We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service......but lack activities”
Review of Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Ranked #56 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Reviewed March 31, 2013

First time staying at this hotel. Had no problem checking-in. Room was fair but toilet needs upgrading. Checked out the dinner buffet but decided to eat in town coz better choices there. There was no activities for kids except for the pool situated outside the hotel at ground floor. Had a great karoake session. They had a band playing at the bar but .....not that great. Overall just fair for me.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ford006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear Ford006

Greetings from Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

Thank you for your recent visit to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh and taking time to share your comments.

Your feedback is important for us as it does help us to improve the services and facilities we provide. We take all feedback constructively and always look towards improvements.

We were pleased to read that you appreciate the services here at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh and that you had a great time at our signature restaurant, The Bistro. We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon.

Best Regards,
E-Fay, Chiam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Impiana Hotel Ipoh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

295 - 301 of 449 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed on the 5th floor premier room with 2 adults, 2 under 12 kids and an infant. happy dry happy with my final choice of room (note: not an upgraded room, its in the room class that I paid for) the thing is I had to view 4 rooms before I got it! There was a convention going on, the front counter was a mess with only 2 counter staff and 10 + customers, so service was agonizingly slow but they were trying their best.
The disparity between the rooms are huge. Musty stained carpets vs my current room's new laminated flooring. Cracked, warped wood panels vs new furnishings. There was a long, ugly crack line ( admittedly superficial from the look of it) running parallel to the door frame of a refurnished room. Really? Is this 4 star hotel standard?
My room - it was clean and appropriately furnished. The sheets were clean but tired looking. Ditto pillows. My request for 2 additional beds were immediately seen to. The premier room (that was the description front counter gave me) was big enough to fit all of us with space to spare. Did I mention I am so thankful for the new laminate flooring? Hotels in Tropical countries should get rid of their carpets. It really serves no purpose in our hot and humid climate except to be a growth medium for mould and mites. Why emulate Western norms? Bathroom is good too with new tiles, clean bathtub but not enough hooks! They should seriously look into installing towel racks near the showers. They don't even have a toilet roll holder! Air conditioning is centrally controlled. You just get to control the blow strength:(
Hotel is east-west facing so be prepared to get hot! Draw the insulating curtains before you go out if you don't want baked rooms! Get the east facing rooms! It overlooks the horse racing tracks and the wonderful mountainous landscape. Pool was under maintenance. It had green algae coloured water. Would have made a great lounging area as there is ample greenery and space around it.
So the general impression I have is this hotel is getting there in terms of room quality (service is acceptable) but its not there yet.
I have stayed in various hotels in Ipoh from budget to supposedly 3 star ones. This is not a big town so don't expect big city hotel quality. Impiana is alright by Malaysian and small-ish city standard. It is not the cheapest around Ipoh.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank HuiBs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear HuiBs

Greetings from Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

Allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the discrepancies you experienced during your stay. We strive to always deliver the highest level of services but we recognize that in this instance we did not succeed in making your stay flawless.

We are disappointed to know about the problems that you went through, please be rest assured that your comments are taken seriously as we value the support of our guests and to restore their faith on our hotel.

If I may be of assistance in any way please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam
e.fay@impiana.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Went there during the Chinese New Year for two nights and left with no regrets! The prime location of the hotel make visiting most attraction in Ipoh a breeze. Was also impressed by the friendly hotel's staff, in particular Ms e-fay if i remember the name correctly. The room was really clean that my fussy wife did not even complain. Thank goodness. The only little let down of the hotel was the over priced teh tarik, apart from that, i can't really think of any.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenny f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Kenny F,

Greetings from Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

Thank you for sharing your experience of your recent stay with us.
We were delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. At the Impiana Hotel Ipoh, we strive to deliver the highest level of services.

One of our signature beverage at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh is our famous teh tarik whereby we have regulars coming back for more, as it is one of the best in town and reasonably priced. However, your comment has been duly noted and we will definitely look into the pricing.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back to our hotel soon!

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

A good hotel to stay in if exploring Ipoh town is what you want to do. Its a 10 minute drive to the center of the town where the various heritage landmarks are such as the Museum, Court House, War Memorial, Ipoh Green and the Birch Tower.

The hotel is, upon first sight-clean and well maintained. Though at closer inspection, we noticed water stains on the walls of the bathroom and the bath tub itself was not very clean.

The bakery downstairs isn't something to shout about- we bought a donut and a minced pie at 50% off and thank goodness we did, as it wasnt very delectable.

Overall, we are quite satisfied as it provided a good stay and a good night's sleep. Price is reasonable and staff were friendly. Bellhop service and concierge always had smiles for us :)

If ultimate relaxation is what you want, this isn't the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grunge_Princess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2013

Dear Grunge_Princess

Greetings from Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

Thank you for your recent visit to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh and for taking the time to share your comments.

As a much-valued guest, your feedback is important to us as it does help us to improve the services and facilities we provide. We take all feedback, constructively and always look towards improvement.

We were pleased to read that you appreciate the services here at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh especially our Concierge team and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
E-Fay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

During the Chinese New Year holidays, i was back at my home town, Ipoh.I stayed at Impiana Hotel for 4 nights and to my surprise, the services given by the hotel staff here are great.The front desk people are very friendly and provided me with good assistance. The room and bathroom are clean and nice.One thing that capture me most is the event the management organized during this festive period.A fantastic Chinese New Year event with a giant 'lou sang' gathering for the hotel guests while accompanied by lions and dragon dances. Also to bring out the Chinese New Year mood, they even had a chinese orchestra performance.I surely will be recommending this place to my friends who are visiting Ipoh. Keep up the good work :)

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank JasonAncient
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear JasonAncient,

Greetings from Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent visit.

We were delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh that you were pleased with the Chinese New Year event that we organized for our guests during the festive celebration.

We would like to thank you for your personal recommendation and we hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Thank you.

Best Regards
E-Fay, Chiam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

For our 1night stay in Ipoh, friends recommended me this hotel which is "4star" and priced reasonably.

Admittedly Impiana is not a new establishment as it has been around for >20 years but I understand room renovations have been done in recent years. The beds are comfortable, bathroom / bedroom size acceptable with attractive toiletries. Our rooms faced the turf club rather than the front, so it was a quiet's night stay. Service at the concierge and by the bellhop is above average. For the rates we paid, the breakfast was included and the breakfast variety offered (Asian / Western) was quite decent. The cafe also faced 3 very nice pools; which we unfortunately did not get to use.

Some downsides were the very dated aircond switches (with no temperature control), the old-school room keys instead of access cards and the frankly quite poorly lit basement car park (drips when it rains too).

In terms of location, it can be quite a distance to walk to town or the nearest shopping centre but no problem for guests like us who have their own transport.

For Ipoh, overall good value and service. Maintenance required at the car parks and the bathroom tiles.
If their rates are maintained, will return again if visiting Ipoh.

Room Tip: For quiet nights, preferably avoid front-facing.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trin17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Not_so_lengchai

Thank you for your recent review of the Impiana Hotel Ipoh. It is always wonderful to receive such feedback and thank you for your positive comments regarding our service, our team, and our facilities.

Nonetheless, we are constantly looking into ways of upgrading and preventive maintenance of this 26 year old iconic heritage building.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh again in the future.

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Upon our arrival we were greeted by friendly staff. We were staying 2 nights. The room itself was clean - the bathroom could have been cleaner. I pointed this out to the staff who wanted to go into the room and sort it out however we told them to leave it until the morning. As we had a club room this gave us free drinks (beer, wine and soft drinks) between 6.30pm and 8pm. After a long car journey we decided not to venture into town for a meal but stay at the hotel and eat in The Bistro. The food was good as was the choice of wine. Very quiet - possibly due to it being the time of year (Chinese New Year was approaching) but the 'amazing trio' were there to sing - turned out to be a great evening with lots of dancing. The staff were very helpful especially Villa who went the extra mile to ensure a pleasant stay. Overall would recommend although not the same kind of 4* accommodation you would expect in other countries ;)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wishinguwerehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Dear Wishinguwerehere,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you appreciated the service, facilities and food we offered, especially at our restaurant, The Bistro. Here at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh, our staff take pride in all that they do to provide a comfortable and memorable stay for all of our guests.

Thank you for highlighting the special service given by Ms Villa, which we will ensure is duly recognized.

We would like to thank you personally for recommending our hotel to others and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh in the near future.

Best regards,
E-Fay, Chiam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.9 mi away
Tower Regency Hotel
Tower Regency Hotel
#43 of 63 in Ipoh
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#6 of 63 in Ipoh
584 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
#14 of 63 in Ipoh
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Syuen Hotel
Syuen Hotel
#31 of 63 in Ipoh
184 reviews
2.7 mi away
Symphony Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impiana Hotel Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Address: 18 Jalan Sultan Nazrin Shah, Ipoh 30250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ipoh
Price Range: $39 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Impiana Hotel Ipoh 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Impiana Hotel Ipoh is the leading business hotel in Ipoh city and preferred medium sized hotel amongst local residents, tourists and international corporate because of our commitment to high international standards of service throughout the hotel. The Impiana Hotel Ipoh, Perak is ideal for both business and leisure travelers with a business club lounge, high speed connectivity, convenience store, modern banquet facilities and great eateries to suit every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Impiana Hotel Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Casuarina Ipoh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing