We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much potential”
Review of Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Ranked #61 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Here is a hotel with loads of potential but lacks a finish in both rooms and staff.
The rooms are tired and dated with a bit of tlc needed. They are a good size and have the potential to be good quality rooms. But a little mold in the bathroom and a tired bedroom with dated electronics and in the first room we were given an open wired fuse box it didn't warm the heart. The lobby area was good, spacious clean and I am guessing has been modernized.
Pool area was good but only 5 sun loungers, not encouraging if you see a couple of people already out there. Breakfast had everything there to be good but unfortunately they could not seem to keep the food hot so was put off what could have been some good food. I found the staff on the whole helpful and in the case of changing the room no problem or argument was needed. However i did think they were very disorganized and needed direction, willing to help but not sure how to.
However the Bistro was excellent. Food quality and service very good and reasonable prices for what you had added to that a group which were for us very entertaining and willing to play virtually anything. Thank you d' extreme soul band especially Fernan and Jelyn.
Overall it wouldn't take much improving for us to go back but it would take some.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Public Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear Peter R

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay.

As much-valued guests your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide.

We are in the midst of renovating our guest rooms and improving our facilities which due for completion by 2nd quarter of the year.

However, we were delighted that you had a fabulous time with our band - The Extreme Soul when you came for dinner in The Bistro. Your positive comments that the food, service and ambiance were fantastic are equally most appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh soon!

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam
Marcom Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 506 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

Housekeeping and maintenance a bit slapdash but has a good pool and staff very friendly. Breakfast: decent choice of cuisines inc dim sum and european. Large well-maintained pool - although could do with more than 5 sun loungers. We only paid £27 for B & B so couldn't quibble once we'd been moved to quieter room (see below).

Room Tip: Night club to the right of hotel kept us awake until 0430am. Also traffic noise at front. Moved to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIckandKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Public Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear MIckandKG

Greetings from Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent visit.

We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations with the room that was allocated to you. However we are pleased that the staff were able to assist you with accommodating you in a more comfortable room.

Your kind feedback that the staff were friendly is most appreciated.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam
Marcom Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Awful & Old. Just look at the photos I uploaded.

1. The double lock on door is broken. No additional security and also, the lift does not have limited access
2. Air cond broken
3. Bath tub stained and also the outlet plug was stucked. Had to pry it out. The mechanism was broken
4. Wardrobe door was broken and they only put a screw to hold it in. Worried if I pushed it too hard, it will collapse
5. Control panel on the bedside table was broken. Very dangerous as it controls electricity
6. Stained carpeting, stained windows, stained bath tub & stained toilet & washbasin

I thought what others said before about this hotel wasn't true... However, my own experience showed that it is SO TRUE. It's a shame for holding Impiana's name when the condition is terribly bad!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank am1097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Public Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear am1097,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are most grateful for your feedback, which is such a valuable source of information for us, regardless of whether it is good or bad.

Here at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, we pride ourselves on the standards of product and service we provide, which makes it all the more disappointing to read that we have let ourselves down on this occasion. We apologize that your experience was not as positive as that of others on this site, and the errors that you have encountered were indeed unacceptable.

Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused and we have addressed every single point you raised with our Engineering and Housekeeping team.

We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at some point in the future and to restore your faith in the hotel and us.

Kind regards
E-Fay, Chiam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed the night here over the weekend. My last stay here was around 5 years ago and I must say, nothing much has changed. It has the relaxed feel and warm friendly reception. But somethings definitely showing its age. Like the carpet (seems a bit dusty, stained and bulging at some areas) and the furnitures in the rooms. Staying at so many hotels in my work and leisure travels, this is the first hotel in my experience that charges for any extra towels requested. Hmmmm.....

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank Syamil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Public Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear Syamil C

Thank you for your sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. We were really pleased to read your praise of our staff here and enjoyed knowing that you were well looked after during your stay.

With regards to the charges for the extra towels, we would like to take this opportunity to clarify that our hotel provides full amenities in all of our guest rooms that sets to accommodate 2 guests in each room. Any additional guest in the room that requires extra amenities will only then be charged accordingly.

We sincerely appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

What I like? Wifi. Free parking. Bed sheet was okay. Flat screen Tv.

What I dont like? Not so fast check in procedure, crap kids pool, ignorance on sejadah requested (i need to call for second time), not effisien on deliver the request - requested 2 blankets at charges rm5 each. I dont mind paying but they still need to come back for the 2nd blanket. Need to refurbish. Breakfast spreads very poor n not tasty. This is not a 4 star hotel to me.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ZuraAhmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Public Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2014

Dear ZuraAhmad,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Impiana Hotel Ipoh. We are most grateful for your feedback which helps us to improve the facilities and services we provide.

We have indeed taken notes of your comments and will ensure that these matters are resolved so that they do not cause inconvenience to future guests of the hotel.

We would very much like to have the opportunity to have you stay at Impiana Hotel Ipoh again and to ensure that the second time would be a true Impiana Experience.

Kind regards
E-Fay, Chiam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

I usually try to keep my expectations for hotels low (bracing myself, I might say), to avoid disappointment. I'm pleased to say that I did not anticipate such a fine stay at Impiana Hotel: splendid in most aspects, Impiana Hotel meets all my requirements and more.

The hotel has a wonderful crew, with impressive good manners and cheery hospitality. I feel welcomed and at ease around the hotel staff. A wide array of food is offered, local and continental. The hotel is also located close to the town centre, and it is made ever closer for me with the shuttle bus service offered by the hotel. Absolutely terrific.

The hotel is notably old, lacking the posh of modern hotels, but all the same the hotel offers a lovely calm atmosphere, and an air of class lingers around. The hotel rooms have a great view of the surrounding area as well!

Well done, well done!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank winstonpoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Public Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear winstonpoh,

As much-valued guests your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide. We are therefore delighted that we have met your expectations.

Our staff take great interest in our guests to ensure that their time with us is comfortable and perfect. We are pleased that they made you feel welcomed throughout your stay.

We thank you for you positive recommendation, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh.

Warm regards
E-Fay, Chiam
Marcom Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

After reading all the reviews I was expecting something good, but I was also ready to accept that all my expectations might not be met. Well, all of my expectations were met and exceeded! The greatest asset of this hotel is its staff - friendly, courteous and achieving the right balance between familiarity and formaility. And the room is comfortable and spacious. Location is also very good, with some great restaurants and pubs within easy walking distance. To cap it all the breakfast was superb and we particularly enjoyed the selection of breads.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noora m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Public Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Dear noorayusof,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review following your recent visit.

It is great to read that we met your expectations and that you felt the staff were brilliant.

Your kind words that the breakfast offered a great variety and a selection of freshly baked breads are most appreciated. We like to ensure that all of our guests are happy and have plenty of choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam
Marcom Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.9 mi away
Tower Regency Hotel & Apartments Sdn Bhd
0.7 mi away
Syuen Hotel
Syuen Hotel
#26 of 63 in Ipoh
197 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#6 of 63 in Ipoh
650 reviews
1.7 mi away
M Roof Hotel & Residences
2.7 mi away
Symphony Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impiana Hotel Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Address: 18 Jalan Sultan Nazrin Shah, Ipoh 30250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ipoh
Price Range: $41 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Impiana Hotel Ipoh 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Impiana Hotel Ipoh is the leading business hotel in Ipoh city and preferred medium sized hotel amongst local residents, tourists and international corporate because of our commitment to high international standards of service throughout the hotel. The Impiana Hotel Ipoh, Perak is ideal for both business and leisure travelers with a business club lounge, high speed connectivity, convenience store, modern banquet facilities and great eateries to suit every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Impiana Hotel Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Casuarina Ipoh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing