We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very dirty and the price paid not worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anjungan Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Pangkor
Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“very dirty and the price paid not worth it”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Went here last weekend, having 2 family rooms. when im going in, there is a cat and apparently the cat is the room owner.
the air cond is totally not cold, and I'm sweating when i was sleeping under it. Asked the reception to help me check but no one come even they promise to have a look.
when the hotel is categorized under resort and spa, we were expecting spa there but it is very disappointed to find out that their spa is not operating at all. And they did not mention until we ask. I'm paying the price for the facility and service but end up, only swimming pool is available.
the hotel is quite isolated and having problem to look for food. The hotel cafe only serve breakfast which give us a lot inconvenient to search for lunch and dinner.
So we were paying a resort and spa for a cat-occupied-room, no-spa resort and spa, no-meal cafe for a price which is higher than those I can easily without these facilities. Really make my trip to pangkor quite miserable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank noName985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    133
    91
    37
    26
See reviews for
127
119
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I booked a family room during Sep 2011. The hotel was quiet and very homy ... you don't expect that kind of fancy hotel, it was clean and there was a small pool in the middle. Every morning we had hornbills to feed them. You just need to cross the road to reach the beach and there are people there, which give you some Island exploring, Jet sky and those kind of water activities there for a reasonable to cheap price. I met "Mousa" there who was very nice guy and frindly and knows English of course. You can ask the guy at the beach to take you to a small iland near there and drop you off for the couple of hours and enjoy your private island there.

There is a supermarket and some shops next to the hotel which you can almost find everything there. The restaurant next to the hotel has very nice and delicious food especially sea foods and very nice "Teh Tarik".

An alley further you can rent a motor bike for RM25/Day or a scooter for RM35/Day which is very cheap to explore the Pnagkor island and go deeper.

The our booking was via "Booking.com' and it didn't include breakfast, but they serve you a complete breakfast for around RM11/Person. I did not try lunch and dinner there.

Our room was that kind of duplex with one AC and one normal ceiling fan, so I can say it was a little bit hot on the second floor during the day, which is not important because you are in the swimming pool in that time ;)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iBehzad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mangalore, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I loved this resort a lot.Booked one of the best rooms available(dont remember the name) was a duplex room with wooden flooring. Don't remember dining in there.Pool even though small was clean and is in the shape of a Boat ! Beach is very near, u just have to cross the Road to reach the beach and you have Jet ski's and rent a bike's near to the resort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rittaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I had a great time at Anjungan Beach Resort. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room that I had was great!It was clean and spacious and the A.C was cold and works great! We had the deluxe room with king sized bed. Each night was peaceful and quiet so we had a good night sleep every night. We stayed there for one week and the caretaker Mr. Manshoor is a nice person and was very helpful.

There was nothing wrong with the hotel but I was disappointed with the trash and garbage situation across from the hotel. Like another reviewer said, it was disgusting and I was disappointed that there were restaurants all along the Teluk Nipah beach so we couldn't see the beach and there were trash, rotting food and even a carcass of a dead dog by the beach! Nobody collected the trash and the carcass of the dead dog was just shoved aside by the small stream that one reviewer described. It was disgusting and the other beaches like Coral Bay, Pasir Bongkak, Teluk Ketapang and Teluk Dalam do not have restaurants right by the beach and why they build them at Teluk Nipah is just beyond me.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Abimanyu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We were in this property for 4 nights in Deluxe Room.
1st mission was to get a top sheet for the bed. It is an annoying Malaysian habit to provide only an under-sheet and a cover for the beds.
2nd mission was after 1 night, getting the staff come and clean the room properly. The wall behind the bed head was black with mildew and the smell of that was horrible.
After a thorough clean the room was acceptable and the bed was very comfortable.

Staff at the front desk were reluctant to show us rooms prior to check-in. They said they were busy because the had a Group Booking for about 100 people coming in that afternoon. It transpires that these Group Bookings (this one from KL on a Corporate “Team Building” exercise) are what this property revels in, particularly in the slow season. These large bookings result in increases noise levels and keep the staff preoccupied to the detriment of all other residents.

This property is well situated with Nipah beach across the road and Coral Bay only a few minutes walk away. However there is a small stream or drain which is full of garbage flowing out to sea and the path to Nipah beach is past this. Disgusting! Coral bay is much better.

There is no restaurant in the Resort and because it is slow season at least early in the week most of Nipah was closed there was extremely limited choice of places to eat. As the week went by more places opened and the choice got better.
At MYR180 Anjungan charged the highest tariff of all places we stayed in 3 weeks in Malaysia. We paid only MYR120 for a better room right on the beach at Cenang in Langkawi.

On the Plus side, because of slightly cooler weather we were able to turn of the AC and open windows for fresh air during the day, only closing up to keep out the odd mosquito.
The room had a small refrigerator in it.

Overall, if you are unlucky enough to strike one of the large Group Bookings you will probably get mediocre service at top price. I would not recommend this property or for that matter Palau Pangkor itself.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atholr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pangkor hotels

Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Excellent location in Teluk Nipah....very close to two nice beaches...Teluk Nipah & Coral Beach. Well-designed and well-maintained. The pool size is just nice for you to take a dip and relax. Definitely will return to stay in this resort again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaas1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Despite all the negative review, we enjoy our stays in Anjungan. We booked a double deluxe room. The hotel is located at a very convenient location. Accessible to Coral Beach and Teluk Nipah Beach and have no problem to find food or souvenirs. The pool is well taken care and my boys really have a great time dipping in the pool and the beach. The owner really had giving an effort to take care of the place. If only, breakfast was included it would have been perfect for us. We certainly would like to come again someday.

Room Tip: Choose ground floor room that is facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mummyei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pangkor
1.9 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
4.3 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
1.1 mi away
Nazri Nipah Camp
Nazri Nipah Camp
#6 of 27 in Pangkor
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Pangkor Waterfall Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anjungan Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anjungan Beach Resort

Property: Anjungan Beach Resort
Address: 6610 Nipah Bay | Pangkor Island, Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor 32300, Malaysia (Formerly Anjungan Beach Resort & Spa)
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Pulau Pangkor > Pangkor
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Pangkor
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Pangkor
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Pangkor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Anjungan Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anjungan Beach Resort is a beach retreat strategically located between two of Pangkor’s best and popular beaches, Nipah Bay and Coral Beach. Nipah Bay is just across the road while Coral Beach is only a few minutes walk away. Giam Island, a popular snorkeling location is situated only a few hundred meters from the beach in front of the resort. Blending modern and tropical design, the resort is meant to provide guests a perfect island getaway that will draw you into an inviting and memorable experience. Come and experience it for yourself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Anjungan Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anjungan Beach Hotel Pangkor
Anjungan Beach Resort And Spa
Anjungan Beach Resort Pangkor, Pulau Pangkor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing