We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality but f&b need to improve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Lumut
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“Great hospitality but f&b need to improve”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My recent stay at the hotel was a great holiday, but when come to dining experience, it is not a good experience at the hotel. we have our daily breakfast at hotel, and 1 lunch at the hotel restaurant, but the food quality is not fresh and taste good.

moreover, we need to travel far from hotel to have great dinner due to the period when we check in no service for the seafood bbq dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeiLiangLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    159
    220
    114
    105
See reviews for
282
142
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We've now visited twice - and we will be coming back again. There are lots of negatives that people write but I sometimes think a reality check is required for some. We got there and got upgraded which was great - the room was clean and spacious - I had definitely no complaints there. The bed was clean and the shower worked well. The pool is fab and the pub/club entertainers do a great job. The pool guys were always happy and smiling and so too were the girls on reception. Yes there are flies but its near some docks and I guess they do the best they can do to try and alleviate the situation - anyhow ive been to other similar resorts around the world and the fly problem was the same if not worse!!! The gym room could definitely be improved though - when I went in the AC wasnt working and so couldnt actually do anything in there as the temp was unbearable. The WIFI can be a bit hit and miss - so maybe another WIFI box should be installed where the spots are not so hot. Breaky is a bit so-so!! Hoping to come back in the next couple of months and bring some friends - great place to just chill - see you soon Swiss Garden!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capt_Emz_Ithink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Located 20 minutes drive to the jetty to Pangkor Island. A full pledge hotel with lots of kids activities and also a nice beach front overlooking Melaka straits. Delicious foods. Enjoyable and suitable for group activities as well as team building activities.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Booked 3 rooms for my families through internet. Thought it is a good hotel cause Swiss Garden is a branded hotel. During check in i was welcome by the reception name Anzah. Very freindly, helpful and polite. Resort looked old and tired compare to photos. But the worst part were flies. I can said the entire resort was flooded with flies. From reception, pools, rooms and all the F&B outlets. The fly just dropped into my drink during our dinner at Terrace Cafe. The Gayam Cafe even worst. All the food was surrounded with flies. Checked with the staff and she said due to the chicken farm nearby. The beach smelled sting and cannot swim cause jelly fish. Pools dirty and not well maintain. This is my fisrt time and also the last with this resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ck761204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lumut hotels

Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Booked 3 rooms for family of 8pax.Waited until 3:30pm still can't check in.1room after took the key,found out still in a mess! Another room no. 401,aircon faulty,dripping water until room almost flood!!! Complaint to reception,but their face is like zombie...like already used to it.F&B manager at restaurant also rude,4 out of 10 foods on the buffet menu are spoilt...smells like garbage....totally no quality control for food served to customers and whole resort turn off lights around 10pm...nothing to do,like staying in a jungle!!! Worse stay ever...not even worth 2 stars!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micheal8178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

we hv family fun package booked earlier. My encounterment with the front desk was indeed an eye opener for us involving a lackadaisical and arrogant manager who has no interest to make you feel you are a paying guest and welcome.

The check in time supposed to be 3pm but upon arrival at 3.20pm, the manager (I found out later he was the manager?!) informed that rooms were not ready except 1, and with no apologetic sense expressed that I was lucky that to have 1 room ready. he does not know his hotel pckage well aparently and later i was hold for a deposit 40% morethan the total cost! there was no update to the room readiness fr front desk, I only got the last room key at 4.40pm after my own pursuit. in fact during the time i waited for rooms in the only ready room, the was no hse keeping activity in the neigbouring rooms, a check wt the hse keeping staff who passed by, the rooms was ready by 3pm!

Though a request of a bb cot was made during booking, the manager told me it is not available when i reminded him. i insisted to get one and later there was 4 units bb cot sent. That was an easy way out to tell the guests their request was unavail. Through out the encounterment wt the manager, he clearly show unprofessional handling of Customer service and has not set gd example to the front desk team. except for front desk bad attitude, the rest of staff was ok though some really much to be improved, eg. i saw kids playing in the pool with wearing slipper on feets and hands but pool staff turned a blind eyes.

The flies was seasonal i believe. the lower floor garden view rooms need to be revamped for a 4 star hotel. Regretably, it is the arrogant, punishing and bad front desk service thathavethe first impression and feeling of unwelcome. i had a gd experience here years ago that made our repeated visit but we won't be coming back after this experience.

frankly, we were contemplating to cut short our stay aftert he bad experience. Do think twice if you want to stay here.

Room Tip: get upper floor and avoid left wing garden view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jollybeeishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Long check in time,not even can get yr room after 3pm. Rooms are not ready although key was given to me...i have booked rooms with dinner package, t&c clearly stated i have few restaurants options. However, end up with only able to dine in buffet at garden terrace wth spoilt food & bad services provided. Conclusion,unpleasant stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allytanhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumut
3.5 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
4.1 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
5.8 mi away
Hotel Sfera
Hotel Sfera
#3 of 19 in Lumut
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mornington Hotel Waterfront Lumut
4.7 mi away
Mornington Hotel Bukit Permata Lumut
5.3 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut

Property: Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
Address: Off Jalan Teluk Senangin Jalan Damai Laut, Lumut 32200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Lumut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lumut
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lumut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Golf Resort And Spa Damai Laut
Swiss-Garden Golf Resort & Spa Damai Laut Hotel Lumut
Swiss Garden Hotel Lumut
Swiss Garden Damai Laut
Swiss Garden Resort Lumut
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut Lumut, Perak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing