We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I actually like this hotel.”
Review of Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Ranked #52 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I actually like this hotel.”
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Stayed here twice. Upon entering, I'm surprised by their impressive lobby. Hotel room is big and spacious, so is their bed! Very comfortable. We even jump on the bed, no problem at all. Bathroom is big as well. I've no problem with this hotel despite reading some bad reviews here. Didn't manage to use their swimming pool and breakfast, as there are just too many delicious food out there in Ipoh!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flora_senses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    97
    118
    65
    62
See reviews for
124
74
32
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Recently renovated but could do better. Soap dish is corroded, mould on grout and shower curtain. Hair dryer does not work, coil turned red and smoke came out. Told housekeeping and they sent maintenance to fix a stuck door. Asked for more bottled water and they sent me one but rang 3 times to ask how many bottles I got instead of sending more. Front desk staff is okay. Stain on shwet and pillowcase. Overall, good for short stay. Always request room away from the road. Staff should be better trained. But hey, if you are in Ipoh to enjoy the lovely food, there is no reason why you should be in the room for so long. Still we can say that, so far, still the best of the worst in Ipoh.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bopip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

reception staff not helpful, the seating in reception is worn and dirty, rooms on 4th and 5th floor have worn carpets and dated bathrooms with extensive mildew as the extraction fans don't work ,7th floor room passable as the bathrooms have been partially refurbished and a recent coat of paint to partially cover the mildew,towels grey and poor quality extraction not working ,decor dated and carpet worn, no housekeeping done on return to room at 4pm ,pool needs attention, drainage grills green with algae several were broken and posed a safety hazard,return booking refused to take at reception for a comparable offer on line, told to book on line, had to pay cash for meal served in room.
door staff polite, free local paper building looks impressive from the outside - don't be fooled.

Room Tip: nothing below the seventh floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank liziz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ipoh hotels

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We checked in very late at 11pm. There were a few other people in the otherwise quiet lobby. AFTER confirming our reservation AND taking payment from my credit card, the manager told us our room wasn't ready and their housekeeping is cleaning it. It was 11pm and our room was supposed to be ready by 2pm! We then realised that the other people in the lobby were similarly waiting for their rooms. We ended up waiting 45 minutes. The Japanese guest who checked in just after we did was fuming and said he will take the room uncleaned. Had the manager told us BEFORE processing payment, we would have left and stayed elsewhere.

The extra bed that we requested for wasn't in the room and we had to wait another 30 minutes for it to be delivered. It was way past midnight by the time we got to bed. The room was filthy. Mouldy shower curtain, mouldy tiles, rusty soap dishes, wardrobe doors that are jammed open, dirty curtains, dusty sheets and beds that are so old that you can feel the broken coil springs against your back. This is supposed to be a newly refurbished hotel, and the lobby is indeed impressive and new. However, about the only thing "refurbished" in the room is the LCD TV.

The manager apologised in a nonchalant manner that indicated that he's doing this because he has to, not because he sincerely feels sorry. We did not get a discount on the room but were offered free breakfast, which we didn't want anyway.

We met a friend in the hotel lobby the next morning by chance, and her room was apparently infested with coakroaches.

DEFINITELY A HOTEL TO BE AVOIDED.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ieweey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
220 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Ok I was prepared having read the reviews and bitter not to have been booked into the alternates. However my expectations were met....on arrival at the room it was rather alamring to see the toilet unflushed and adorned with a half consumed cigarette floating around (is this a non-smoking room?). The room is spacious but very tired. So tired the TV was not operating and required a screwdriver to force the plug into its socket (thanks housekeeping). The cleanliness is below average...in summary grime accumulation in corners and rather grey looking towels. I kept my socks on in the room. Food was very average. On a positive note all the staff were charming, helpful and welcoming. The internet worked effectively. The view through the (needing to be cleaned) windows out to the dramatic limestones hillswas spectacular. I was rather glad to be checking out . Given the price I probably got what I paid for!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool side (quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TechnoProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2011

This is my second visit to Impiana Hotel Ipoh with my kids, The Hotel is looking good day by day they have open a new Deli and the Coffee House is being make up to a new look. Wahooo! Buffet spread at Garden Terrace was good and at The deli my wife was enjoying her cup of Latte with and big bite of sandwich. Some of the coffee house staff remember us that was very welcoming. Over all hotel looking much better and the rooms we stayed has renovated too. I must planned my August Holiday again back to Ipoh. But this time I am going to try out the ETS The New Electeric Train that everyone is taking about it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kamp0ngB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

As a 4 star hotel, despite the good location, big comfy room and free in room wireless service, we're very disappointed to be welcomed into a room without providing towels, soaps and shampoos! We request for few times, however the room service staffs respond very late. And the breakfast is way off of our expectation.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wennitiong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.9 mi away
Tower Regency Hotel
Tower Regency Hotel
#45 of 63 in Ipoh
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
#14 of 63 in Ipoh
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Heritage Hotel Ipoh
Heritage Hotel Ipoh
#47 of 63 in Ipoh
228 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
0.7 mi away
Syuen Hotel
Syuen Hotel
#29 of 63 in Ipoh
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Impiana Hotel Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Impiana Hotel Ipoh

Property: Impiana Hotel Ipoh
Address: 18 Jalan Sultan Nazrin Shah, Ipoh 30250, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Impiana Hotel Ipoh 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Impiana Hotel Ipoh is the leading business hotel in Ipoh city and preferred medium sized hotel amongst local residents, tourists and international corporate because of our commitment to high international standards of service throughout the hotel. The Impiana Hotel Ipoh, Perak is ideal for both business and leisure travelers with a business club lounge, high speed connectivity, convenience store, modern banquet facilities and great eateries to suit every occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Impiana Hotel Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Impiana Casuarina Ipoh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing