We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Impiana”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Ranked #53 of 62 Hotels in Ipoh
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love Impiana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

I am writing this review while sitting at the Club Lounge in Impiana, having a glass of fresh Orange Juice. It is an old hotel, I agree (formerly known as Casuarina) but as they say "Old Is Gold"!
The room I stayed in was clean, clean sheets, clean and neat bathroom. It was not fancy but all I ask in any hotel is cleanliness.
The Club Lounge was very good, clean, neat and friendly staff. Admittedly, the internet service is a tad bit slow but otherwise I have no complaints at all. Very good snacks and drinks served.
Checking in was a breeze. As soon as I checked in, I got a welcome drink which is quite rare in many hotels nowadays and of course more friendly staff.
I had the pleasure of meeting the PR manager and her team (Anne Das & Fay).They made me feel so welcomed and went out of their way to make my 3 days stay as comfortable as possible.
I will never stay at any other hotel other than Impiana.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sangeeta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    91
    113
    62
    61
See reviews for
118
71
31
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2012

We went to Ipoh for a business purpose. we stayed at another hotel first before changed to Impiana

First impression ; it looks very old, you feel like jumping in 80's tv show. I went there late at night to book my room, the staff were friendly. offered a welcoming tea drink.

I paid 255MYR for a twin deluxe room, i was hoping they could provide more queen size bed instead of twin bed

The room was cozy with a splendid view of range of mountain. The deco was lil bit gloomy. The bathroom is big enough.
my first week room, I got a bath tub, but during my second week, i only have a shower with the same price. so better ask for a bath tub if you like it so.
I dont like the water pressure, it's quite low, giving u the rain shower sensation i guess
the amenities were perfect, everything is included
Ask for a room that is not facing the Casuarina Centre, or u will have to listen to very loud music during the night


the breakfast was decent. western + malaysian cuisine, the room is next to swimming pool. eat outside for a pool view

the dinner buffet was good ( for the money). everything was delicous, the waiter were always smiling

after all hotel i stayed in ipoh, this is the best

Room Tip: avoid room next to casuarina entertainment centre ask for a room with bath tub or shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank yaya1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Stayed in this hotel last month during the week of Chinese New Year for 2 nights with my family (with 2 kids). Satisfactory cleanliness and service. However, I was disappointed that the wardrobe sliding door is damaged (sliding wheel of the door is broken) and the safe deposit box is not working. Bathroom is OK, with various type of shower head and a bath tub. The toiletries provided is complete, with tooth brush and tooth paste. Surprisingly, disposable shaver and shaving cream was provided as well. Another plus point, the hotel provides free wifi to all hotel guests accessible from all rooms, but the network speed could be slow at certain time.

We, especially my kids, loved the swimming pool very much. It is big enough for the crowd during the peak season and there are one kiddy pool and one jacuzzi pool. The pool water was clean and without heavy chlorine odour. I managed to spend some quality time with my kids at the pool.

The hotel concierge is friendly and helpful. We were very fortunate to be able to watch the lion and dragon dance performance at the hotel lobby on the 4th day of Chinese New Year which the dance is believed to bring good fortune to the hotel. I hope that the guests stayed at the hotel will be blessed with good fortune as well after watching the great performance.

Overall, a decent stay but there is room for further improvement.

Room Tip: Choose rooms located at higher floors if stay in the wing facing discotheque located next to the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mike_Wong75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed there during the Christmas break.

I rated it very good not because the place is really very good, but for the price I paid for the room, I guess the overall experience is considered good.

The room is a good size and clean but in need of upgrading work. Furniture functional but old and the bathtub is badly stained. Our room faces the pool, so in the night it was quiet, and we have quite a good sleep.

The location hotel is good. Just at the fringe of the town centre.

Staff there are friendly and helpful.

Stay here for the price/location.. In Ipoh, it's all about going out to eat anyway, so as long as the room is comfortable, and reasonably priced, it should be alright.

Room Tip: Choose one that faces the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZarasMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Ipoh has never been on my radar for a holiday until i discovered the Impiana Hotel, formerly the Casuarina.

The Impiana's ambience and the hotel staff are a rare find in a city where hotels are mushrooming everywhere. It just has this get away feel from the usual bustle of the city.

The PR Manager has her work cut out but obviously handles it well, and she would be one of the reasons to keep coming back apart from the quick witted General Manager (Mark).

Most city hotels are impersonal but not at the Impiana, from the Bell boys to the Management Staff have that welcoming feel.

The small shortcomings are overshadowed by the hospitality of the hotel overall and will definitely make it a point to stay at the Impiana during my often transits to other parts of the Country.

Keep it up Anne Dass, Faye and the rest and of course to the General Manager, dont loose that edge.

Tulsy

Room Tip: Rooms window facing the Race Course
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulsy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2012

Coming to Impiana was like a deja 'vu! I was reverted back many years ago where i get to meet old friends and the hotel itself gave me a sense of 'being at home' since the staff was so warm and full of courtesy especially the front office and Ms Anne Dass (PR manager). Was suppose to stay for just a night but extended it for another and everything was taken care of within a minute without any hassle. Now that is how a holiday should be spend!!! Thanks Impiana! Will definitely come back for more....

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Veronica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

ok i stay here almost for 2 MONTHS..yes this hotel is old & need lots of thing to be upgrade but overall compare to regalogde, tower regency & ritz garden, i choose impiana. the staff are totally friendly and really feel like home, u should meet en abu bakar, nizam, maya, kiran and few friendly staffs. the room service just ok because they always runs out of stock but when u ask they will try to fulfill your request. swimming pool....urm..quite dirty, u can see from your window and it close at 7pm, quite early rite. breakfast; u don't have much choices. the menu just the same everyday for 2 months i'm here but i really like the porrigde. internet; slow especially during wekend. bathroom, the bath soap smell nice, the bathroom is not really big just nice. laundry; my clothes still smell "kari" when i get it back...hahaha..so don't waste your money. please pick level 7 & above & pool view, if u are facing the road, the window is not a soundproff windows, so u can easily hear the noise.hahahaha...1 thing i really hate about this place is, i stay here almost 2 months but i haven't given any privileges to park my car near the hotel entrance; if u are driving an expensive car & u are somebody then u will get the bell boy chief attention. to all the boss in impiana, "PLEASE SMILE". i can't remember her name but every time i saw her, she hardly smile and please don't judge people by its look. only the staffs noticed i stay here almost for 2 months and the boss just know how to scold their staffs. oh ya about the room, i always have problems with the tv, no much choices and the aircond sound is terrible....but overall its just ok...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tempey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.9 mi away
Tower Regency Hotel
Tower Regency Hotel
#45 of 62 in Ipoh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel Ipoh
Heritage Hotel Ipoh
#43 of 62 in Ipoh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
2.7 mi away
Symphony Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
2.7 mi away
MH Hotels Ipoh
MH Hotels Ipoh
#20 of 62 in Ipoh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.4 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 62 in Ipoh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impiana Hotel Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Property: Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Address: 18 Jalan Sultan Nazrin Shah, Ipoh 30250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Impiana Hotel Ipoh 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Impiana Hotel Ipoh is the leading business hotel in Ipoh city and preferred medium sized hotel amongst local residents, tourists and international corporate because of our commitment to high international standards of service throughout the hotel. The Impiana Hotel Ipoh, Perak is ideal for both business and leisure travelers with a business club lounge, high speed connectivity, convenience store, modern banquet facilities and great eateries to suit every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Impiana Hotel Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Casuarina Ipoh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing