We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Great experience

Great and complete explanation from our tourist guide. The place is also full of history... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Syafx1
via mobile
Very educational but sore legs 😂

Amazing, educational, and respectful! If you’re a history lover this place is a must. Except my leg... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
annaromzi
via mobile
Read all 1,328 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ipoh
from $4.57
More Info
Ipoh City Tour
7 Reviews
from $70.00
More Info
from $100.00
More Info
from $53.30
More Info
Reviews (1,328)
Filter reviews
1,328 results
Traveler rating
953
351
19
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
953
351
19
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tin miners laksa guided tour hakka community miner's club book in advance interesting museum visit this place concubine lane donation history industry chin leong exhibits mannequins clan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 1,328 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2019

Han Chin Pet Soo (Ipoh World): The ancestral home of the former Hakka Miners’ Club now serves as a museum preserving the elements of the town’s Chinese background. Well-organized and informative, knowledgeable English-speaking guides bring history back to life with a fresh dose of enthusiasm and anecdotes about gambling and opium-smoking. [Book ahead; Free entry, RM10 donation stimulated]

I wrote a full travel guide of Ipoh on
Budget Bucket List -dot- com /ipoh

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank BudgetBucketListcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipohworld, Manager at Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2019

Dear BudgetBucketListcom, thank you for putting up a review of your visit at Han Chin Pet Soo and writing a full travel guide of Ipoh on Budget Bucket List-dot-com/ipoh which includes this museum. We are delighted to hear you find the guided tour well organised and informative with plenty of stories on the Hakka people and the tin mining industry. Also, thank you for mentioning booking is required to visit our museum. Entry is by RM10 donation. Hope to see you again some time soon. Happy travelling and safe journey. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

The tour guide we have is friendly and energetic. She gave us interesting historical facts of the Hakka people. Museum with plenty of exhibits and everything is well maintained. One of the most underrated museums here. If you are a Hakka yourself or you are interested in Hakka history, you should definitely pay a visit to this place. Plus, it only takes a little donation for you to go for a tour! Worth it!

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank hsinjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipohworld, Manager at Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Dear hsinjin, thank you for spending time to write a review of your visit at Han Chin Pet Soo. We are delighted to hear you find our museum fascinating and one of the most underrated museum in Ipoh which is really worth it just for a little donation as entry. Hope to see you back to our museum again some time soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019 via mobile

Very interesting history to learn about Hakka Chinese and the origin of Tin mining. All the figurines, equipment were well maintain after many decades. However the English of the guide that bring us thru the tour was not very clear. We have difficulty understanding what she was telling us half of the time.probably due to the eccent and pronoucation. And the 'mic' she was using made it even worse. Suggest that she make do without the mic since the group is usually contain in a small area and I believe everyone could her clear enuff even without the mic

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Ninikoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipohworld, Manager at Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

Dear Ninikoz, thank you for taking some time to write a review of your visit at Han Chin Pet Soo. We are truly sorry to know you have difficulty understanding our English speaking guide and we thank you for your suggestions given to improve the tour which we definitely look into. Have a good day ahead and see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019 via mobile

An educational guided tour for families with school going children. You got to book the guided tour slots online however they can still entertain walk ins and squeeze the slot in. If you were to read up more on the building on Wikipedia, this is definitely a place you got to visit. We learn more about tin miners in Ipoh in the earlier years. I would suggest those who understand mandarin to go for the mandarin speaking tours as it will be clearer and more interesting. The English guide tries her best to be as clear as possible.

Date of experience: September 2019
1  Thank mama_hoon38
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipohworld, Manager at Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2019

Dear mama_hoon38, thank you for spending some time to put up a review on tripadvisor of your visit at Han Chin Pet Soo. We are delighted to hear you recommend our museum a must place to visit in Ipoh where you get to know more about the tin mining industry and the Hakka people. We shall continuously improve our guides so that they can provide great tours to all visitors. Hope to see you soon in near future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2019

The visit to the museum is only allowed with the guided walk with prior booking online or at their door step. Originally, the museum was the home of the Hakka Tin Miners Club which founded in 1893. It was very interesting to know about the history of the building, the tin mining industry and Hakka people in the old days through the guided walk. The guided walk is available in either English or Mandarin. Small donation is recommended before you leave the museum to support the up-keeping of the museum.

Date of experience: September 2019
2  Thank Budakampung
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipohworld, Manager at Ipoh World at Han Chin Pet Soo, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2019

Dear Budakampung, thank you for writing a review of your visit at Han Chin Pet Soo. We are happy to know you find our guided tour interesting with plenty of stories to tell about the tin mining industry and the Hakka people. We also like to thank you for recommending to give a donation before leaving for the upkeep of the historical building. Have a great day ahead and hope to see you again soon ! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews