We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
Ranked #9 of 19 Hotels in Lumut
shah alam
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

> flies everywhere even in the room! This place should be called "Swiss Garden Damai Lalat" not "Swiss Garden Damai Laut"!!!!

> Room a bit old. Aircond not very cold. Smelly. The bathtub a bit stained & the drainage is poor.

> Maxis coverage suck. No complimentary wifi!

> no complimentary newspapers & no bedroom slipplers

> Bad services. Long que to check-in & the waiting time for room to be ready is not acceptable. Customer service was totally disappointing especially at the reception counter, the pool (towel man was rude) & the bellboy

> Breakfast > average

> The beach is very dirty!

> the light in the lift was not operating properly, always blackout!

> I will never stay at this hotel again & I would never recommend this hotel to anyone

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank airanggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    157
    219
    114
    105
See reviews for
280
140
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ampang, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I got the free 3D2N from Swiss Garden for being interested in their programme. But their hotel is almost full everyday so we changed to aparment. The apartment however is poor than we expected. They still renovating the place. The most important thing, the road to resort still in repairing so it will be hard journey until you can reach th resort gate.

Overall, the resort is good for golfter since its very far away from city and local residence.

Room Tip: Dont book aparment until they finished renovating. Go for hotel instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chucky R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SwissGardenLumut, General Manager at Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
First of all, we,would like to thank you for choosing us as your preferred holiday destination. On behalf of The Management, I would like to express my regrets on the experience you have had with us. Rest assured every measures has been taken to avoid similar occurences in making the resort attractive to all our guests and visitors, in all aspectss. Thank you again for your comments. We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wifi need to pay. By the beach. Nice view. Air con not cold. Hotel room abit old. Breakfast was above avg. There's swimming pool. Paid wifi can only use for one device at a time. it taks about 5-10 min drive from main road to the resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My company have team building in Swiss Garden. When we get our room key 250, 1st enter the room, overall look okay. When go to wash room, OMG! The bathtub dirt, totally you cannot enjoy it. Our room is garden view, no point for it. They have no view, you just see some tree & grass. Balcony door cannot open. After 1st night, my colleauge and me whole leg reddish, we din think too much for it. After 2nd night my colleauge whole body feel itchy. Only we know the bed dirty too =.=lll

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Caey82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lumut hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We decided on a last minute family getaway earlier this month and decided on checking out the Damai Laut resort in Lumut. Getting there was easy enough and due to the recently ended school holidays, we were among the few vacationing people there at that time. The front desk's level of helpfulness and professionalism is decent, at best. I had walked down there to personally request a replenishment of coffee and creamer packets for the rooms we were in. The packets never came until two phone calls and 2 hours later.

The swimming pool is alright; the management needs to take a good look at the sharp-edged stones and stairs they use in the adult pool. These caused several cuts throughout the sojourn in the pool.

The beach itself is quite terrible looking with its muddy, grey water. Perhaps, the management would care to spruce up the surrounding beach areas?

We had dinner in the Thai restaurant in-house. The portions were rather small for the price. However, we enjoyed the breakfast buffet which was a small but good mix of both Malaysian and western dishes. The omelet station is a nice touch. It would be nice to see hotels invest in good espresso machines or brewing freshly-ground coffee machines, but aaah, that's just a thought.

The Samsara spa experience was very good. The masseuses we had were all very well-trained and experienced in addition to being friendly. Overall, we had a good time with the family splashing in the pool and enjoying some down time before the year kicked off.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a bit run down... Not the cleanest and nicest place to stay. We stayed there two nights before going to the island itself... I wouldn't do it again and would suggest going straight to the island. Staff were not so helpful. Food was very good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlett1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited with friends and stayed 2 nights. We enjoyed the drive entering the resort passing through oil palm estates, a fruit farm (dragon fruit trees, papaya trees & banana trees) and of course, the monkeys. The monkeys climbed onto the side mirrors of the car when our car stopped, we also shared some coconut candies with them :)
We booked and paid for an extra bed but upon entering the room, found that the extra bed hasn't been delivered and there are only towels, toiletries and cups good for 2 people. We had to call and request from housekeeping and to remind them of the extra bed. The person on the phone asked us in return if we have alerted the front desk on the extra bed? Look, we booked and paid online, obviously there were no communication or the staffs can't be bordered. We came back after a walk on the beach and exploring the resort but found the bed still has not arrive. It took them at least 2hrs to deliver the extra bed. Next day, we had to call again to ask for additional towel. The extra bed in the room must have gone invisible when the housekeepers came in to clean the room that could be why they did not replace the additional towel! The housekeeper who sent the towel seemed pissed off at our request.
It also took the waiter a long time to serve our drinks and cakes. There were actually not too many people seated at the poolside terrace.
The pool isn't very clean too :(
My 2 friends had a very relaxing time at the Samara Spa, the massage plus scrub package was worth the money.
Being in hospitality line in the service industry, it is important to smile and greet the guests at all time. Staffs at the resort should also learn to work at a faster speed. The receptionist did not greet us or smile through out the entire check in process.
I would hesitate to return as there are much better choices of resorts in Malaysia.
Tips: The closest shops or restaurants are approximately 35mins drive away. Ferry to Pangkor Island is 40mins drive to Lumut Jetty. Return ferry ticket to Pangkor Island costs RM10 per person. Suggest hire a van or motorbike to go round the island and spend sometime at Coral Bay for snorkeling or water sports.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumut
3.5 mi away
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
4.1 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
5.8 mi away
Hotel Sfera
Hotel Sfera
#3 of 19 in Lumut
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mornington Hotel Waterfront Lumut
4.7 mi away
Mornington Hotel Bukit Permata Lumut
5.3 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut

Property: Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
Address: Off Jalan Teluk Senangin Jalan Damai Laut, Lumut 32200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Lumut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lumut
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Lumut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swiss-Garden Golf Resort & Spa Damai Laut Hotel Lumut
Swiss-Garden Golf Resort And Spa Damai Laut
Swiss Garden Hotel Lumut
Swiss Garden Damai Laut
Swiss Garden Resort Lumut
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut Lumut, Perak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing