We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a preferred stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Lumut
Langkawi District, Malaysia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not a preferred stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Convenient location for our 9 day stay and probably best of a bad bunch in this area. Reception considers anything they do a favour and then with ill grace. Had to battle to get 2 keys! Cleanliness is a major issue - bath had long black hairs (both of us grey) in it for over a week; had we wished to use it there was no hot water! Nothing under waist height is every cleaned I think. Cigarette butts on the balcony when we arrived. Floor landing wasn't cleaned during our entire stay! Don't bother with the restaurant if a Westerner - cannot have a drink with your meal. Breakfast was okay but items are continually running out and not replenished. As regular hotel goers overall very disappointed. Beds were comfortable though.

Room Tip: Find another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank CruisingNanna2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    37
    60
    9
    6
See reviews for
55
16
4
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very spacious, clean, and furnished apartment. All the units whether 1, 2 or 3 bedroom units are extremely spacious. Ideal for family getaway. Beds are king-sized and very comfortable and bed linen are very clean too. Was surprised that the 1 bedroom unit actually has one extra small room which is also furnished with air-condition. Floors are cleanly mopped.

The only drawback in the 1 bedroom unit is the shower spray which is fixed to the ceiling right in the middle of the bathroom and when guests take their shower, the whole place becomes wet. The bathtub at the side sort of becomes redundant. However the shower facilities in the 3 bedroom units are alright.

The buffet breakfast tastes quite good although there isn't a wide variety of food. Food is being replenished very quickly. Even the food that was served at our private function tasted good too.

Beautiful views of the man-made lagoon and pool from balcony. Great place for photography and relaxation!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymum59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipoh,malaysia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I have stayed there for a night last week. I booked a three rooms apartment .
The resort located at a newly developed place where near the jetty.
It is just like another Lumut.
The resort is noway near the beach and the swimming pool is small.
If you just need a little hide-out ,this will be a place!
Just do not expect too much since there is not much activities around.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reenaypl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
127 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I guess I liked the idea of not having to drag all of our luggage over to the island for one night in the middle of a road trip, but it was a mistake. The ferry is very convenient and seems to run like clockwork. Plenty of big cab-vans and the prices are all flat and fair. Seems like loads of good options for a wide range of travel classes.

In summary, Pangkor Island good, Marina Island bad.
Best Western is just bad value for this general location. The 3-br apartments are HUGE, but they fitted a tiny full size bed into a gigantic master bedroom. The master bedroom shower and bath did not have working hot water, which we didn't bother complaining about for the one night we stayed because we had 2 other working showers (every room ensuite). The pools are tiny, the beach unappealing, and there is very little around for food/night life.

You've been warned.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Yoni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lumut hotels

Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family and I stayed at a 3-bedroom "apartment" which was very spacious, comfortable and clean. However, the design of the master bedroom bathroom is a bit mind boggling. A half glass door covers the shower and the floor outside the shower tends to get wet after someone has a shower. The shower sprayed water all over the place and the sink leaked. The apartment had a large sitting area, dining area and a sort of kitchenette with lots of empty cabinets and drawers. No cutlery or crockery provided. There are no washing machines and dryers in the apartment. However, I noticed a washing machine on the second floor which presumably can be used by guests. Breakfast was horrible and I ended driving to Manjung and Simpang Empat for breakfast rather than eat in the coffee house.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aquajade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bandar Baru Bangi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Located on man-made island. An average resort (apartment) suitable for short break with small family. The view from the apartment is quite ok. Our unit facing the new jetty / marina and Pangkor island. The choice for breakfast is quite limited if I put the price into consideration. The food taste is average. My kids love the pool eventhough it is a bit too small for a sizable resort. Conclusion - i will not come again if i have given another choice...

Room Tip: Go for higher units, better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank iamsas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level Contributor
70 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here with friends for a business trip. The rooms are very spacious (we had the one room suite) and there's even a small "maid's room". Pros - very quiet, clean with polite staff. Cons - kitchen with no utilities (when asked, the staff said that the kitchen 'could' be stocked for long staying guests), weird rain shower bathroom configuration, hard to find eats. If you want to get food, you have to travel 10 minutes into Lumut town. The only other alternative is Kampung Kayan Steamboat (not open for 2 of the 3 days we were there) and Sze Chuan Seafood - did not try this as there were too many recommendations of must try's in Lumut.
The pool is relatively empty. The mermaid statues a little creepy at night. Lagoon is good as it's quite shallow even quite a ways out.

Room Tip: Rooms that face the 'beach' get the morning sun but I am not much of a morning person so I p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Girlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lumut
3.0 mi away
Coral Bay Resort, Pangkor
3.7 mi away
Sfera Hotel
Sfera Hotel
#3 of 19 in Lumut
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mornington Hotel Waterfront Lumut
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Pangkor Laut Resort
3.5 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Damai Laut
3.1 mi away
Pangkor Sandy Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel

Property: Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel
Address: Km 1 Jalan Pasar | Teluk Muroh, Lumut 32200, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Manjung District > Lumut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lumut
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Lumut
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 313
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel is strategically located on a reclaimed island which opposite the tourist attraction in Perak, Pangkor island, and it is also situated next to the naval base in Teluk Muroh. Different from the other island, Marina Island is connected to the main land with a wide and scenery-able bridge, you may drive to our Resort by your own transport. Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel is ideal for your leisure getaway or business trip. It is access-able to Pangkor island, Lumut town, the maritime and tourist town, seri manjung light industrial park, kampung acheh industrial park, Lumut port industrial park, and the assembly point for majority administrative of all government agencies. You may visit also Teluk batik, Teluk senangin, turtle hatchery centre, Lumut mangrove park, Tua Pek Kong temple and local seafood restaurants as your leisure activities. Marina island Pangkor resort & hotel consists of 02 block of service apartments known as D' Sea and D' Ocean. D' Sea block offers in total of 170 units of Superior apartments. D' Ocean block offers 212 of Deluxe apartments. For dining experiences, Marina island Pangkor resort & hotel has 2 restaurants which serve local and international cuisine. Lagoon Beach Bar and High Time Bistro are also available for you to enjoy the ambiance and surrounding during your hangout time. We also offer endless recreational activities be it outdoor or indoor to fill your time. Recreational activities include water sport activities, beside the swimming pool and the highlight of your stay will be swimming at our lagoon with a private beach, which you may also organize Beach Volleyball, Beach Soccer, tele match, Eco challenge, Treasure hunt or team building for a fun feel stay at Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel. Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel is an ideal place for your business needs, i.e. Residential Seminar, Meeting, Workshop, Family Day and Corporate Dinner. You may also organize your family day outing and we ensure for a memorable event for you or your organization. Our professional and friendly Team are here to welcome you with an open heart and assist in whichever way that we can. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marina Island Hotel Lumut
Marina Island Pangkor Resort & Hotel Lumut, Perak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing