We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and just about acceptable for it's price but tired”
Review of Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Ranked #56 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Reviewed November 15, 2012

We needed a one night stay in Ipoh while travelling around Malaysia and were looking for a clean hotel that was not too highly priced and was a couple of notches above the basic level. Sometimes you book such places and are pleasantly surprised by finding they provide more than you thought. Not so with the Impiana - it was exactly what we assumed it would be, plus maybe even a little bit less. The property is well located right on the edge of the city centre but with easy access to it and also out to the main highways. The basic structure of the building and room size is fine for this class of hotel - it just needs a complete overhaul to bring it up to the level it could be. As others have mentioned, certain fittings are tired and some are even broken. Our room safe wasn't even secured to anything, so someone could have simply walked out with it! The security door latch had snapped off and the bathroom hair dryer wasn't functioning. The sink plug didn't fit properly and so the water drained within a few minutes. Our aircon had no noticable control so we had to accept the temperature, which was cooler than the temperature outside but not as cool as we would have liked it to be. I assume that we were a bit unlucky and most rooms would have more things working than not. Luckily we didn't have need of the items we couldn't use. Also there was not as much inspiation to certain meals as other hotels of a similar character. The staff were very friendly and helpful and it was basically quite clean. Therefore to be fair, there are some good qualities and I think you are getting what you are paying for, so on that note you can't overly fault it. If I had to stay in Ipoh for the same purposes in future, I'd book it again unless someone notified me of a better hotel at a similar or lower rate. In summary, it works but only just and yet it could be so much more.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MindsetSynergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear MindsetSynergy,

Greetings from Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

Allow us to extend our sincere apologies for the discrepancies you experienced during your stay. We strive to always deliver the highest level of services but we recognize that in this instance we did not succeed in making your stay flawless. Your feedback is vital for us to continuously improve the guest experience here at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh.

Impiana Hotel Ipoh, is an iconic building in Ipoh and has been around for 26 years, we are constantly making efforts in upgrading, such as our new refurbished Club Rooms, Club Lounge and swimming pool. Nonetheless we are still maintaining the heritage of the building as well.

We will be sure to share your constructive comments with our Housekeeping and Engineering teams.

Again, thank you for your review and we do hope you come back for a second try and experience the service and dedication of a premier four star business hotel.

Best regards
E-Fay and all of us at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (449)
There are newer reviews for Impiana Hotel Ipoh
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

317 - 323 of 449 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

I booked a few rooms and attended a function at the ballroom in this hotel in Nov 2012. This hotel looks old and distinguished and should close down for a major renovation. The toilet door latch was rusty and I cannot lock the door properly. The ballroom was leaking badly and the door was broken. The front office staff was not friednly and did not smile at all. The aircon inside the room was noisy. With all these old facilities and poor services, the hotel still charged the highest price in town! There are many good and newer hotels in town with a cheaper price and better facilites and service.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing the front
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LacLemanCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Dear LacLemanCH,

It is disappointing to hear that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. All of us here at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh take guest feedback very seriously, and we are eager to correct any imperfections on our part.

We apologize for the level of service given to you on your stay and we assure you that our staff can only improve with the feedback given.We are constantly training our staff especially front-liners as Ipoh has very high turnover of good staff. Hence our task is always uphill.

Being one of the iconic buildings in town as the hotel has been around for 26 years, we are making efforts in upgrading, such as our new refurbished Club Rooms, nonetheless maintaining the heritage of the building as well.

We notice that this is not your first visit to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh and we definitely hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back and if you are interested in speaking about your service experience, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at e.fay@impiana.com

Best regards
E-Fay and all of us at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Absolutely wonderful and great place to stay. Met Celebrity Chef at the Bistro and I had dinner there which, I ordered Mesclun Lettuce with Beetroot Marinated Gravlax salad. It is superb, yet price was very competitive. Offered great facilities at the club and the staff was so helpful and friendly especially Shanti & Samantha. Nice view and enjoyed very much at the swimming pool in the evening. The building itself is a bit old and unfortunately there is no covered carpark. I just wished there is spa in the hotel but, overall I certainly recommend the hotel to all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoonWPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2012

Dear Samanthawong84,

Greetings from Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

Thank you for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us.

We are pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay here at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh that you were pleased with the staff, facilities and food we offered, especially at our restaurant The Bistro where our Celebrity Chef Volkmar has just introduced his new Italian menu, serving fabulous dishes at value for money pricing.

As for the spa, we do not have a spa in-house but we are working very closely with a luxurious spa centre located only 5 minutes away from our hotel. Guests can call to our Guest Service Managers at Ext 1 for spa and transportation arrangements.

We would like to thank you personally for recommending our hotel to others and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh in the near future.

Best regards
E-Fay and all of us at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Terrible services of the bell service. Evening shift not helpful at all.

Room temperature (Club floor) cannot be changed. Only Low - Medium - High.

Meals served not at par

Parking only located outside. No covered parking.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear Wanedi,

Greetings from Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay with us.

Our Concierge team have an excellent reputation but unfortunately this was not apparent during your visit. We sincerely apologize for this and will look into the matter to find out where things went wrong and if indeed we can improve in this area.

Impiana Hotel Ipoh, is an iconic building in Ipoh and has been around for 26 years, we are constantly making efforts in upgrading, such as our new refurbished Club Rooms and swimming pool. Nonetheless we are still maintaining the heritage of the building as well.

Your feedback is very important to us. We take all reviews very seriously but we do not have much information to work with. It would be much appreciated if you could consider providing me with a more detailed outline with regards to the comment of meals served. Our buffet ranges from breakfast through dinner, a la carte and set lunches not to mention our ever popular high-tea served on weekends.

We understand your disappointments on this occasion but are confident that we will have improved on the next opportunity that we have to welcome you back to The Impiana Hotel Ipoh.

Best Regards,
E-Fay, Chiam and all of us at Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is old and distinguished. Although it has seen less glorious times under previous management, it is currently a pleasant temporary home for the business traveller.

Once you get over the dated appearance of the rooms, you will appreciate their space and practical lay-out. The rooms themselves however, are not the high point of the Impiana. Rather, it is the hospitality of its staff, ranging from the employees at the generous breakfast buffet all the way up to the general manager, who will occasionally pop into the downstairs bistro to make sure that his guests are comfortable. During the entire length of my stay there was a three-piece band, livening up the evenings in the bistro and removing any inclination to seek further entertainment in the heart of Ipoh. If you should nevertheless seek such entertainment, the heart of Ipoh is just minutes away by car (or very affordable taxi). All in all, if you are looking for hospitality and a pleasant home away fom home, I can recommend a stay at the Impiana.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel, where road noice is negligible.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear W H,

Thank you for the taking time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us at The Impiana Hotel Ipoh.

We have come a long way in the past one year and being a 26 year old iconic buildings in town, we continue to make every effort in its upgrade and preservation. Thank you also for commending our social, trendy & modern dining establishment, The Bistro, which we take pride in offering creative promotions at competitive prices.

We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh and that you particularly enjoyed the hospitality provided by the team. Here at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh, we aim to make every guests feel at home whilst away from home!

We appreciate your recommendation of us to Tripadvisor readers and look forward to welcoming you back to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh very soon.

Best regards
E-Fay and all of us at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The best 4-star hotel to stay in Ipoh. Spacious and clean, Good service. Helpful and friendly. Good landmark in Ipoh. Must check out the live band at The Bistro. Would recommend this to my family and friends. Will definitely be back for my next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leeanntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear leeanntoo,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your experience at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

Our hotel is blessed with an excellent location, only 5- 10 minutes from Ipoh city centre where the shopping centers and great eateries are located and 15 minutes away from the central train station and bus terminal.

Our dynamic band has now extended their stay until March 2013 and our happy hour is reputed to have one of the best deals in town.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh in the near future.

Best regards
E-Fay and all of us at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have been to this hotel several times and yet i reckon this is the hotel with warm hospitality. Greetings from concierge from the moment i walked into the hotel, all staff were friendly and professional. Not to mention The Bistro, which offers great food and happy hour promotion that is value for money. The hotel is well maintained but it sure need some refurbishment to polish its 4-star rating business hotel in Ipoh. Will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChoongSiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear ChoongSiu,

Greetings from Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

Thank you for your comments regarding the service that you received throughout your stay. We are very proud of our staff at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh and we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service. We take pride in excelling in our hospitality and personalized service, and should our guests need any assistance throughout their stay with us, we have Guest Service Managers available at Extension 1 that can be reached 24 hours.

Our Concierge team is reputed as the best concierge service as staff have been here for more than 20 years and are very experienced. Our hotel also provides shuttle services to our guests whenever transportation is required.

As for The Bistro; our social, trendy and modern dining establishment, we take pride in offering our diners with different promotions, and being competitive in pricing.

Many guests have commented on the vast improvements to the lobby décor, club rooms, business lounge and the poolside. Nonetheless we are making efforts in upgrading and at the same time, maintaining its heritage status as being one of the iconic building in Ipoh.

Once again, we would like to thank you for taking time to write this review and we look forward to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.9 mi away
Tower Regency Hotel
Tower Regency Hotel
#43 of 63 in Ipoh
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#6 of 63 in Ipoh
586 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
#14 of 63 in Ipoh
214 reviews
0.7 mi away
Syuen Hotel
Syuen Hotel
#31 of 63 in Ipoh
184 reviews
2.7 mi away
Symphony Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impiana Hotel Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Address: 18 Jalan Sultan Nazrin Shah, Ipoh 30250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ipoh
Price Range: $39 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Impiana Hotel Ipoh 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Impiana Hotel Ipoh is the leading business hotel in Ipoh city and preferred medium sized hotel amongst local residents, tourists and international corporate because of our commitment to high international standards of service throughout the hotel. The Impiana Hotel Ipoh, Perak is ideal for both business and leisure travelers with a business club lounge, high speed connectivity, convenience store, modern banquet facilities and great eateries to suit every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Impiana Hotel Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Casuarina Ipoh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing