We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with poor front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island
Ranked #6 of 17 Pangkor B&B and Inns
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good hotel with poor front desk”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Pros: The owner is friendly, the room is impressive. Was cleaned every day. Hot water shower and free drinking water. Got a room to dry clothes. Best thing for island hotel.
Very near to the Ferry terminal but far from the beach.

Cons: Experienced the worst. Reached the hotel at 8 AM in the morning and surprised to see the hotel locked. After a while a Malay lady came out and she dint even let us go inside. After taking the reservation sheet in, she came back after 5 mins and just replied "No" and went inside and locked the door.
Just imagine how stupid it is.. Some one we managed to call back. She don't know English. and told us that her boss is sleeping and we have to come later or wait on the road.
We were about to cancel the reservation and then the boss came. Though he apologized for his employee's behavior, it was really frustrating to experience such thing in the beginning of our trip.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
18
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I booked a 3 night stay on basis that others said the staff were friendly and helpful. I did not find that to be the case for me. I would have checked out by 2nd day except I could not get refund. The aircond was very noisy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shanlung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darjeeling
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Friendly family run buisness & friendly staff who advise best places to eat & visit without even asking....... quiet room & no outside noise & room was finished to a very high European city standard & incredibly clean - i couldnt have asked for more - hired scooter next door! highly recommendable just for the friendly vibe........

Room Tip: I was in single room 104
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Qiarlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Located a stone thrown away from the jetty, this place is perfect if you're looking for a place that you will spend minimal time in. Rooms has the bare minimum of amenities albeit is very clean. It is quite far from the beach. Price is competitve compared to many other stays in Pangkor.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R_Reginal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great location, only 5 mins away from the ferry stop. Be sure to get off at the second stop from Lumut, there are only two stops. Take note of the street name and when you get out of ferry stop, walk in a north west direction. The hotel staff are great. They are able to call you cab to Coral Beach which will cost 15 ringgets. There is no lift, so ideal for people with little luggage. The room is simple, clean, and have air con, towels, shower gel and shampoo. A plus about this hotel is that they provide free drinking water!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

I had a great two nights at BestStay. It's a really close walk from the ferry, which was convenient with my big backpack! And the couple who run the place was super nice. They suggested some nice places to eat, which I tried and was happy with. They also upgraded me to a bigger room with a window which was great! AC worked great, and the bed was big and clean as was the room. I exchanged lots of head nods and smiles with the housekeeper who was very sweet.

The TV, although it only has three channels, had two movie channels and I got to watch the Lord of the Rings trilogy and other fun movies after a long day scooter-ing around the island.

Thanks for a nice time!

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almunecar, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nothing was too much trouble for Simon and Rachel as we booked into the Beststay Hotel.
He arranged us a special discount price which we did not expect.

We chose this location rather than the beach side of the island as we enjoy mixing with the locals and walking to explore the area.

We actually walked round the whole island. This was facilitated by Simon who took us in his car the first evening for an orientation tour pointing out the best restaurants and beaches to enhance our 5 day stay there.

The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable, lots of nice hot water. There need to be a few wall hooks and shelves applied which Simon says he will be doing.

A charming couple, a lovely hotel, well situated on a beautiful little as yet unspoilt island though better to visit during the week as prices go up at weekdays and school holidays.

Room Tip: Maybe the 3rd floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank clara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pangkor hotels
1.0 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
2.8 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
63 reviews
1.1 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Anjungan Beach Resort
Anjungan Beach Resort
#3 of 27 in Pangkor
351 reviews
2.4 mi away
Nipah Bay Villa
Nipah Bay Villa
#4 of 14 in Pangkor
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island

Property: Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island
Address: Lot 55 Jalan Pasir Bogak, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beststay Hotel is a cosy and affordable hotel located in the heart of Pangkor Island. Well designed and furnished, the hotel has a simple and clean decor which exude an aura of cosy comfort. Here you can find almost everything you need for good relaxation and entertainment. The hotel is located about 120 metres away from the Pangkor Ferry Jetty, 5 minutes walk to the town center and 3 minutes away from the nearest beach by taxi. Taxi is easily available and travel to any location in Pangkor Island is a breeze from the hotel because of its location. Outings & Recreations can be arranged for you by request.Facilities & FeaturesModern room amenities include:- individually controllable air-conditioning- bathroom with cold/hot shower- LCD TV with Astro channelsHotel Facilities:- High-speed wireless Internet access.- cold/hot drinking water ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Stay Hotel Pangkor Island Pulau Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing