We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (384)
Filter reviews
384 results
Traveler rating
126
171
58
21
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
126
171
58
21
8
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 384 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

came in too early (7am) so the room wasn't available yet, I expected this anyway. what suprosed me was that I was offered some morning drinks (tea/coffee) in the dining /garden area, and even allowed to freshen up using the common bathroom. very nice! After a few minutes, I decided to spend the next couple of hours around town while waiting for my room to be ready. The friendly staff gave me transpo tips/directions on what sights to see. there were also internet/pcs in the lobby -- if you want to check emails but for a minimal fee. I stayed in an AC room without private bathroom. overall, clean and spacious accomodation which comes with a free breakfast too (toast with butter/jam, coffee or tea). good deal!

Room tip: komtar is walking distance from Hutton Lodge; bus stop near 7-11 (around 50m away) can also be your starting point...just a take bus to see temples and beaches!
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaLiRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuttonLodgePenang, Manager at Hutton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your review.
We at HLP are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and your holiday in Penang.
Hope to see you again,you can join us at Fb.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

First of all, we really love the location of Hutton Lodge. It's very near the bus stop, 7-11, and Mydin as well as Nasi Kandar and Char Kway Teow hawkers. It's very easy to get around. And even though it's near where most of the action is, it's still tucked in a quiet place so you get to sleep comfortably.

The room rates are reasonable as well for the amenities and breakfast. Staff is friendly and helpful. They quickly replied to my emails and gave accurate directions. Would highly recommend this place to anyone planning a vacation in Penang.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Excursionista14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuttonLodgePenang, Manager at Hutton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Thank you for the nice review.On behalf of everybody here we would like to say thank you for staying with us during your trip to Penang.
Hope to see you again in the future.Have a pleasant week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The staff at Hutton Lodge are friendly and helpful at all times. They are quick to respond to e-mail inquiries before you arrive, and to respond to personal requests when you stay. The location is excellent - very near the heart of the historic district and only a few blocks from bus stops for most of the buses a tourist would need. The breakfast is very basic, but the toast is made to order and there is always hot coffee and tea.

A few negatives though. Apparently they don't clean your room unless you request it. I had to go to the front desk to get clean towels. I also found that the common bathrooms were not cleaned well. For example, the soap dish in one shower had paper scraps and razor blades for days. The rooms are very basic (just a bed, small table and chair and clothes rack) and small (my room was one of the larger single rooms and was just 7 x 10 feet). Also, when I tried to check out they told me they could not accept credit cards without chips. I found this very surprising since I had used my credit card throughout Penang without any difficulty. This caused me the inconvenience of having to find a money changer, and would have been a serious problem if I hadn't decided to pay before my last day.

Overall, you get what you pay for. This is very basic accommodation for a low price. I'd stay there again though.

Date of stay: October 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank flaphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuttonLodgePenang, Manager at Hutton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear flaphoto;

Thanks for the review.
We will rectify all the comment taht you mention.A detail explaination has been send to you.

Have a pleasant day.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Hutton Lodge was a perfect place to stay in Penang. Reservation via e-mail worked out good and they quickly answered to all sorts of questions :) As soon as you enter the building, you notice how well this place is managed. The staff is so helpful and try to make the stay a smooth as possible. Besides great tipps for restaurants and activities they are also more than willing to arrange further reservations for buses and accomondations (which you freely chose, no need to chose from a list or anything).
As soon as you enter the hallway to the rooms you have to take off your shoes, which is often a good sign for cleanliness. And voila, the rooms were clean and comfy! So in this regard there is nothing to complain about. Another plus is that the AC is arranged in a way that it doesnt blows straight in your direction when you are sleeping, something that was not often found in Malaysia, no idea why :D. Wifi is free and available in the whole building. There was also a small internet corner for people without tablet/smartphone/laptop etc. Breakfast was served in the garden. Small things such as tooth paste, sun cream etc. can also be buyed in the hotel.

Again, the location is great, the centre is just a few minutes away by foot. And the public buses for penang hill / kok lok si temple stopped just at the next cross-road. It is much cheaper that way to visit (including wifi in the buses).

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Thumbs up for the staff!They are absolutely lovely and caring.
I was planning to stay for just over a week in Penang and due to some visa issues I had to leave after only a few days. The staff was extremely helpful taking my phone calls and even driving me to the airport at 4am in the morning.

I can highly recommend this place.
Thank you for a nice time!

Date of stay: June 2012
Trip type: Traveled on business
3  Thank JAQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HuttonLodgePenang, Manager at Hutton Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Penang.
We are very glas that you enjoyed your stay with us.Hope to see you again in the future.
Have a pleasant week.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews