We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not at all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Orient Star Resort Lumut
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Lumut
Reviewed January 5, 2011

staying here for the night..and the room is indeed very very tired looking,..staff are polite but not helpful..we lugged our bags from the car to reception area and into our room.. I have yet to see the swarms of flies at breakfast tmr..

the sea and the swimming pool doesnt look inviting at all

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisaMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
There are newer reviews for The Orient Star Resort Lumut
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 110 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2010

Stayed for a week and that was enough.
As in previous reviews the breakfast was shocking, cold, poor choices and flies everywhere! In the land of amazing fresh fruit, the orange juice was made from powder !!
Pool was OK but the service was non existant, when they are charging £4.00 for a bottle of beer, they are really missing a trick if they don't ask if you might want one.
Laundry service used but not again, very cheap but they wrecked a couple of shirts by scrubbing them to death.
Free WiFi was unreliable and very slow.
Good location for BNS and Navy also they couple of good bar/restaurants Capri and Jooks.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We arrived at hotel and ask for room.Got deluxe room.nice with balcony but facing pool.still can view seas but there's a tree blocking it.
Front Desk
Their staff just ok.Not to say very welcoming guest.Maybe the pays not enough.Maybe.Hospitality...not so.Lobby and furniture is old.If you're looking for classic themed..it suits you.free wi fi at the lobby not at the room.
Room
Room not carpeted only tiles.Room smelly and the a/c takes few minutes to give you cold air but it comes also with smelly freshness.Beds are old.but the journey and fresh air give us a good sleep.Toilet,never mind,just have a shower.
F&B
Not so good and tasty.Not much variety given.staff was not well prepare dining table and utensil had to be clean because they just put in the table with out napkin or plate.Staff talking each other like you're at market.
My advices if you're hungry at night,just go and have your dinner outside because it not worth paying and taste.
Pool
Can't say much because My family and I didn't used it.From my view,blue /yellowish water,some stain can be seen at tiles..more than that...find it your self.
Sea activities
Not much because the water is not suitable for swimming...if you were sea lover,you know it.Beach if you can called it just a walk away from hotel but it's open for public access and in the morning there were navy jogging along the tarmac road.
What You can expect.
5 minutes walk to lumut town,near to banks,food outlets,Jetty to Pangkor Island and YES...Peaceful,quite night if there were no mat rempit at night.In lumut there were not many choice for hotel so I still can say it's the best choice you have.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zulkarnain75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Whenever I came here, I always stay in Pangkor but this time I tried on Lumut's hotel. The Orient Star Resort looked nice from outside but the room and bufet areas were worn out. There was a restaurant in between lobby and swimming pool but it was small and I think that place reserved for other event. The thing that I like with this hotel is parking was easy to find and it was the closest hotel to jetty. My room was spacious facing sea and pool. It is suitable for parents with 2,3 kids to stay in the same room. However, i disliked the floor. Hotel should provide slippers coz it was so uncomfortable to step on the floor. The sliding door only functioning on one side, the other side was totally stucked. Don't stay at the balcony at night or else will be bitten by moses. The toilet was also big but old & the amenities were very basic. No toilet mat provided.
When I looked at the flies during breakfast, came into my mind to skip my breakfast there & go somewhere else. The eating place looked like school camping canteen. To make it worse, I ordered for white egg omelette but it was overcooked & the chef had to throw it away. So, I had to waste my time for 2nd attempt.
The swimming pool looked nice but lack of maintenance. There were trees & beautiful flowers around the pool but many dried leaves & flowers can be found at the corner of the pool & it made the water looked dirty. No staff monitoring the pool so parents should have an eye on their kids. Last time when I'd finished swimming, I told few kids to play at the shallow water at the pool stairs or go back to their room coz nobody was there to take care of their safety.
The beach in front of this resort is a public area but I think hotel should concern on the cleanliness coz it looked like some part of the hotel too!
Nothing much to remember about this place, will stay in other hotel next visit.

Liked - Parking, location close to shops & jetty
Disliked - breakfast, flies & dirty beach.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MccKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

We have stayed in this hotel twice before so knew what to expect. We stayed in the Deluxe Room this time which was quite roomy and overlooked the sea. However, it is very tired and in need of rennovating. The towels were laundered but grey and stained. The breakfast was adequate but hundreds of flys everywhere which was a bit offputting. On the upside the location is very good. There are 2 really nice restaurants within 2 minute walk The Jook Joint and the Capri (turn left from hotel and then right - next to each other) and also Rockerfella's bar very close ( left from hotel and then left again). It is also close to the ferry. I think all the hotels in Lumt are in similar condition but this one is in the best location.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collipm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2010

I was check-in at this hotel after suggested by my friend...first i'm a bit worried about bad comment to this hotel....but the minute i step in...i feel...wonderfull...the view...and the smile of the staff...yes true the 16yrs old hotel a bit run down..i saw them try their very best to maintaining the hotel...the staff are nice...but yet still need to improve interms of their attire...what i like about this hotel...is the pool..the view and the location..beside the helpfu and friendly staff.....i make sure i will go to this hotel whenever i came to lumut

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ayang74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

My client again booked me into this hotel for a one night stop on business. It is more run down than any hotel I come across even in remote parts of China! The only good thing I can say about this hotel is that it is central to Lumut village centre and it still has a view of the sea.

The reception was OK and staff are still trying their best, but standards are really dropping fast --- even the breakfast chef cannot cook porridge or omelette better than a layman like myself. rooms are really run down and Bathrooms are mouldy with crack tiles.

I last stayed here in January, and this time the breakfast was not OK. There were flies and mosquitoes both indoor and outdoor. So go stay somewhere else if you don't want to share your food and health with all kinds of germs and insects.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oscar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lumut hotels
2.4 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
3.1 mi away
Hotel Sfera
Hotel Sfera
#3 of 19 in Lumut
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mornington Hotel Waterfront Lumut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mornington Hotel Bukit Permata Lumut
3.2 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
6.2 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orient Star Resort Lumut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orient Star Resort Lumut

Address: Lot 203 & 366 | Jalan Iskandar Shah, Lumut 32200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Lumut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lumut
Price Range: $42 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Orient Star Resort Lumut 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Ctrip TA so you can book your The Orient Star Resort Lumut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orient Star Resort Lumut Hotel Lumut
Orient Star Hotel Lumut
Orient Star Resort Lumut
The Orient Star Resort Lumut Perak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing