We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Large standard room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Pangkor
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Large standard room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in as a family of 2 adult and 2 children in this hotel . Room was big enough to accommodate a family. Hotel has rooms facing hill or swimming pool. Hill view is better . Room has a balcony. Air condition is working well, carpet is old but clean .No LCD tv, hotel charges or extra blanket ,pillow etc. breakfast is very minimal . In lobby , sofas have become old and need replacement.

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank Aftab-Zaini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    55
    56
    28
    21
See reviews for
80
24
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

I stay here for one night last week.
Its very suitable for family of 4 person and above as the hotel has alots of apartment style rooms and it is walking distance to the beach ( pantai pasir bogak) too!
Recommend: seafood - ye lin or other restaurants near to it.
Activities: round island boat (around 1hrs) or by car (approx 2hrs)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michellewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

The hotel is expensive but very clean.The comforter is very shabby,old furniture and the extra bed is uncomfortable.The bed sheet is nice though.It is better to sleep with a mattress on the floor.The toilets are clean.The aircond is very cool and nice .The housekeeping staffs are excellent.The restaurant is very noisy ( many people during public holiday) .It feels like you are in a national service canteen but the food served is satisfactory.The hotel has no beach front.I would stay here again as the rooms are big and comfortable for a big family We booked an island hopping trip with the hotel for 16 pax and the hotel staff tried to packed all of us in one small capacity boat(12pax). We refused and he gave us a bigger boat.He put our lives in danger.The restaurant in Sandy beach resort (Sandy Spoon) has a lot of choice and reasonably priced.The only chinese restaurant that serve halal food is Yee Lin Seafood Restaurant,Reasonably priced.The place where everybody goes snorkelling,the water is not that clear.Did some snorkelling ,saw some fishes and had fun.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yasminf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We were staying in this Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor from 7 Jan to 10 Jan 2012 via an online booking from Agoda.com. When we checked in on 7 Jan which we booked 2 rooms, the front desk reception staffs were cold without any greeting and it's disppointing! The resort is already run down esp. it's interior decoration & the rooms we stayed though it seem to be painted externally! The hotel is dull & the staffs need customer service training badly! When we requested for extra pillow, we were told that we need to pay RM5 per night and this is just absurd which for the 1st time, I am asked to pay for extra pillow! The sauna is also needed to be paid at RM30 per hour for 5 people which again is rubbish to pay for such facility!
Pangkor Island itself is also pathetic as the place is also dull, dirty and it's difficult to look for good foods esp. for muslim like us! I am really sad to visit this Island after more than 2 decades, I do not see any transformation to make this Island a real resort island to attract tourists be it the locals or overseas to have repeat visits! This will be my last visit to Pangkor and also to Coral Bay Resort as it's is really absurd with bad services!
I would suggest that Agoda to remove this resort from it's listing as it is just disappointing!

Room Tip: Nothing to advise on this resort as it didn't impress me at all, unfortunately!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Hanifflai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pangkor hotels

Selangor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

Coral Bay Resort Pangkor is situated in a strategic location to the town and other local tourist spots. The hotel is clean and reasonably priced with malaysian breakfast. It has , amongst others a sauna , swimming pool for adults and children , a newly opened KTV and Bar. On an overall note , our stay in the hotel was a pleasant one.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SivaSoorianarayanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

This hotel located in close proximity to jety and main town area. Yes it is 100-200m walk to beech. You can find some water sports in this Pasir Bogak beech. The service is reasonable to the price. Nothing much in TV(local channels only). Almost boring breackfast. Do not expect a good view from you room. Rooms are ok, reasonably clean bedding and bathrooms.
JUst cross the road for all the amenities, eateries especially chinese seafood restaurents, internet... I'll not stay here again as i think there are better options than this...

Room Tip: Choose sea view. Pool view is very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PSK294265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

We took our staff to the lovely Island of Pulau Pangkor in late November and everyone enjoyed themselves tremendously. We stayed in Pangkor Coral Bay Hotel.

Checking in for 30+ of us was quite smooth and the hotel lobby was quite attractive with plenty of sofas for guest to rest while waiting, We were all put up on the 2nd floor except for those who prefer triple sharing- mainly with young children. The rooms were large with twin beds or double beds but looked rather tired. The bed coverings were faded and so were the carpets & curtains. There were TV, Fridge and hair dryer but no safe. We had some documents to keep away and did so in the reception counter. They provide safes under their counter-top, rather quaint.

The bathroom was really basic. Bath towels only were provided, none for hands or face. Shampoo, soap and bath foam were provided.

Though the bedding looked worn out, the bed itself was quite comfortable but during the night the air conditioning was too cold and there was no way to turn it up. When I requested for an extra blanket, they charged me RM!0!!! Over buffet breakfast provided by the hotel, many members of our group complaint about the cold, cold night.

Yes the breakfast was also very basic and at the egg station, the chef will not listen to you request. He will over fry your eggs whatever you may request. Only ONE way to do it.

Generally, Pangkor Coral Bay Hotel was good enough as we generally goes back to shower & sleep. There are some Chinese Seafood Restaurants beside the hotal which serves some really great Seafood. Prices are very reasonable.

Overall I do not mind staying here again esp. for the convenience it offers to good food, nice beach and booking of water sports and some shopping.

Room Tip: Rooms are either facing swimming pool or the town. Both sides are alright, swimming pool side can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maehyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
3.0 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
1.9 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#5 of 28 in Pangkor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort & Spa
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor

Property: Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
Address: Lot 34 Jalan Pasir Bogak, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Pangkor
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pangkor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor 3*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Coral Bay Hotel Pangkor
Coral Bay Hotel Pangkor
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor Pulau Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing