We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Hornbill Resort(Pulau Pangkor)
View Hotel
  • Room Service
Mizam Resort(Pangkor)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Horizon Inn(Pangkor)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galaxy Inn(Lumut)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (731)
Filter reviews
731 results
Traveler rating
64
195
238
123
111
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
195
238
123
111
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsschool holidaysnice resortsuzieremiseperak
Filter
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 731 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Travel in a big group and stayed there for 3 days/2 nights. While there were no major hiccups during the check-in process, felt that the staff were not adequately trained / prepared to handle large bookings with additional requests / add-ons. Throughout our 3-day stay we observed that the staff were not ready to handle large crowds.

Location wise, the hotel & resort is far-off the main road, and the road condition was quite bad. It was rather inconvenient to go out even to the nearest town, so be prepared to take the hotel food throughout your stay. Nonetheless, the hotel food was quite good and they have decent variety for breakfast.

Facilities at the resort include swimming pools, several courts - tennis, sand-volley ball, basketball and indoor games - table tennis, snooker. However, most of these were not maintained properly. The life jackets given to us for one of the water activities were in terrible state. Management should really pay attention to this for safety reasons.

Rooms were small, old and somewhat smelly. No wi-fi in the room and the phone line coverage (for one of the main service provider) was poor. The extra bed that we requested were not ready when we enter the room (it was outside the room). Guess the staff expected us to DIY! Only two towels per room were provided despite us mentioning extra person in some rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellover38T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Two adults and 2 kids (age 5 and 2) stayed here for one night over the national public holiday.

Location-wise, it's probably about 20 minutes from Lumut town. From the main road, it's quite a drive to get to the resort gate and you'd need a car to get around to see Lumut town, to eat out at the local shops and seafood restaurants.

But this place is built as an all-inclusive resort, you know. They've got the beach, several pools (which the kids just loved), the water activities, the ground activities (archery, sand buggy, etc), a lounge, jungle trekking activities on site, even an obstacle course. So, you may not need a car if you are content to just laze around using the resort facilities.

The resort is big and even with the crowd, you can't really feel it except when you're at the pool and breakfast. Food-wise, the buffet spread was good with a variety of local and western choices, and surprisingly, the food was pretty good for resort fare.

We got a King bed and all four of us were able to sleep comfortably on it. However, be warned that there are flies in the room.

By the way, Lumut town was congested during this public holiday...traffic was horrible.

The only thing I liked about coming here was the drive up on the old roads to escape the holiday traffic jam (on Highway 5, I think it was), passing through Sekinchan for mangoes and corn, stopping by Teluk Intan for a photo op with the famous leaning tower. And on the way back, we went up to Bota Kiri and Kanan, Kampung Parit and back south again. It was a scenic drive, peaceful with beautiful views of the Perak River and paddy fields.

Room Tip: We took the garden facing room, but apparently, for more moolah, you can rent a whole villa for families.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnaRamli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Travel with family with a handicap son mid Nov 2012. We found that the hotel located far inside the jungle and quite dark area during night. Road leading to hotel was good with new tar but as we enter the hotel and resort compund, it was not properly maintained. If you plan to reach hotel at night, better fo for your dinner before taking the road leading to hotel as there is no eatery outlet or restaurant nearby unless you choose to dine in hotel restaurant.

Our was a bit small but still comfortable but there was leaking spotted just above the main entrace door. Suspected the aircond duct having water leakages. Maintenace staff very fast to act by laying a bath towel on the floor while repairing that aircond outlet. Finally by midnight everything resolved.

When we first directlted to our room, our car was parked right infront of our doorstep but the following day when all of us were about ready to go for breakfast, we discovered the cafe is far from our room and decided to use a wheelchair for my son as he cannot walk a distance for more than 10minutes. Ussually he will have cramp and unable to continue. So i have to push him on wheelchair instead and upon reaching the coffee house, there is no easiest way leading to it as there are about six steps going up to the place. I decided to go the other way by the swimming pool and to my surprise, that way too have to climb up a few steps and nobody bother to help me.

That was my bad experience going there as i found that it is not meant for handicap person using wheelchair to go to this resort. Most of the area you need to walk a distance and a lot of split level.

Management have to relook and consider building a ramp for wheel chair bound person in near future.


Stayed: November 2012
1  Thank Rahim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Good place for relaxing.
The swimming pool is big.
The staffs are friendly.
They have rentals for water sports equipment. And they give 30 minutes free canoeing for hotel guests.

Cons:
There are flies everywhere, so be careful when you open door or balcony door to avoid the flies from coming into your room.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank syarifah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

> flies everywhere even in the room! This place should be called "Swiss Garden Damai Lalat" not "Swiss Garden Damai Laut"!!!!

> Room a bit old. Aircond not very cold. Smelly. The bathtub a bit stained & the drainage is poor.

> Maxis coverage suck. No complimentary wifi!

> no complimentary newspapers & no bedroom slipplers

> Bad services. Long que to check-in & the waiting time for room to be ready is not acceptable. Customer service was totally disappointing especially at the reception counter, the pool (towel man was rude) & the bellboy

> Breakfast > average

> The beach is very dirty!

> the light in the lift was not operating properly, always blackout!

> I will never stay at this hotel again & I would never recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank airanggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews