We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple guesthouse with warm hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pangkor Guesthouse SPK
Ranked #2 of 18 Pangkor B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stayed for one night and enjoyed it.
The room is small, clean and neat. Nothing to complain for just RM80 a night.
Very good location, just 5 mins walk from nearest jetty. Near to coffee shops and local restaurants.
During our stay, a little girl (neighbor of SPK guesthouse) offered to be our tour guide. She is only 8 or 10 years old. She brought us to feed wild boar, short leisure walk in the fisherman village, visited an old abandoned local cinema and told us funny stories!

Rented a motorbike for RM25 for one day. It took us less than 2 hours to round the island. Don't recall seeing a traffic light. So, the ride was seamless. Most of the riders in this island are very polite, no honking or harassing.

If you are an avid comic lovers. This will be a wonderful spot for you. Joyce has a nice and cozy library on 1st floor. Mostly are chinese comic books. Good place to rest, read and relax.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (72)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 72 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and it was wonderful! Joyce is the most fabulous host, organising a bike and giving us a brilliant map. She also showed us around the village which we wouldn't have been able to do otherwise. Great street food, we were advised where to go.
Clean decent room, aircon and quiet. Speedy wifi.
This place is not near the beach but worth visiting to stay in a Chinese Malay community. If you het off the ferry at the SPK stop, its a 2 min walk. Unfortunatly jetty was closed for us on 28th Jan so we had to get off at the town and get a taxi.
Book directly through Joyce for better rate : 017-5074728

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

First off. This guesthouse will suit those looking for a real authentic Malay/Chinese experience. It's what we were looking for and we were glad we found it here. The guesthouse is nice and new. Joyce is a great host. She happily showed us all around the community and once she realised we love local food there was no end to the new foods we got to try. Some of the best food we had in Malaysia was in this little village. Also for those wanting to go to the beach and are worried about staying here - we still wnet to the beach every day from here. its not that far and the culture here is worth the extra 10 minutes. We stayed here for nearly a week and wish was longer. Still one of the highlights of our 6 months in Asia.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linden N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This guesthouse is located in the middle of the local village. Most locals are fisherman. If you want to experience the true Malaysia you should stay at Pangkor guesthouse SPK. There is a nice foodstalll around the corner where you can have a lovely meal for only RM 4. Joyce the owner of the guesthouse makes the stay memorable, she is a great host! Dont forget to get off at the first jetty stop: SPK even if the locals tell you to stay in the jetty!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CelineenJoost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We had à wonderfull time in SPK guesthouse, in the middle of the local village. The guesthouse is new, very clean and comfortable. The rooms with aircon and hot water are nice, and Joyce, who owns the guesthouse makes your stay really pleasant. She has lots of information and tips. There is no breakfast, but she provides à toaster and à water kettle, so just go to the shop for some bread, jam and coffee and you can make your own breakfast. We rented à scooter, made à tour around the island, fed the hornbills. Lots to do! And If you just want to relax, SPK has à Nice lounge deck with à hammock and Nice chairs! Thanks Joyce for the wonderfull stay!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robinenilona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

This guest house is located very near with the first jetty which is Sungai Pinang Kecil. You just need to walk around 2 minutes after you go down from the jetty. After you meet the T-Junction from jetty, walk to the right and you will find a small 2 storey house with bed logo at your left after 4 or 5 building.

When i was coming, joyce as the owner welcome me and give me a map of Pangkor. She also give explanation about place of interest among the pangkor as well as the food surrounding the area. She also can manage you to take extra activities such as water sport and motor renting.

There are only few rooms available since its just a small guesthouse but the room is good enought and worthed for the price you pay. I take a twin bed room and the room is clean as well as the bathroom inside. Every room got a small bathroom with warm water available. The bed, pillow, and blanket are fair enough with the price you pay.

On the second floor you will find something that i consider extraordinary which is library. Its quiet unique to have a small library inside a small guesthouse but it's great. They also have a bed from the fish net and its quiet comfortable to sleep there while you are reading the books.

Surrounding area there are a lot of food available. But i was wonder why mostly the food available are noodle eventhough with different variation. Just across the guesthouse you will find a thaifood restaurant and the owner is originally come from Thailand. Eventhough there are several big dried seafood distributor nearby the area, i suggest you to buy dried seafood from the shop across the guesthouse because the price slightly cheaper. The owner said actually the distributor buy the dried seafood from this small shop and resell and with the higher price especially in the town area.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank irwandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Joyce (owner) was very friendly, she give all the detail about Pulau Pangkor where to eat, visit and also provide us a map, simple and easy to understand. It also very near with jetty, just few steps away. The room was basic with good value of price, clean and new since they just opened the guesthouse not long ago.
Surrounding of the guesthouse are fish farm, it is where I can feel the life style of the fish farm. It is also near with boat factory, fish manufactory ( where you can buy their local fish product in a cheaper price then at Pangkor Town ), fish farm trip and etc.
Totally will go there for 2nd time.

Room Tip: It is better for you to rent motorcycle, if wanted to go around Pulau Pangkor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
2.1 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#7 of 27 in Pangkor
65 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
2.1 mi away
Horizon Inn
Horizon Inn
#11 of 27 in Pangkor
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
2 mi away
Nipah Bay Villa
Nipah Bay Villa
#3 of 15 in Pangkor
119 reviews
2 mi away
Budget Beach Resort
Budget Beach Resort
#3 of 25 in Pulau Pangkor
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pangkor Guesthouse SPK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangkor Guesthouse SPK

Address: 22 Jalan Tepi Laut Spb | SPK village, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Pangkor
Price Range: $17 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pangkor Guesthouse SPK 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
near to SPK pier or jetty, centre of local fishing village. with local food surrounding at whole day. Free fish feeding and other wild life watching for our guests, other activities and transportation can be arranged. free map and guide from local hosts. eco-design and eco-tourismn is encauraged. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your Pangkor Guesthouse SPK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pangkor Guesthouse SPK Pulau Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing