We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall experience”
Review of Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Ranked #53 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overall experience”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Terrible services of the bell service. Evening shift not helpful at all.

Room temperature (Club floor) cannot be changed. Only Low - Medium - High.

Meals served not at par

Parking only located outside. No covered parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Wanedi,

Greetings from Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

Thank you for your comments with regards to your recent stay with us.

Our Concierge team have an excellent reputation but unfortunately this was not apparent during your visit. We sincerely apologize for this and will look into the matter to find out where things went wrong and if indeed we can improve in this area.

Impiana Hotel Ipoh, is an iconic building in Ipoh and has been around for 26 years, we are constantly making efforts in upgrading, such as our new refurbished Club Rooms and swimming pool. Nonetheless we are still maintaining the heritage of the building as well.

Your feedback is very important to us. We take all reviews very seriously but we do not have much information to work with. It would be much appreciated if you could consider providing me with a more detailed outline with regards to the comment of meals served. Our buffet ranges from breakfast through dinner, a la carte and set lunches not to mention our ever popular high-tea served on weekends.

We understand your disappointments on this occasion but are confident that we will have improved on the next opportunity that we have to welcome you back to The Impiana Hotel Ipoh.

Best Regards,
E-Fay, Chiam and all of us at Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    91
    114
    62
    62
See reviews for
118
73
31
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This hotel is old and distinguished. Although it has seen less glorious times under previous management, it is currently a pleasant temporary home for the business traveller.

Once you get over the dated appearance of the rooms, you will appreciate their space and practical lay-out. The rooms themselves however, are not the high point of the Impiana. Rather, it is the hospitality of its staff, ranging from the employees at the generous breakfast buffet all the way up to the general manager, who will occasionally pop into the downstairs bistro to make sure that his guests are comfortable. During the entire length of my stay there was a three-piece band, livening up the evenings in the bistro and removing any inclination to seek further entertainment in the heart of Ipoh. If you should nevertheless seek such entertainment, the heart of Ipoh is just minutes away by car (or very affordable taxi). All in all, if you are looking for hospitality and a pleasant home away fom home, I can recommend a stay at the Impiana.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the hotel, where road noice is negligible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear W H,

Thank you for the taking time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us at The Impiana Hotel Ipoh.

We have come a long way in the past one year and being a 26 year old iconic buildings in town, we continue to make every effort in its upgrade and preservation. Thank you also for commending our social, trendy & modern dining establishment, The Bistro, which we take pride in offering creative promotions at competitive prices.

We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh and that you particularly enjoyed the hospitality provided by the team. Here at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh, we aim to make every guests feel at home whilst away from home!

We appreciate your recommendation of us to Tripadvisor readers and look forward to welcoming you back to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh very soon.

Best regards
E-Fay and all of us at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The best 4-star hotel to stay in Ipoh. Spacious and clean, Good service. Helpful and friendly. Good landmark in Ipoh. Must check out the live band at The Bistro. Would recommend this to my family and friends. Will definitely be back for my next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeanntoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear leeanntoo,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your experience at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

Our hotel is blessed with an excellent location, only 5- 10 minutes from Ipoh city centre where the shopping centers and great eateries are located and 15 minutes away from the central train station and bus terminal.

Our dynamic band has now extended their stay until March 2013 and our happy hour is reputed to have one of the best deals in town.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh in the near future.

Best regards
E-Fay and all of us at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I have been to this hotel several times and yet i reckon this is the hotel with warm hospitality. Greetings from concierge from the moment i walked into the hotel, all staff were friendly and professional. Not to mention The Bistro, which offers great food and happy hour promotion that is value for money. The hotel is well maintained but it sure need some refurbishment to polish its 4-star rating business hotel in Ipoh. Will definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChoongSiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear ChoongSiu,

Greetings from Impiana Hotel Ipoh!

Thank you for your comments regarding the service that you received throughout your stay. We are very proud of our staff at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh and we constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations of service. We take pride in excelling in our hospitality and personalized service, and should our guests need any assistance throughout their stay with us, we have Guest Service Managers available at Extension 1 that can be reached 24 hours.

Our Concierge team is reputed as the best concierge service as staff have been here for more than 20 years and are very experienced. Our hotel also provides shuttle services to our guests whenever transportation is required.

As for The Bistro; our social, trendy and modern dining establishment, we take pride in offering our diners with different promotions, and being competitive in pricing.

Many guests have commented on the vast improvements to the lobby décor, club rooms, business lounge and the poolside. Nonetheless we are making efforts in upgrading and at the same time, maintaining its heritage status as being one of the iconic building in Ipoh.

Once again, we would like to thank you for taking time to write this review and we look forward to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

the hotel room is clean and. Staffs are friendly and helpful. the hotel is located in the heart of Ipoh city. easy access to all the tourist attractions. It is a fantastic stay in the hotel for 2 nights 3 days stayed. overall I give 9/10.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Carmen W,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh.

Our hotel is strategically located allowing easy accessibility to Ipoh Town. Also within 15 minutes of the Impiana Hotel Ipoh is the Ipoh Train Station and less than half hour to many limestone caves around Ipoh.

It is most pleasing to hear that we exceeded your expectations and that you had an enjoyable time with us. Your positive comments will definitely encourage all to give our best and to strive for excellence in providing the finest to our guests. We thank you for taking the time to provide the hotel feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh in the near future.

Regards
E-Fay, Chiam and all of us at The Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Staying at the Impiana is really the only choice in Ipoh if you're looking for a hotel that would meet western expectations when it comes to quality and service. The rooms are comfortable with a coffee bar (only nescafe but beggers can't be choosers, head down stairs to the coffee shop for some really great coffee). The Bistro is my favorite in-hotel dining option and is actually a pretty good restaurant, not something I would expect to find inside a hotel, the bread basket alone is worth going for, the entrees are just a plus!

When booking a room on the club floor, you gain access to the club lounge, something I would highly recommend. The rooms are better than the standard room, but the lounge adds a very nice touch to the stay. There are decent appetizers before you head out for dinner, a decent selection of drinks, and they serve a pretty good breakfast. Villa (lady that works in the club lounge) does a great job and will make sure you get everything you need and then some.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a room on the club floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyleamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear kyleamorgan,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback on your recent stay with us.

We were pleased to read that we exceeded your expectations and that you found the hospitality to be excellent. Thank you for highlighting the special service given by Ms Villa, which we will ensure is duly recognized.

Thank you for recommending us to others and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Impiana Hotel Ipoh very soon.

Best regards
E-Fay, Chiam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kluang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

got opportunity for hari raya travel with my family to Ipoh. visiting my son's nanny. booked impiana hotel online, with only rm130/ night, which is very affordable. stay at deluxe room, very spacious for our family, 1 baby, 1 toddler, my hubby and i. very polite and helpful staff. clean room and bathroom. love the shower so much..definitely will stay there again and already recommended to my family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norllinda83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E-Fay C, Guest Relations Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Dear norllinda83,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback following your recent stay at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh.

We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent stay with the family at the Impiana Hotel Ipoh and that you particularly enjoyed the hospitality provided by the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Thank you

Best Regards
E-Fay, Chiam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.9 mi away
Tower Regency Hotel
Tower Regency Hotel
#44 of 63 in Ipoh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel Ipoh
Heritage Hotel Ipoh
#48 of 63 in Ipoh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
2.7 mi away
Symphony Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
MH Hotels Ipoh
MH Hotels Ipoh
#21 of 63 in Ipoh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impiana Hotel Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Property: Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Address: 18 Jalan Sultan Nazrin Shah, Ipoh 30250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Impiana Hotel Ipoh 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Impiana Hotel Ipoh is the leading business hotel in Ipoh city and preferred medium sized hotel amongst local residents, tourists and international corporate because of our commitment to high international standards of service throughout the hotel. The Impiana Hotel Ipoh, Perak is ideal for both business and leisure travelers with a business club lounge, high speed connectivity, convenience store, modern banquet facilities and great eateries to suit every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Fastbooking, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Impiana Hotel Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Casuarina Ipoh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing