We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Lumut
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just Bad!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed with in law's family for a 2 nights stay and booked 4 apartments for about 10 of us. Ages from 4yrs to 76yrs (April 2013)

Rooms = 1 out of 5
Multiple electrical faults throughout the 4 rooms - eg. plugpoints not working, switches faulty.
Sleeping area is hot even with air cond and fan switched on the max for hours.
Room not clean in multiple areas.

Amenities = 2 out of 5
Swimming Pools available at Apartment Areas & Hotel Areas - Small for the Resort of this size
Golf course - no comment because I dont play golf
Beach and Sea - The cleanlines of the beach and clarity of the sea only slightly better than port dickson, Malaysia.

SERVICE = 0 out of 5
The Bad - Had to move rooms eventhough only 2 nights stay and resort not even half full.
Personnel of resort blames my father in law for the reservation mix up. Seriously!!!

The UGLY - When my wife and I went to the Apartment Pool Counter to try to get the Pool Towels for the 4 rooms which equals to 8 towels (2 towels per room). The towel counter guy gave multiple reasons not to give us what was due to us. First reason was they cant give too many towels. Then later said not enough towels (remember, Resort not even half full). Then we ask if we could get at least 2 more and thats where it got UGLY! The staff rudely raise his voice and said "NO, if you want some more, you wait." At this point, my wife was already angry and I didnt want to spoil our family vacation and calmly said fine and will accept the 4. With a very sour face, the staff handed us the 4 towels and this was when i noticed he definitely had more than the 4 towels that he handed to us.

As the hotel has 2 main areas with pool which is one at the hotel and another at the apartments, we decided to drive and use the Hotel Pool. But when we reach the hotel Pool, we were told we are not allowed to use the Hotel Pool eventhough it is the SAME RESORT. Eventhough it was my first but was my in laws 5th time at this resort, and there was no prior communication about this new rule by staff or any Resort Regulations booklet. Having stayed in multiple similar resorts, this is a first time I have seen this rule and hope doesnt become a trend. So after walking 4 flight of stairs from Hotel entry to Hotel Pool, we were forced to walk another 2 flight of stairs to the beach which luckily was for everyone including Apartment people.

Later in the evening, we went to return the towel and the same staff questioned us where we took the towels to and we said to the beach. He threatened that he will not give us anymore towels because not allowed to bring POOL TOWELS to the beach and can only bring your own towel to the beach. He further threaten that he will FiNE us RM50 if we lose the towels. At this point, I almost wanted to punch the guy in the face but of course I didnt. Theres no written rule on the towel card that it cannot be brought to the beach, nobody stopped us from bringing it to the beach, lots of other patrons do the same and my in laws has done it in their previous visits and no problemo. If you have read this far, thanks for your patience for reading about our POOL & TOWEL SAGA.

So what can I say to the Management of this Hotel?
Nothing because the management of this Hotel obviously dont read or at least dont reply to Trip Advisor comments (sign of a potentially BAD HOTEL). And coming from the Hospitality Industry, its obvious theres no proper and constant training of staff if any.

So whats the purpose of this Review?
Firstly is to RANT about this abomination of a Hotel and of course to warn Trip Advisor readers from ever wasting on your hard earned money here. If you are in this area, there are better beaches and hotels on Pangkor Island nearby.
Recommended - Pangkor Island Beach Resort
Highly Recommended - Pangkor Laut Resort if you can afford it. A very good Full Board residence package for Malaysian & Singaporean.

Room Tip: If you are in this area, there are better beaches and hotels on Pangkor Island nearby. Dont waste yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Zerogas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    157
    219
    114
    105
See reviews for
280
140
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

The key wasn't working upon check-in. General appearance of the room is acceptable. Limited tv channels; no int'l news network. Housekeeping is poor; attendants did not wash bathroom walls, did not clean fridge & DID NOT CHG BEDSHEETS; peanuts inside sheets!!! Aircon was not cold. Towels old, tattered, discolored and smell. Ask to chg towels, came only after 1 hour. Safe box ooo; where to keep valuables? Balcony door couldnt be locked from outside; SAFETY??? Food below average. Hotel full of flies, looks run down; woodwork faded. It wasn't the hotel it used to be 5 years back. It's even worse if you are staying in Swiss Gdn Kuantan. I wrote a long letter to the VP then...

Room Tip: Always check with Tripadvisor before you make decision to stay in that hotel. Their resources are re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hotelpolice888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lumut hotels

Montreal, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 613 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Surrounding of the hotel is great, but the hotel is a disaster!

I was at one of the so called renovated rooms, which is actually refurbished not renovated. Furniture and parquet is new, however infrastructure is old.

Air-condition was at maximum for hours, and didn't even cool the room at night. During the day, the room was a furnace.

Room size is okay, bed and quilt are bad, room is dark, and even during the day I couldn't afford to open the curtain, since the sun would heat up the room even more.

Bathtub has no hand shower, water pressure is low, and temperature is not hot enough.

If you want to internet, you have WiFi at the kiosk (not always open), a daily card costs 25 MYR, but bandwidth sucks.

No doubt, the surrounding is unspeakable, but why can't they totally renovate at least one section. From time to time I have to be in the area twice a year, and would be happy to pay more and get more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nomad6022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Bought a voucher from Livingsocial Malaysia and stay a night on 30th March. Drove all the way from KUL and it took me almost 5 1/2 hours. Stay in a deluxe sea view room, no complaint on the room as the property just went through a bit of upgrading. But the beach is almost the same with Port Dickson. Not very clean. But sunset view is good. The nearest seafood restaurant is about 30 minutes drive, Pantai Remis.

Housekeeping need to check all the kettle. Some guest use it to warm up milo and leave stains. Smelly !!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alvin0603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Let's start with the positives:
1] Service is fantastic and well deserved all the accolades they received.
2] The entire enclave and grounds is beautiful (thanks to the golf course).
3] Sunset / sunrise ocean view is majestic.
4] Facilities for kids of all ages are aplenty.
5] Convenience store in the hotel is well stocked and offer plenty of choices.

Then let's look at the long list of negatives (will limit it to the top 5):
1] Resort is located far away from everything. A good 25-40mins drive from anything meaningful within Lumut or Setiawan
2] Flies - yes they are abundance of them but luckily not found within the rooms. Can be quite a concern when thinking of dining at the resort.
3] Swimming Pool although large and well designed for fun, it is dirty with tiny bits of green mold floating around everywhere.
4] Pool towel is quite dirty maybe perhaps due to the large crowd staying during the weekend when we were there.
5] The private beach is a tad dirty with rubbish and surprisingly we saw about a dozen dead fishes washing up ashore along the entire short beach while we were there.

Overall as other reviewers mentioned, this resort is in real need of a make-over and upkeep... Fast!

Seafood Tip - if you're driving, then head over to Kampung Cina for some sumptuous and very cheap seafood meal. The restaurant we went to and had oyster omelet, fresh steamed prawns, mantis prawns, fresh coconut and etc came up to only RM49 (USD 16) only for the 3 of us.

Room Tip: The villas is newer than the apartment and the apartment is newer than the hotel. So if you are plan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DarylLau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

First impression, "are we there yet?" The hotel is about 7-9 km from the main road. And it takes 25-30mins to go to town manjung. So, get prepared with everything you might need during this trip.
The room is nice and clean. Comfort and does not look old. The bathroom is well maintained and clean. The room floor is tiles (since its sandy out there), u might want to bring your own house slippers. They do provide one but its the best bring your own. Basic ameneities and they only provide bath towel. Do not expect the hair and hand towels.
This hotel is not a stroller or wheel chair friendly. Not all area accesable with stroller. They do have lift but still does not access to some areas like The terrace (restraunt) and the pools.
The beach is not really clean as you will see too many seashells on the beach , rubbish here and there and not really nice to have a sand castle here.
Sometimes, we having out meals in the hotel esp dinner, as we are lazy to drive out. Its irritating and annoying flies is everywhere in the restraunt. They do provide the lemongrass candles on every table, but believe me, even you put 3 candles on your table the flies is still flying over your meals and they should do something about the flies.
Overall, it still a nice place to bring your families here, get time together. Their pools are very nice. They have 3 sizes swimming pools. Their staff are friendly. The food is nice (but the flies not letting me enjoying the food) . They do have ATV, archery, banana boat, golf course, flying fox, herbs garden, snorkelling trip, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dd1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

i just love the hotel cuz they have children's activities, arcade games, archery, and banana boat canoe etc. the swimming pool is suitable for kids and adults. its just the location is quite far from the town. so it is difficult for me and my family to find something to eat. but overall, i love this place :3

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mirasyazwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumut
3.5 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
4.1 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
5.8 mi away
Hotel Sfera
Hotel Sfera
#3 of 19 in Lumut
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mornington Hotel Waterfront Lumut
4.7 mi away
Mornington Hotel Bukit Permata Lumut
5.3 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut

Property: Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
Address: Off Jalan Teluk Senangin Jalan Damai Laut, Lumut 32200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Lumut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lumut
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lumut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Golf Resort & Spa Damai Laut Hotel Lumut
Swiss-Garden Golf Resort And Spa Damai Laut
Swiss Garden Hotel Lumut
Swiss Garden Damai Laut
Swiss Garden Resort Lumut
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut Lumut, Perak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing