We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome decor, amazing value. More please.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Great boutique hotel with awesome vintage decor. Comfy bed, great bathroom, can't comment on the brekkie as we left early. They think of all the important small touches like providing complimentary nibbles with your evening drink where most hotels would charge you OTT $ for a pack of peanuts from the mini-bar. We would definitely stay here again if passing through Ipoh. It would be great if they expanded and had more throughout MY.
(- it is a bit hard to find in the dark!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Will P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2014

Dear willyp1983,

The M Boutique Family shouts out over the causeway, "Howdy Neighbour! Thanks for choosing our humble home as your preferred hotel in Ipoh and for leaving us a review on Tripadvisor!". We are glad that you had enjoyed your "petite" experiences in our home as we are just a very small family. Thanks for the wishes of having more of M Boutique throughout Malaysia, but at current, we just like to think of ourselves as blessed, to have all members from our extended family (our owners, project team) that have had the faith in believing and materializing this concept.

Once again, our Extended Family thanks you for your well wishes including your comments. Rest assured, the M Boutique Family will continue to improve, where possible, on our services. Looking forward to welcoming you back to M Boutique in the near future!

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,384 - 1,390 of 1,599 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2014

I have just stayed at M Boutique last weekend with my wife. Let's start with the location, which is close to the town area but it's nowhere near enough within walking distance to any interesting places. Driving to famous eateries in old town or bean sprout chicken takes only 10 minutes at most. Forget about public transport in Ipoh.

Stepping in to the hotel you'd be sure to be impressed by its beautiful and eye catching decor. Modern retro with classic English elegance. There's a classy ( pricey) restaurant and a uniquely decorated Old Town White Coffee cafe adjoined.

I must compliment the hotel crew service who are friendly, courteous and warm. Their casual and ever smiling demeanour makes you feel your at home!

The rooms are also decorated elaborately and I believe the owners took great effort to every design and detail. My wife absolutely loved it. On the downside, the room is kind of crowded with too many bulky furnitures and ornaments. The window is partly blocked by its exterior facade and the view is nothing to about. Bathroom is nicely segmentated and space is just enough. There's a safe, mini bar, hair dryer and basic toiletries like toothbrush etc. There's no ironing board but it's not a business hotel. Overall, clean, cozy and comfortable.

I think it's a great boutique hotel with excellent service. Well, the room is a bit crowded and oh yeah.. The carpark is an open space behind the hotel. Location is neither here or there but no far from interesting places by short drive. Still, their friendly service and awesome interior will made my stay memorable. I'd come back for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shootaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Dear Shootaholic,

The M Boutique Family shouts, "Hello! Thanks for choosing our humble home as your preferred choice and for leaving us an unbiased review on Tripadvisor!". We are glad to note that you had enjoyed your experiences with us, including that of Oldtown White Coffee Grand, an Oldtown outlet that is unique in Malaysia.

The M Boutique Family tries hard to keep true to our core beliefs .... in welcoming you, our guests, like our friends to our own home. Rest assured, we will continually strive for improvements where possible and we look forward to welcoming you back again, in the near future, to M Boutique.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Good location. Helpful and friendly staff. The room is very clean and a modern style hotel. You even can have a free laundry service, gym room and internet corner with free wifi. I will choose this hotel if I go to Ipoh again. Strongly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank SILim2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear SILim2014,

The M Boutique family says, "Hello! Thanks for staying in our humble home in Ipoh and for your gracious comments on Tripadvisor!". We are glad that you had enjoyed your experiences in our small home, and your review will motivate us to improve, where possible, on our services for the benefit of all our guests.

Once again, the M Boutique Family thanks you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

The one and only hotel so far that surpasses expectations throughout my visits to malaysia. By far surpassing penang's copthorne, cameron's equatorial, ipoh's impiana and many more. Could do with better parking closer to the entrance of the hotel though.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avabot56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

Dear Avabot56,

The M Boutique Family shouts, "Hey there! Thanks for the rocking review and for choosing our humble home as your preferred choice". We also appreciate your time in leaving us a review on Tripadvisor, whilst we are glad that you had enjoyed your experiences in our home, we will continue to maintain and improve, no matter how small, our services based on all your invaluable review.

Once again, the M Boutique Family thanks you for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

This was a little pocket rocket!

On arrival at Ipoh train station, the taxi driver took a while to work out where we wanted to go but we got there in the end for RM 15 (about £3). On arrival we were told to sit down and relax whilst they checked us in. The décor is lovely. In fact when we stayed there, one night it was used for a magazine photo shoot and the next day it was being used for filming.

Our room was quite tiny but packed full of everything we needed and with free WIFI. We even had dressing gowns and slippers. The hotel also gave us free snacks every night which on arrival was most welcome as we were a little hungry. We were also provided with water which was useful on our day trips.

The toiletries were very nice and included some lovely organic soap. We had a rain shower, lovely white fluffy towels and a hairdryer. The room was very comfortable, clean and quirky. The only negative was the noise from the lift! Every time it stops it pings and it was quite loud. Fortunately people don’t use it in the wee hours and so we got some sleep; we would advise you take ear plugs to block out the annoying lift noise. We were also woken up one morning by what sounded like a pack of dogs. We discovered later in our stay that about 100m away there are about 10 dogs just wandering around near to residential property. They were fine, didn’t cause any other issues and as long as you have ear plugs, you won’t be disturbed.

There are two options for breakfast and you need to collect your breakfast vouchers from reception each day as the restaurants are open to the public (but don’t worry they do not get too busy and it’s actually nice people watching). One option is Asian and the other Continental. The Asian one is very different and so be prepared. One morning I went for the tuna sandwich platter and got tuna toasties and chips! Another day I had peanut butter on toast and a very soft boiled egg – it had literally touched the pan. My husband got to try the famous Nasi Lemak and a sort of noodle soup. You also can order hot chocolate in this restaurant which was a treat for me (you can have this hot or cold and the same applies to the tea and coffee). In the Continental restaurant, we had the equivalent of a full English which was a take on the full English and contained a little spice. We love trying all sorts of food and so really enjoyed breakfast at this hotel but if you’re not as adventurous, we would advise you stick to the Continental restaurant.

The staff are lovely. We remember Fiza from breakfast who was incredibly sweet, the reception staff were so helpful (including assisting us with arranging our trip to the Cameron Highlands) and even the security guard was lovely and helpful.

Some previous reviewers have commented on location and this will be a subjective point. However, we found a very quick cut through into town and could be there within 10 minutes. We spotted another hotel we’d looked at on our travels which was right in the centre where it was more hectic. We were actually glad to have picked this quieter location.

Loved the attention to detail, the quirkiness, the lovely staff, interesting breakfasts and location. Would certainly stay here again if we returned to Ipoh.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the lift as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taliward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear taliward,

The M Boutique Family says, "Hello! Thanks for visiting Malaysia and for making our Humble Home right here in Ipoh, your preferred choice!". We are extremely grateful to note that you had enjoyed your experiences including your in depth review right here on Tripadvisor. We have noted your comments on the elevator and will see if we can adjust the volume of the "ping" when our contractors come for their monthly maintenance.

We would also like to thank you for pointing out our Family Members personally, namely Fiza, and will be sure to pass your compliments to her. Your use of the expression, "Good Things Come In Small Packages" is one of our objectives, but we softened it to, "Be Pleasantly Surprised by the Smallest Things", which can be taken quite literally in our humble home. Yes, we are a little quirky, as we wanted to build a hotel that showcases it's personality and character, a culmination of the diverse personalities of our family members to the amenities in our rooms, a celebration of being Young & Vibrant!

In short, we want to create an attitude, exuding confidence from being the best that we can be, whilst being realistic that we will not be grand because we can never be. Hence we let our hair down in being unpretentious but sure of ourselves! That's a pretty bold statement, we think.

Once again, we thank you for your detailed experiences in our humble home, in Ipoh, and do look forward to welcoming you back, with open arms, the next time you decide to visit Malaysia.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

9.5/10 stars. Good and true to pictures of the hotel ambience and experience. Personalized and true attentive service. Lots of details in the room amenities that includes design of the room, toiletries and even coffee and water!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank VictorLeeJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Dear VictorLeeJW,

The M Boutique Family says, "Hello! Thanks for visiting Malaysia, and for choosing our Humble Home in Ipoh, Malaysia!". We are grateful that you had enjoyed your experience with us, and for giving us a very high rating out of 10, which we are humbled. At M Boutique, we always strive to maintain our Family Culture, and we never expected such ratings, as this is our Home, and you our friend coming over to visit us in Malaysia.

Rest assured, we will continue to try and improve, where possible and look forward to welcoming you back to M Boutique in the near future.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Staffs are really nice and helpful. Very stylish hotel with some antique feeling cross over with modern style. I have to say the shower gel, shampoo & conditioner are very good, but they don't have any for retail.
We booked the room with breakfast included and it taste great! Room was very cozy & clean with England style decoration. Bathroom was cleaned too!
This hotel was grand opened in Jan-2014, very new and stylish, you will be impressed by the atmosphere when you walk into it.
I will definitely stay in this hotel if I go to Ipoh again!
Date stayed: from 26-Mar to 27-Mar,2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lovetravel_ChaNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Dear Lovetravel_ChaNN,

The Family at M Boutique says, "Hello! Welcome to Malaysia and thanks for staying in our Humble Home!". We are also delighted to have your review on Tripadvisor, be it bad or good, as we take all comments as an invaluable benchmark to improve, no matter how small. At M Boutique, we do take great pride in ensuring all our products are hand picked, and many guests do like our Shower Gel and Shampoo. We do have plans to make it available in M Shop, but we do need to change the current bottles as it does not meet to our expectations for sale at current. Quality Craftsmanship is one of our main concerns.

Once again, we thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back to M Boutique in the near future.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
1 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#6 of 63 in Ipoh
630 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
639 reviews
2.9 mi away
M Boutique Station 18
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
0.6 mi away
Bedrock Hotel, Ipoh
Bedrock Hotel, Ipoh
#3 of 63 in Ipoh
72 reviews
2.5 mi away
M Roof Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh

Address: 2 Hala Datuk 5, Ipoh 31650, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range: $46 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be pleasantly surprised by the smallest things. At M Boutique, stylized compact is the new signature in Ipoh! Through an inspiring fusion of Malaysia's Colonial past and modern contemporary decor, come partake in our 93 urban chic rooms, where every detail has been meticulously hand crafted; from plush down pillows, waffle weave slippers to our blissful beds. Home has never been this comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing