We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Lumut
KL
1 review
“disaster”
Reviewed October 3, 2008

booked more than a week ahead for a 3 day of very much needed vacation with my wife and baby girl. We arrived on the first day of raya late in the evening, front desk staff were very helpful and checked us in without any delay..The room was reasonably clean and since we had a baby plus the secluded location, we had to bring her food which required refrigeration..to my disappointment the fridge was not cold at all, called the maintenance and they replaced the fridge but it was actually worse than the first one..as we were about to sleep from our 3.5 hour journey, we were awoken by the live band which was playing right next to our room, not that the band was bad but we informed the reservation staff that we had a baby with us and expected them to be more attentive to our needs. Called the front desk and they told us they were packed and there isn't another room available,so we had to wait until almost 1230am before we could catch some rest as the noise was as if we were at the bar as well and extremely loud..the final straw was during breakfast when we went to the poolside cafe, I have never seen so many flies at one place in my life..there were thousands flying around plus the staff had placed sticky paper around the buffet and it was all black and looked disgusting sitting next to food..we managed to get a table which was just left by guest, the plates of left over food were totally black with flies, i couldn't even think of eating anything or even try to give any to my child..we were shocked and disappointed and decided to leave immediately..however i must say that the staff were very helpful and quite well trained..not planning to return for a long time

  • Liked — staff atitude
  • Disliked — flies
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trustgtr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    152
    214
    111
    103
See reviews for
269
136
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

The Rooms were fine, clean - although there were some nasty looking set in stains on my sheets. And the pillows are just air.
The pool is very nice, there are complementary bicycles and canoes to use and the grounds are lovely. If you are into golf the scenery as you play must be fantastic.
However the biggest problem and the reason we would not stay here again was that the food was either ordinary or in most cases lousy. Being on the sea one would expect a fantastic sea food buffet - sadly the fish, prawns and octopus were mushy which usually indicates that they have been frozen a couple of times. It was also not particulary cheap compared to other parts of Malaysia, they advertised in all the rooms about their woodfired pizzas - the night we tried to order one they said that we could only have the buffet dinner - as we had already experienced their buffets we insisted on pizza - after some argument we got our pizzas and these must have been frozen packet pizzas that were simply reheated in the woodfire oven. Just awful. The worst part was that the hotel was so isolated that the nearest place to go for food was in Lumut about 40 minutes away so we also felt trapped with no choice. The only saving food outlet was the Iguana bar which was on another part of the property where the food was half the price of the main hotel and although it was bar snacks it was 20 times better than what we had experienced thus far. Also the staff at the Iguana bar were fantastic and went out of their way to accommodate us.
The internet did not work the whole 4 days we were there and the gym & rec room are a little tired - also spa out of action.
Staff at the main hotel were unhelpful, quite rude and at times just got it all wrong.
Our last memory was the argument we had at check out where the clerks had extra items on our bill and asked us to take it on faith that they would not charge our credit card and got a bit annoyed when we insisted that the records reflect the new balance as this had to be done a few times until they got it right.
If you want to go to Pangkor I suggest trying one of the resorts on the actual island it may be better. Or just go to Langkawi, Penang or Kuantan where you will find a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Nice Pool
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustineKualaLumpur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lumut hotels

selatan
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2008

we booked through HQ ( thanks to Rachel, a very patient & excellent staff). My family & i stayed at swiss apartment for 3D 2N. We satisfied with the front counter service. We got a problem while check-in but they solved it as good as they can. No grumble at all. The cleanliness is so-so but we don't mind coz we didn't spend the whole day at the apartment. My kids loved to play at the pool. They enjoyed it very very much. They asked me to come back soon. The staff is very friendly & always smile. Thanks to you guys for giving us a good experience & nice trip. See u soon...

  • Liked — the pool, sauna & friendly staff
  • Disliked — in-house game
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank genuak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2008

We stayed there last Christmas because all other resorts near Pangkor Island were booked solid. Now I know why they still had rooms during the busiest holidays after staying there for 4 nites. There are flies everywhere in the resort, I couldnt relax by the pool (which is the best thing in the hotel) because I had to constantly wave away the flies on my drink, my food and my body.. The meals in the resort are 3 times more expensive than good restaurant in the city, but the food was horrible. The chicken satay was made of some unknow chicken part with lots of grease, I think it may be chicken butt, anyway it was disgusting.. We tried all 4 restaurants there, and they are rated from terrible to okay. Me and my mom had a grill seafood buffet dinner one nite, the seafood wasnt fresh at all (besides the flies constantly around them) . I had a bite of the mushy crab and I had to spit it out. My mom had 3 bites and she woke up puking at nite. I would not stay there ever again, and advise u save your money staying somewhere else if u want to have a good time. If u dont mind the flies and bringing our own food, then it maybe OK..

  • Liked — The pool is nice
  • Disliked — The flies and the food
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kooko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2008

Its my honeymoon holiday on this resort. I drove there from my hometown ipoh. Although there were no signboard on 1 of the junction, probably its been knocked down by a lorry, we had no difficulties in locating this resort. Its located out of town, therefore its pretty quiet and peaceful. We were there on Sunday to Tuesday (3D2N) probably thats not too many guest at that particular time.
We took the package which provide breakfast. Breakfast was not bad. For lunch, i travel to town for some cheap seafood. At night , i just order the pizza to my room. The pizza was quite delicious, and the price was quite affordable.
The pool was very nice. The view of the sea from the pool is fantastic. The bicycles do need some serious maintenence. The sea was good for kayaking.
Not to mention most of the staffs are quite friendly.

  • Liked — quiet and the pizza
  • Disliked — bicycles need some serious maintenence
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank just-travel-it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed October 25, 2007

Overall, our stay at the hotel is good. The way into the hotel was secluded and it gave us the feeling that we ARE really out of town for holiday. The hotel staffs are friendly and attentive. The food at the Blossom court was just GOOD and it was affordable. I personally do not like the balcony that much. Maybe it's because its raining the 1st day we reached there, the balcony was wet and dirty. The beach was not that nice.... its more like a desert to me. The pool is nice and thats the only place where i can see a lot of activities. Other places was not as alive (strange for a weekend). We wanted to try canoeing and kayaking but since there is no one at the sea, we decided not to go for it for safety sake. A good place to rest and relax from the outside world.

  • Liked — The food and atmosphere
  • Disliked — the beach
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CMKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2007

I stayed at Swiss Garden during the fasting month so rates were cheap, RM 180 inclusive breakfast and dinner. The hotel was quite quiet so for non Muslims, the fasting month is the best time to go on holiday. However, it was also haze season so there weren't any great views.

I was a bit wary of flies and beach quality based on previous reviews. However, when I was there, I didn't encounter any flies. The beach was good, by west coast standards. The siput was GREAT FUN! Got loads of it.

Rooms were clean and spacious. This hotel also has the best directions on how to get there. I would like to go back there but they are frequently fully booked during holidays and festivals.

  • Liked — The spaciousness and cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AiLingMalaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumut
3.5 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
4.1 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
5.8 mi away
Sfera Hotel
Sfera Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lumut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mornington Hotel Waterfront Lumut
5.3 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
4.2 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut

Property: Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
Address: Off Jalan Teluk Senangin Jalan Damai Laut, Lumut 32200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Lumut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lumut
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lumut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Golf Resort And Spa Damai Laut
Swiss-Garden Golf Resort & Spa Damai Laut Hotel Lumut
Swiss Garden Hotel Lumut
Swiss Garden Damai Laut
Swiss Garden Resort Lumut
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut Lumut, Perak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing