We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel we could find in Ipoh...”
Review of Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Ranked #54 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“The best hotel we could find in Ipoh...”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Upon our arrival we were greeted by friendly staff. We were staying 2 nights. The room itself was clean - the bathroom could have been cleaner. I pointed this out to the staff who wanted to go into the room and sort it out however we told them to leave it until the morning. As we had a club room this gave us free drinks (beer, wine and soft drinks) between 6.30pm and 8pm. After a long car journey we decided not to venture into town for a meal but stay at the hotel and eat in The Bistro. The food was good as was the choice of wine. Very quiet - possibly due to it being the time of year (Chinese New Year was approaching) but the 'amazing trio' were there to sing - turned out to be a great evening with lots of dancing. The staff were very helpful especially Villa who went the extra mile to ensure a pleasant stay. Overall would recommend although not the same kind of 4* accommodation you would expect in other countries ;)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wishinguwerehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Wishinguwerehere,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your stay with us at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh.

We are delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you appreciated the service, facilities and food we offered, especially at our restaurant, The Bistro. Here at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh, our staff take pride in all that they do to provide a comfortable and memorable stay for all of our guests.

Thank you for highlighting the special service given by Ms Villa, which we will ensure is duly recognized.

We would like to thank you personally for recommending our hotel to others and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh in the near future.

Best regards,
E-Fay, Chiam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    94
    116
    64
    62
See reviews for
120
74
32
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Putrajaya, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Arrived at the hotel on a rainy night. The staffs at the door were not friendly enough to advise on where to park or they were busy talking among themselves. There were signs that directed you to the hotel carpark but it can get confusing especially at night. If you are looking for basement carpark it is at the next building (UMNO's building) but I'm not sure if it is available for the hotel' guests. The carpark at the back of the hotel looked deserted & unsafe at night as it is poorly lit. The staffs' parking area has roof, fenced all around & guards at the entrance (during the day) but the guests' parking area is just an open space. Please fenced the area, move the guards to the entry point, put some signs & light up the area.

I had to park at a building nearby which I think is a night club. They even had a guy bringing you an umbrella to ferry you from you car to the club' entrance. Why does the hotel never thought of using their neighbor's idea is completely a mystery to me.

Check -in was a bit of hassle as the staff had to refer to her colleagues about my booking & she said the booking was without breakfast coupons eventhough I'm pretty sure it did. But I'm too tired to argue & did thought the internet booking price was cheap enough to make me forget about the meal' coupons.

Once I'm out from the elevator at my floor, it smelled of lemongrass. A very heavy smell of lemongrass. It won't escaped you until you had reached your room. O.. the room used the good old key instead of the cardkey most hotel used nowadays. That showed how old the furniture inside the room going to be. But the room & bathroom did looked clean. The room is large enough but the bathroom isn't. The hot water at the tap & shower was between dangerously hot to boiling hot. So make sure you test the water first. Liked most complaint about the hotel, there was only bath towel. No face towel or any other towels for that matter. If you slip on the bathroom 's floor because there was no floor's mat or towel.

The appliances in the room liked safe, minibar, iron & air conditioner worked well. The tv' channels was a plenty. Wifi signal was strong enough inside the room. They even delivered newspaper of your choice in the morning. I have to guess that the rooms' view is either the main road or the open space called carpark. Mine's the carpark.

There isn't much of attractions in walking distance from the hotel. Ipoh city is quite nearby if you are driving but avoid early morning, lunchtime & the evening traffics as there are some schools nearby between the hotel & Ipoh city.

Others amenities at the hotel liked the small gym, the big pool & meals at the cafe I didn't try any of it. Ended up paying around MYR 180.00 per night for a good wifi room with newspaper instead of breakfast. And I stayed there for two nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halimran7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear halimran7,

Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay with us.

It is disappointing to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. Our Concierge team have an excellent reputation but unfortunately this was not apparent during your visit. We sincerely apologize for this and will look into the matter to find out where things went wrong and if indeed we can improve in this area.

Impiana Hotel Ipoh provides the best internet rate and it is stated in the terms and conditions if the room is inclusive of breakfast. ( We have done a thorough check on the internet bookings and it is stated that it is not inclusive of breakfast. You can refer to our hotel website.

As a much-valued guest, your feedback is important to us as it does help us to improve the services and facilities we provide. We take all feedback, constructively and always look towards improvement. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed the facilities offered at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ipoh hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

my family and i stayed at impiana hotel for 1 night on 22 january 2013. the hotel taken over by impiana from casuarina, is a far cry from what it was those days. altough many places are improved such as bathrooms ,common areas, restaurants and linens other places need improvements will be like carpets in the rooms (old but clean now), fridges are still old and maybe doors with systems (the current system with the actual keys are still good though, you dont get times when the keys dont open the doors as you get with card keys).
we took Deluxe rooms. water is always hot but we learned to mix it well. the rate was good when newer hotels ofcourse are charging a bit high for ipoh levels. we stayed a good nites stay.

Room Tip: book through hotels webpage n get better rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nagalingam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Nagalingam,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh and for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

Your experience is important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide.

As the leading business class hotel , we strive daily to offer the best of Ipoh’s warmth and hospitality however, in its old age, many areas need attention and this is exactly what we are working on.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh.

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Formerly known as Casuarina Hotel, the 26 year-old hotel is now known as the Impiana Hotel Ipoh and although now part of a fairly well established chain, the legacy issues continue to haunt the establishment. First up, I've stayed here many times before while it was still Casuarina and in the horrendous blue-themed rooms. On my most recent trip just last weekend, things are generally looking up though the lack of refinements and poor quality control in the refurbishments mar what would be an otherwise comfortable stay.

Touted as a 'premier 4-star' establishment, the room rates are among the highest in town though I think better could be had from the newer hotels coming up. I still have a soft-spot for the hotel, as I do like the location and the service in general but the poor attention to details both in the furnishings as well as the service is a sore point and if not addressed, will likely see other hotels claiming the top spot (if not already).

On my most recent trip, I did appreciate the early check-in, warm welcome from the lobby staff, and I generally liked the refurbishments including the bounty of pillows provided (hotels that provide just one per person really need to review their policy).

What irked me though was:

- the in-room safe was not working.

- I had no shampoo in my room, but two shower gels instead.

- no hand towel, no face towel, and no floor mat.

- toilet paper roll holder was broken.

- sending me a Chinese language newspaper in the morning instead of an English one. If you're not sure what to send, ask or just go with English.

Additionally, and these I recognise are harder faults to fix (though should have been addressed in the refurbishment) are these issues:

- hot water is way way too hot to the point of scalding.

- the sink had the hot/cold water labels reversed thus that's how I came to quickly learn about how hot the water can be.

- electrical wiring and fixtures are appalling, with an outlet missing the plastic face and the power plastic card slot barely attached to the wall.

- sharp metal points beneath the carpets, probably due to the re-carpeting.

- no temperature control for the air-conditioning.

Why do these matter? If you claim to be a premier 4-star hotel, then yes, they matter very much. I didn't frequent the F&B outlets or the gym/pool this time so can't comment except that my previous experiences with the facilities were satisfactory.

One last gripe is the need for a security deposit even when the room was fully paid for. There's no mini bar in the room and given the somewhat poor finishes, really, what is the deposit for?

My advice? Broaden your options to include the new hotels. If you're coming still to Impiana, consider it a decent 3-star hotel and your expectations will be better aligned.

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbished rooms. I'm not sure if there are still the old blue-themed ones but trus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danjumbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear danjumbuck,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Impiana Hotel, Ipoh. Our apologies for the below expectations from what you have experienced.

We strive to always deliver the highest level of service, which many reviewers can attest to, but we recognize that in this instance we did not succeed in making your stay flawless. We are working towards the improvement and striving to provide the service consistency to ensure a valued stay.

All of us here at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh take your feedback very seriously, and we are eager to correct any discrepancies and look for ways in which we can improve. Regarding the issues which you have encountered during your stay, we would appreciate if you could provide us with more details of your stay in order for us to do a thorough check and to ensure that the incident will not occur again.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and hope to hear from you soon.

Best regards
E-Fay,Chiam
e.fay@impiana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

2 nights accommodation during year end trip with my family..
Hotel located not so near to the busy Ipoh town, therefore have more privacy.
Walking to town is not advisable as it looks near on the map but far when on foot.
Even driving a car you can easily get lost.

Check-in was fast and room was ready. They took a RM$200 deposit which will be refunded upon check-out. There is a restaurant, a pub and a cafe inside the hotel. Room was big and bed was comfy.

Safe deposit was not working and the staff got it fixed very quickly. Room door have no electronic key card function. Just the normal key to open the room doors.

Toilet was a little cramp but water heater was working well. Basic toiletries provided such as shower cap, cotton bud, soap and shampoo. Towel is big but no face or hand towel provided. Air-con was good.

WIFI was good and I was able to connect to the network. Fridge was not working!!! Beer and drinks not chilled after keeping more than 8hours in the fridge.... There is a swimming pool where I saw parents taking their kids for a dip. No time to discover more in this hotel.

I guess Impiana Hotel is considered one of the better hotesl in Ipoh.
Price is affordable and you only get the basics.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleChanHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear MichelleChanHL

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your recent stay.

Your feedback is extremely important to us as it helps us to improve the services and facilities that we provide.

As the leading business class hotel , we strive daily to offer the best of Ipoh’s warmth and hospitality.

We apologize for the shortcomings of this 26year old building which we are constantly up keeping and trying to maintain. Heritage buildings such as this hotel have become an icon in Ipoh, its grandeur and charm is still very prominent and is the reason for so many return guests. However, in its old age, many areas need attention and it is exactly what we are working on.

We appreciate your commendation and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Thank you and regards
Anne Das
PR and Marcom Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Not much to say here. Not a lot of character to this Impiana branch. Our bathrooms were a bit nasty with mold covering the bath area. Hot water is EXTREMELY HOT to the point of being dangerous.

But we were well-rested by morning after our 1 night here, had a nice breakfast (though wished we didn't get it so we could go try Foh San for dim sum), and we were on our way. Would not recommend for a visit of more than a day or two.

Room Tip: Try to get one with a clean bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yoni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Yoni G,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Impiana Hotel Ipoh on Tripadvisor.

We have completed part of our refurbishment for this 26 years old building, mainly for our Club, Premier and Suite Rooms. The hot water issue highlighted will be looked into as well as other areas i.e. – bathroom upgrading, water pressure, air conditioning system for our guests better comfort.

Our apology for your inconvenience. Your comments will be taken positively for our further improvement.

Once again, thank you.

Best regards
E-Fay and all of us at Impiana Hotel Ipoh
e.fay@impiana.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotel stay - Based on the response by the management for past reviews, I understand that this hotel is 26 years old and the management is trying to maintain the heritage status.. but it is really in an urgent need for some serious refurbishment. Even the bathroom, which I suspect was renovated a short while ago, is showing signs of aging with leaking taps and spoilt knobs. A replacement on some of the furniture, safe and fridge, a fresh coat of paint/change of wallpaper will actually do the trick and some maintenance on the taps will do the trick.

Service -
1st night checked in - no bath towels, no face towels, no hand towels, no floor towels, no slippers, no bottled water, no toothbrush - had to call to request for it.
2nd night - 02 x bath towels, 02 x face towels, no floor towels, no hand towels, no bottled water - had to call to request for it, plus an additional bath towel for the kid. was given beach towels instead.
3rd night - 02 x bath towels, 01 x floor towel, no face towels, no hand towels, no bottled water - called to request for towels, gave up on asking for water and went to nearby supermarket to buy instead..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokwhye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear kokwhye,

Thank you for your recent visit to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh and taking time to share your comments.

As a much-valued guest your feedback is important to us as it does help us to improve the services and facilities we provide. We take all constructive comments very seriously and we are particularly concerned to read of your comments.

We will be sure to share your feedback with our Engineering and Housekeeping team to ensure that the services that we provide at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh will be consistent and up to standard.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh again in the future.

Best regards
E-Fay and all of us at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.9 mi away
Tower Regency Hotel
Tower Regency Hotel
#44 of 63 in Ipoh
248 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel Ipoh
Heritage Hotel Ipoh
#47 of 63 in Ipoh
227 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
#13 of 63 in Ipoh
203 reviews
0.7 mi away
Syuen Hotel
Syuen Hotel
#29 of 63 in Ipoh
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impiana Hotel Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Property: Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Address: 18 Jalan Sultan Nazrin Shah, Ipoh 30250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Impiana Hotel Ipoh 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Impiana Hotel Ipoh is the leading business hotel in Ipoh city and preferred medium sized hotel amongst local residents, tourists and international corporate because of our commitment to high international standards of service throughout the hotel. The Impiana Hotel Ipoh, Perak is ideal for both business and leisure travelers with a business club lounge, high speed connectivity, convenience store, modern banquet facilities and great eateries to suit every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HRS and Travelocity so you can book your Impiana Hotel Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Casuarina Ipoh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing