We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Hotel on Nipah/Coral Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anjungan Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Pangkor
Reviewed December 5, 2009

It's conveniently located right on Nipah Bay & a stone's throw away from Coral Bay. It's still fairly new & the furnishings are complete & very comfortable. The owners are very friendly & are a wealth of information regarding the island. Captain was kind enough to give us a lift to the pier on our last day & even took us for a drive round the island ending with breakfast in the interesting fishing village!
The swimming pool in the centre of the Resort provides relief from the sometimes crowded beaches. This place serves breakfast on a daily basis but dinners only on Fridays & Saturdays. Anyway, we found decent food in the nearby Horizon Cafe (reasonably cheap Chinese food) & Daddy's cafe (more pricey mixed local & Western dishes).

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Anjungan Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 362 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2009

This is a new resort a few minutes walk from Coral Beach. We were lucky enough to stay over a weekend as they cook dinner on Friday and Saturday nights. The food was excellent and over the course of our stay our hosts, Captain Shari and his family, spoiled us with their culinary delights. When they learned we were interested in Malay food they went out of our way to introduce us to exciting dishes. We even had Durian! My husband even had it twice!
The Captain took us around the island and even took us to his favorite local restaurant. We felt as we were staying in someone's home not a resort. The rooms are clean and adequately sized and there is wifi, tv, and a/c. The bathrooms are large and have good showers, etc.
Our tips are to bring insect repellent for the mosquitoes, and your appetite if you are there over a weekend! Also, get the 2 hr massage in your room. Fantastic!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank projectrunaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

We are 2 couples 55-59 and we stayed here on the last 4 days of our months trip round Vietnam & Malaysia.
We had promised ourselves a bit of quality R&R on the last few days of our holiday and ended up in Pangkor after disappointing stays on Langkawi and Penang.
We chose this hotel by the reviews from Trip Advisor and were not disappointed.
The rooms were large & spacious, beds comfortable; sheets clean, although I have to say the cleaning of the rooms was not that good. Our room, which was the family room, had fridge, microwave, kettle, sink & crockery & TV (only 2 channels but you don’t spend too much time watching TV?)
The bathrooms were a little strange – very large & parts open to the elements to allow jungle noises etc to enhance the effect however this does of course let in mosquitoes so it was quick in & out to avoid being bitten and was also wary of any creepy crawlies being in there!
The outside pool was lovely – warm as a bath so to cool down you need to use the shower. Poolside beds could do with mattresses and no sunshades (apparently these are on order so will be coming)
The breakfasts were good, not included in the price, choose from a varied menu.
Wifi internet access in the reception area only. No public computers for use so unless you have your own (as I did) then you will have to use café up the road.
There is no bar or restaurant to speak of but you can buy soft drinks from the fridge and every Fri & Sat they do serve meals (need to pre-book). The reception is closed early evening so when you come back it may be in darkness but ample lighting to see you to your rooms.
This hotel has only been open for 11 months and it would seem improvements are being made all the time. There was a lack of information on what was avaliable at the hotel i.e There is an Iron avaliable from reception, had no idea of any spa faclities, had to ask about wifi.
The owner (Captain) and his wife, well known locally, were extremely friendly and were always chatting to the guests. Very helpful in organising Taxi back to KL at the end of our trip (£62)
If you hire anything (motorbikes, cycles, boats etc..) from the guys outside the resort mention you are staying at The Anjungan and you will get a fair price, tell Captain when you get back how much you paid and if they ripped you off he will go sort it!!
The hotel is surrounded by jungle so lots of jungly noises at night, monkeys can be seen in trees and on top of beach cafes, Toucans come to feed at the hotel every morning and nest in nearby trees at night.
Pangkor is a very small Island and most places are more backpacking than luxury.
You would hardly call Nipah Bay a town, more like a street so don’t go there expecting lots to do in the evenings, just a stroll along the road market stalls and a drink or meal in one of the few restaurants. Recommend Daddy’s restaurant on the beach – expensive but nice for a treat. The hotel is situated in a small bay but the beach is very dirty and water not that clear or clean, but we found this to be the same at all the islands in Malaysia. The beach is literally across the road from the hotel and the area in front of Daddy’s restaurant is far better than that in the central area, deckchairs only £2 all day, no sunshades however so you may need to sit under a tree!
My husband hires a cycle and went all around the island in ½ day, cost £3.50. Friends hired motor cycle for 24 hrs cost £8 – although island is so small not really anywhere to go and this seems to be the best bay.
Husband like to snorkel so hired kayak (£5) but water very cloudy here and island opposite is crowded & full of rubbish. Just walk around the rocks at the end of the bay (past the temple) and you will find a small bay with clear water and lots of fish, not many people here.
We paid £38 per night per room here and were pleased with this. You could pay a lot more for a top end hotel and not get that much more to be honest, this hotel has everything you need.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lamarina26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

It was a prompt suggestion by my brother to have a family get-together at Pangkor. We went there last Feb and thought there's not much to see this time around. I did a quick check on the net and found out about the lovely place.
The beach situated just minutes away from our room, as well as the food stalls and the gift shops. Even though a lot of activities going on by the road, it was quiet when you step into the resort compound. It's a hassle free vacation for family with children as everything that you need, you have it there.
The room was nice plus the interconnect room does help a lot with big family such as ours. The pool which designed like a ship and it was well maintained by the management. It was lovely. We were planning to have a karaoke session but we were too late booking the room so the management had no staff to prepare the room for us. So it's best to let them know earlier so that they can accomodate it to you. You have to book it for the whole day for RM350 and the owner did mention that he can also prepare the cake and beverage - since I did mention it was for my husband's birthday. :)
After all being said, I personally think that the hospitality provided by the owner's family shows that they're happy doing what they do and enjoy entertain their customer. One night we came back quite late and that the owner was standing in front of the door like a father waiting for his children - just to provide us a couple of pillows for a good night sleep..

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank visc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Stayed one night during Raja Muda Regatta. The rooms were clean and comfortable, the manager was very friendly and helpful. The grouds were new and still maturing, but pleasant. An added bonus was the hornbill 'show' around dusk - a treat if you like these tropical birds. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2009

The Anjungan resort is a nice quiet place located only a minute or two from the beach. It has a nice pool which we found much nicer sitting around or swimming in than the beach.
Our room was on the lower level (there are only 2 levels) and was comfortable and adequate (its beach style accomodation rather than all out luxury). The owners here are great - they where very friendly and very helpful - (it was kind of like staying with friends)
We ate at the resort one night when they cooked dinner and it was good. Other nights they offered suggestions on restaurants (the Nippah Bay Villa restaurant was good)
They rang and organised massages for us (in our room) and it was probably the best 2hr massage I've ever had (cost MYR118).
Hired a motorbike for MYR30 for a day to get around and see the island - there's not a huge amount to see or do (it takes maybe 30 -40 min to ride around the island). But it certainly was handy to get to the main town for a look around.
The beach a couple of minutes walk from the resort was probably as nice as any other i saw on the island.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mothie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2009

When you travel with young children you know when you are in the right spot right away. From the moment we arrived (it was late) to the time we left our stay was absolutely perfect. If we could summarize the place in one or two words it would be friendly and welcoming. Anyone that travels will tell you it is often the little things that make the difference and we were pleasantly surprised over and over agina with this wonderful details.

First of all if you are looking for 5star go somewhere else. Anjungan is an exceptional 4star in our opinion that has everything that most people could want but it is not designed to be luxurious. The facility itself is new and clean. The rooms are tastefully appointed with a good shower and toilet. They have a fridge, TV and coffee and tea. The beds are comfortable and the setting is very scenic and relaxing. The pool is a lot of fun and great for kids as it is shallow throughout which is a huge plus.

The setting on Nipah bay is fantastic as you are within walking distance of everything the area has to offer. The hawker stalls are fantastic. We would recommend making the five minute walk north to Coral bay as well. Quieter, more scenic and relaxing. As well you would be missing out if you didn't watch the sun set between islands from the beach restaurant Daddy's cafe. Simply spectacular (Thanks Shaari for pointing it out to us!)

The real reason we wanted to write this review though was to highlight the owner/operator. As mentioned the details are what makes a trip memorable and the personal attention we received was top rate. The kids talk about swimming and racing Capt. Shaari for Cornetto's and loved the daily feeding of the hornbills. They even went out of their way to select a "good" durian for us from the market. Good may be debatable with the durian (must be an aquired taste) but the little details with them kept coming. Local suggestions on what to see and where to eat. Morning company for breakfast with many entertaining stories. Encouraging the kids to eat things they would have otherwise not done etc. If possible ask to see if you can visit a tradtional Malay home for tea. Fantastic cultural experience. This is just a sampling but for a three night stay suffice to say we wished we had allowed longer.

It is not often when checking out of a hotel that you feel like you are leaving a family member behind but this is how we felt with them making us feel so at home. On a final note I would say that unless you are looking to go shoestring budget or 5 star this is the place for you. The family feel is priceless and the resort is everything that you could hope for on an island as small and undeveloped as Pangkor. We can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canaussie05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
1.9 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
4.3 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
1.9 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
0.1 mi away
Ombak Inn Resort
Ombak Inn Resort
#5 of 27 in Pangkor
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anjungan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anjungan Beach Resort

Address: 6610 Nipah Bay | Pangkor Island, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia (Formerly Anjungan Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pangkor
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pangkor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range: $39 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anjungan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anjungan Beach Resort is a beach retreat strategically located between two of Pangkor’s best and popular beaches, Nipah Bay and Coral Beach. Nipah Bay is just across the road while Coral Beach is only a few minutes walk away. Giam Island, a popular snorkeling location is situated only a few hundred meters from the beach in front of the resort. Blending modern and tropical design, the resort is meant to provide guests a perfect island getaway that will draw you into an inviting and memorable experience. Come and experience it for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Ctrip TA so you can book your Anjungan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anjungan Beach Resort And Spa
Anjungan Beach Hotel Pangkor
Anjungan Beach Resort Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing