We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but cool.”
Review of Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Ranked #55 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Old but cool.”
Reviewed November 27, 2011

My family were here for just one night. It was clean and comfortable, furnishings were a bit old but the important things such as bed, bath were upgraded well.

Our room overlooks the racetracks and was real serene.

We stayed in a premier deluxe room which gave us much space in the room with a king bed. We were disappointed that there were no handtowels, floor towels. They did not provide bottle water unless you purchase from he hotel down at the bistro.

The swimming pool looked like they were not cleaned for a week. It was just a basic pool.

Parking was easy.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IamBoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    99
    118
    65
    62
See reviews for
124
74
32
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2011

the rooms all have a view , either you have the background of the limestones and the turf club or you have the city with the limestones. My room was spacious, all basic amenities were there and access to the city and shopping centers were nearby.
I had dinner at the bistro and the salmon was absolutely fantastic. The bistro is a really nice place to chill and they had wi-fi. Except for the room service which was delayed, i pretty much had a great time for the price i paid.
I recommend a poolside barbecue on weekends, would be great! Having stayed in various hotels in ipoh on my business trips, i would recommend this hotel, to any business travelers.

Room Tip: 316 was the room i stayed in... (16) view is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jameskg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

I am on holiday at the moment and have always loved coming back to Ipoh and Impiana is where I always end up staying. I was pleasantly surprised to see the newly refurbished hotel. It was as if a breath of fresh air swept thru it. I love to eat and I found the Deli absolutely delightful! Their croissant was lovely and I simply loved the shortbread cookie they serve with the coffee. It melts in the mouth. But I was so disappointed -- when they won't sell the whole jar to me :)
The PR Manager Ms Anne Das was very helpful and showed us around. (I was having a nice relaxing brunch with some expat lady friends and she cheerfully offered to show us around)
If you want authentic Malay food, the Terrace serves quite the buffet. Value for money. I haven't experienced the Bistro dining yet, and I will do so for sure.

Even the pool area is much nicer now, I can sit by the pool with a book, and get some tan, happily, undisturbed!

Being back in Ipoh has made it all worthwhile with the new look this hotel has now! Good job Impiana!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunlover2705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

stayed for a night. workers were friendly and polite. pool site were not very pleasant as i guess was under repair... the jacuzzi was not working. but i guess they should add up more variety of food for menus.. and the gym equipment were out of order, need to do something abt that..
above all the hotel is clean. great location and quiet. good enough for family vacation for a short stay

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aspn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Rooms have been refurbished, however, doors to the room can be improved as the alignment is tight, need to slam the door to be fully closed. Tv reception only good in one out of the three room, bad in rooms from 726-730 area. Swimming pool from the view looks horrendous as its moldy from the top view, resulting us not able to use the facilities. Gym is good, however a little small.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AiLinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkImpianaIpoh, General Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Dear AiLinc, Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to Ipoh. Guest feedback is always welcomed and our high score on location (4 points) and cleanliness (4 points) are useful for other travelers to note together with the confirmation of refurbishment. The Impiana has invested a great deal on improvements over the last two years but signs of an old building still remain. The pool tile stain is one of them but I can assure you that the water is clean and chlorinated daily. The TV reception does seem to fluctuate and by calling our dedicated extension 1 at any time during your stay could have resolved that. The good news is that we now carry BBC, Nickelodeon and Discovery channels which seem to be popular amongst travelers. Once again, thank you for your review and it would be great to meet with you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This is a place that is overpriced and not worth the money. We stayed when they were in the midst of renovations. They put us right on a floor where half the rooms were being refurbished. The smell of thinner was so strong that our eyes watered - despite closing the door. We asked for a change of room but there were none. The room they showed in the website was also NOT what we finally got. I understand that the hotel was in the midst of being refurbished but it should have been made clear, at the prices we were charged, the sort of rooms we were getting. Certainly for that price, it was not worth it. When we changed rooms the next day, the 'new rooms' were no better. Any refurbishment was purely cosmetic. The sliding wardrobe door even came off the rails when we tried to open it. The bathrooms were dank and mouldy. I have to say the front office executive, a Chinese guy, tried his best but from the rest of the staff, there was only indifferent service. This place is not worth the price it is trying to charge. We would never stay here again. It's not as if this was right in the heart of town either - you had to have a car in order to get into town. On subsequent visits we stayed at the Ritz Garden in Ipoh city and while this was a small 2-star place, it is much more value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chongbrood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarkImpianaIpoh, General Manager at Impiana Hotel Ipoh, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you chongbrood from Singapore for your review posted 23 October 2011. Unfortunately you stayed way back in December 2010 before any of the hotel renovation works which were completed in September 2011. I do hope that you will have the chance to visit The Impiana Hotel Ipoh soon for a whole new experience. If travelling on business please check in to our Club floor and experience all its business class benefits. If bringing the family, we have a great pool and 24 hour dining and lots of outdoor activities in Ipoh such as caving, a water theme park, white water river rafting (all year round) and great Ipoh food! See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ipoh hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I have been staying here regularly over the past two years as I travel to Ipoh on Business. Two years ago I stayed simply because it was the least bad hotel in the city ( and I tried the others!). However over recent nonths it has really improved and is now reaching an acceptable standard.
In its previous existence as the Causarina it had really reached rockbottom and haeing become the Impiana initially there was little difference. six months ago I woudn't have disagreed with the negative reports here. However some of the rooms ( 7th floor) have now been fully rather than parttially refurbished, The reception staff have been replaced by a new team who are far more professional and well-managed, the quality and presentation of the breakfast buffet has improved and recently housekeeping which was always a weak point has also got a lot better( A new manager, I guess).
A "club" class has been introduced and from my experience is worth the extra payment, Sadly the towels are still various shades of grey and the swimming pool still needs attention.
Overall it now provides an acceptable experience for an overnight leisure stay or a longer business visit.

Room Tip: Ask frot eh seventh floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlloyd2605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.9 mi away
Tower Regency Hotel
Tower Regency Hotel
#45 of 63 in Ipoh
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
#14 of 63 in Ipoh
211 reviews
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel Ipoh
Heritage Hotel Ipoh
#48 of 63 in Ipoh
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
564 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Syuen Hotel
Syuen Hotel
#29 of 63 in Ipoh
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impiana Hotel Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Property: Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Address: 18 Jalan Sultan Nazrin Shah, Ipoh 30250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Impiana Hotel Ipoh 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Impiana Hotel Ipoh is the leading business hotel in Ipoh city and preferred medium sized hotel amongst local residents, tourists and international corporate because of our commitment to high international standards of service throughout the hotel. The Impiana Hotel Ipoh, Perak is ideal for both business and leisure travelers with a business club lounge, high speed connectivity, convenience store, modern banquet facilities and great eateries to suit every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Impiana Hotel Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Casuarina Ipoh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing