold central AC system and lots of hot water and access to free WIFI. Enjoy the very friendly service of the dedicated hotel staff. everyone speaks excellent English and does their utmost to please the guests. The hotel offers free parking behind the hotel, and I was just informed that I can leave my car there for the 10 days that I will go to Sumatra.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 9th or 10th floor, on the street side, otherwise the mosque at the back sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank René M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We stayed at the Oriental for 4 nights at a cost of RM87 per night. Hotel obviously does need updating and seems to have had no work done over the past few years. Having said that it gave the hotel a bit more character than the big soul-less chains have. The staff were very helpful, and booking taxis etc was much cheaper through them. The room (10th floor) was large, clean and the shower was good. No tea or coffee in room but I did see room service being taken to rooms. My only complaint was that they didn't advertise any of their services. The air con is the old type that works centrally through the building - it is very cold but once we realised you can adjust it by closing the doors it was fine. Excellent value if you just want a basic room with a good location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachygirl187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.3 mi away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 88 in George Town
3,697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broadway Budget Hotel
Broadway Budget Hotel
#45 of 88 in George Town
119 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chulia Heritage Hotel
Chulia Heritage Hotel
#37 of 88 in George Town
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cititel Penang
Cititel Penang
#20 of 88 in George Town
1,079 reviews
0.4 mi away
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel
#19 of 88 in George Town
609 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Malaysia
Hotel Malaysia
#38 of 88 in George Town
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Hotel

Address: 105, Penang Road, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 88 Hotels in George Town
Hotel Class:2 star — Oriental Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Hotel Georgetown
Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing