We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A characterful place to stay in Ipoh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Indulgence Living (and Restaurant)
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A characterful place to stay in Ipoh”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed here for a few nights, making our way up from KL to Penang. Ipoh itself is a fascinating town, with many of its heritage buildings intact and great limestone caves nearby. Some areas of the town are becoming decidely funky. You can also eat extremely well in Ipoh. We had the great fortune of being shown around by a local. Our room at Indulgence was very nice, perhaps a little over-decorated for our tastes, but the hotel has real charm and character. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    21
    3
    1
    8
See reviews for
24
29
6
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We went to the restaurant for lunch at 1:30'ish and it was almost empty except two customers at a table. After placing our order, the server brought us some bread and our drinks. Our food was finally being served 40 minutes later, being brought out 5 minutes, one after another. By the time the last person was served, the rest of our food was cold.

Also they have limited wine by the glass, we couldn't be bothered.

We were hugely disappointed considering our experience, not to mention the price and the time it took to be served as we were the second table of customers.

Just a couple of example, 1. the macadamia chicken was some kind of shaved chicken slices (like in cold cuts for sandwiches) served with spaghetti with may be three crushed macadamia, and 2. the German sausage was overlooked, served with roast baby potatoes, cherry tomatoes (we were not sure about this combination).

We walked out unsure of what's the rave about this restaurant?!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank roadtripswc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a nice mansion cum boutique hotel - very friendly and casual staff, each room has a theme and is unique. The rooms were very comfortable and tastefully decorated. I agree with other comments that the restaurant is overrated and overpriced.

For a boutique hotel experience, it is nice and comfortable, but overpriced for Ipoh. Unfortunately, there is little competition and the next scale of hotels with a reasonable price range do not look appealing either.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammytay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We went to Ipoh on a trip planned at the very last minute and when scouting for accommodation options chanced upon this lovely property! When we called to book, only the suite (Beverly) and the super-suite (Qatrynka) were available. The rates sounded expensive (considering it is Ipoh), but we booked it nevertheless. Upon arrival, we had a smooth check-in, and were quickly settled in to our rooms. We were 3 adults and 1 child, so we took up both available rooms. Both rooms were immaculate in style, decor and maintenance. I particularly liked Beverly for its bright and cheerful appearance, though Qatrynka was bigger and oozing luxury! The staff were easy going and friendly and responded quickly to any request we had. They seemed to have a sense of ownership about the place, which was nice to see and this reflected in the service. The breakfast is a la carte, and there are a couple of options to choose from, but we got them to do some customization for us on the 2nd day (owing to Vegetarian requirements) and they did that without too much fuss. Food was tasty and hearty! The exteriors are also maintained well (though there is one broken chair in the terrace upstairs which should be repaired!!) and are good to take a stroll or read. All in all we had a wonderful 2 night stay and would love to go back another time to enjoy more of its comforts!!

Room Tip: The suite (esp.Beverly) is a great option
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShubaKrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

hold an event there, they give us a small room at least with some privacy.
they are very attentive but not well train yet as they will just come in to change plate in the middle of discussion. However, they have plenty of moderate to good wine on shelves, although slightly pricey range, i would say worth every bit of it.
oh ya, better call to check whether are they opening. if not mistaken they off twice a week ?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The place and the room is ok, each room decor with difference theme. We stayed in the Kinaree,
thai theme.

Unfortunately the food were disappointing, below of our expectation. Doest't live up to their name.
We ended up eating outside, beacon point especially their brownies is highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NathanManos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Delicated decorations with country homely court yard and green surrounding , intentionally limited accommodation provide warm service and stylish taste. Colorful walls and interior design are specifically impressive.Awared cuisines are also delicious.

Room Tip: Single bed side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docjjpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.6 mi away
Bedrock Hotel, Ipoh
Bedrock Hotel, Ipoh
#8 of 63 in Ipoh
25 reviews
1.5 mi away
M Roof Hotel & Residences
0.4 mi away
Ipoh Bali Hotel
Ipoh Bali Hotel
#9 of 63 in Ipoh
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
2.9 mi away
Symphony Suites Hotel
3.6 mi away
M Boutique Station 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indulgence Living (and Restaurant)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indulgence Living (and Restaurant)

Property: Indulgence Living (and Restaurant)
Address: 14 Jalan Raja Di Hilir, Ipoh 30350, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Indulgence Living (and Restaurant) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Indulgence Living (And Restaurant) Hotel Ipoh
Indulgence Living Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing