We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely designed hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nicely designed hotel”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed 2 nights from 18th to 20th December 2013 - hotel was still in its soft opening phase - in Premium Twin Room on 2nd floor. Booked through hotel's own website which had the best rate with breakfast included.

Location
Hotel is located in a newly developed shophouse terrace. Its slightly out of the way from the centre of old Ipoh, on the other side of the Kinta River. However Ipoh's not a big town, so everything is still within 10 to 15 minutes drive. While we were there, Ipoh traffic was fine and there's parking spaces right outside the hotel.

Room
Premium twin room is small with just enough room to around the 2 beds, however it is very nicely designed, with all mod cons : TV, fridge, kettle, safe. The mattresses are extremely comfortable and the full height windows behind the brick screen are soundproofed, so room is quiet even though it faces a fairly major road. Bathroom is bright and modern with rain shower head and nice bath products. Sachets of 'Old Town White Coffee' tea and coffee powder are provided. Ordinary tea bags and coffee would have been appreciated.

Breakfast
An Old Town White Coffee is attached to the hotel. The breakfast voucher can be redeemed here or at the hotel's Myth Eatery - although, during our stay the Myth Eatery had not yet opened. The breakfast voucher menu at Old Town White Coffee is very limited and consists entirely of full blown Malaysian breakfast meals : nasi lemak, noodles, paratha, etc. plus Ipoh coffee or tea. You cannot have a piece of toast. So we ordered of the tea from the voucher menu and kaya toast from the a la carte menu (which we paid for). However the waitress wouldn't let us just have the tea and was insistent that we order food which we didn't want. We eventually gave in and got nasi lemak takeaway which we gave to the hotel reception staff. With the opening of the hotel's own eatery, the breakfast situation might have since improved.

Staff
Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. When we couldn't figure out the room safe, someone came up immediately and sorted it out. For restaurant staff - see above.

Oddity
The hotel is branded throughout with the Monocle magazine 'M' logo. And the very nice hotel shop in the lobby is full of Monocle-esque things you can buy, also branded with the Monocle 'M' logo. Why ? They surely have nothing to do with each other.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WideWorldWide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear WideWorldWide,

Hi! The team at M Boutique would like to thank you for taking the time in providing us an unbiased review on Tripadvisor! We are happy to note that you had enjoyed your stay in our humble home. We have also noted your comments on Oldtown Signature, and though it is not under the Hotel's purview, we do give feedback and have periodic meetings with them on issues affecting our Guests.

At M Boutique, we always try to be as upfront as possible and yes, we are still in our soft opening stages, as we have been tweaking much of the hotel hardware and software based on all your invaluable feedback. We hope to complete the entire project by end January and hope to welcome you back to M Boutique in the near future.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    693
    174
    27
    12
See reviews for
350
551
85
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (285)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I stayed in The Cabin with my husband and my little girl. Just nice if your toddler is less than 2yo. No extra charges. Room is without windows but it doesn't matter as the room itself is already a view! I fell in love with the decor and ambiance. It feels like I've entered to another realm. Staffs are very friendly and there's a shop where you can buy their merchandise. I was hoping to try their restaurant, Myth Eatery & Bar. But they just opened and no breakfast was served yet. Can opt to the Old Town Coffee Cafe next door. Or there is a Chinese hawker place down the road. If you are looking for the famous Ipoh food, you need to drive out. Overall, I love to stay again here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nicole_NgSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Nicole_NgSM,

Hello! On behalf of the team at M Boutique, we would like to thank you for your words of encouragement and for taking the time to provide us a review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to note that you had enjoyed your stay with us and we will continually strive to improve on our services.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to M Boutique in the near future.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

For me, d lobby is attractive ,but sad to said that d anti sound is poor,i can heard from next door sometimes.air cond is too cold n sound of machinery can be heard. frankly i like d artistic of d hotel a lots.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Angeline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Angeline P,

Hello! On behalf of the Team at M Boutique, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write us an unbiased review on Tripadvisor. We would like to extend our apologies as our hotel did not meet up to your expectations. We have read your comments, and understand your predicament, and will try to resolve the matter of sound proofing in the hotel. As our property uses a lot of wood including being encased in full concrete/bricks, it is highly plausible that sounds can be amplified. As always, we at M Boutique will remain committed in finding possible solutions to reduce sound amplification.

With regards to the air conditioning, we are in the process of rectifying the machine noises and expect to complete this exercise by end January 2014.

Once again, we thank you for your review and hope to be able to welcome you back to M Boutique once we have rectified these issues as we treasure all your invaluable feedback.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Very nice and new hotel in town.
Everything in the hotel is very nicely decorated.
Comfortable bed, very clean bathroom and they even have 2in 1 black coffee, some peanuts served when we checked in.
Service is worldclass.
Wonder is it bcoz conincident, i checked in the wifi is weak, after back from dinner, the wifi signal full bar, i realise they just set up another new router on the floor.
They even have gym, although still renovating, i would say this is very good effort.

Pros,
Good service
Fantastic breakfast
Downstair of the hotel, they have "signature" old town white coffee, total different concept of conventional old town cafe.
Opposite have local coffee shop for breakfast
Comfortable room
Gym

Cons,
Weak signal(im staying in room 130), digi, maxis all gone.
Relatively small room, i checked in the superior room.
New place, which u might need apps to locate it (Waze, super helpful)

Hope this is helpful

Room Tip: Room 130,digi and maxis line is totally off. Can check whether they have improved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Adrian Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Adrian Y,

Season's Greetings! The team at M Boutique would like to thank you for taking the time to review our Humble Home here in Ipoh, Perak on Tripadvisor. We are happy to note that you enjoyed your stay and also glad that you noted we had improved upon our Wi Fi signals in the hotel. In actual fact, we had just changed our Wi Fi systems so that all guests only need to log in once, and it does not auto cut anymore, based on all your invaluable comments here on Tripadvisor.

With regards to the apps that point to our geo loaction, well, you are right to say Waze, cause it picked us up very quickly ... as to Google Maps, well, they pinned us in the wrong location (but it is extremely close) and we have tried almost everything, including support from Google itself ... and what do you know, Google Map Maker (the last option from Google!) is not available in Malaysia. That being said, we are still continually looking to resolve this issue including relocating the our hotel pin on Tripadvisor (an other sites) itself!

Yes, in our Superior Rooms, we have noted the weak signal from Telco providers Digi and Maxis and we will be in touch with them to see how best we can resolve the issue, as we are a new development and perhaps another beaming tower nearby can possibly resolve this issue.

Once again, the team at M Boutique would like to thank you for your comments and rest assured, we will continually strive for further improvements on our facilities and services. Looking forward to welcoming you back to M Boutique in the near future!

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

Interior design - extravagant and reminiscent of a New York loft, but that's the way I like it. A truly pleasant change of scene for a short getaway.
Rooms - we had 1 suite and 2 premier rooms (NY-size ie small). In the suite, the aircon was blowing directly at my bed, spluttering water droplets every now and then. I would have preferred a less firm bed. The wooden platform on which the bed rests can be dangerous...I tripped over several times. The extra living room area was great. Bathroom soap and shampoo had a pleasant verbena scent, though they could have been more generous and given 2 sets. Oh, please stock up tissue and toilet paper too! My mum says her pillows smelt unpleasant.
Cleanliness - housekeeping never came despite several reminders, so our room never got cleaned. Teething problems with full occupancy perhaps? Floor was dirty, so fortunately bedroom slippers were provided (I hope these were not recycled!).
Location - on the edge of Ipoh new town with lots of free parking outside the hotel. But absolutely nothing noteworthy in the vicinity.
Breakfast - Dec rates came with a breakfast deal at the Old Town White Coffee chain adjoining the hotel. Great for foreigners but not terribly exciting for Malaysians familiar with this chain. The rustic hotel cafe had a soft opening but opening hours were intermittent, so we never had a chance to try the food there.
Wifi - excellent!
Overall - great potential once they fix the shortcomings.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BigMamaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear BigMamaAK.

Hello! First and foremost, the team at M Boutique Hotel would like to thank you for providing us an unbiased review on Tripadvisor. We have been humbled by your comments but happy to note you pointed out the NY Loft inspired design elements!

As to the air conditioning, we have noted this from previous comments and have put in an order with our vendors for new fan motors (as many rooms are using concealed blowers with a motor that runs at high RPM - revolutions per minute) and new adjustable louvers so we can adjust the direction of the wind. This exercise should be complete by the end of January as we have been caught in between the festive and school holidays.

With regards to the cleaning of your room, is our belief that all our guests are guests of our own home, and despite the high occupancy situation, it is not an acceptable excuse for us to not clean the room. I will personally look into the matter to ensure that this does not happen again, as we take this matter seriously.

We have also noted your comments on the Bathroom Amenities, and will look into the matter. Please note that we do not recycle our bathroom slippers. For Pillows, we are in fact using dual density pillows, namely hollow poly fiber and duck feather pillows in the rooms. We suspect it is the duck feather pillows that your mother complained about, as it does give off a little odor as it is, after all, duck feathers but will likely dissipate after a couple more weeks.

Once again, we thank you for your comments and for also pointing out areas which we can improve upon, and rest assured, the team at M Boutique is motivated to continually improve on our services. Looking forward to welcoming you back to M Boutique in the near future!

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Check in hotel for one nite to break our journey back from thailand.
Book hotel from external website. Same price as it's website but external website provide breakfast.
Very nice and new hotel. Reception friendly and checking in was fast.
Deluxe room come with queen size bed.
My daughters room was twin size bed combined together. Bigger than queen size bed. Room have got a sofa too. Was a extremely comfy stay for 4 of us. We took many many photos in every corner of the hotel.
Surroundings of hotel was a minus point though. More of a industrial area. We drove, so not a big problem for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angsana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Angsana,

Greetings and thanks for stopping by M Boutique for a stay over! On behalf of all of us at M Boutique, we would like to thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to review our humble home on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to note that you had enjoyed your stay in our Hotel, and we will continually strive for improvements in our Hotel to better serve all our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to M Boutique in the near future!

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

it was a great stay at the hotel, there are few reasons why i will be staying there again :

1) Guest-friendly staffs
> besides warmest welcome, even through-phone step-by-step direction guiding
2) Outstanding lobby-design
> the lobby design was fantastic with antique and boutique concept
3) Amazing room design and cleanliness
> the room is designed with my favorite black-white concept. Very comfortable, facilities are provided comprehensively and is well-maintained, clean and neat. More importantly, the entire hotel is a "non-smoking" hotel.

The only thing to improve is the key-card issuance was only 1 and it is inconvenient for part of the guests to get off while keep the room utility supply on.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stvkoay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mboutiqueipoh, General Manager at M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Stvkoay,

Hello! Firstly, we would like to thank you for providing us an unbiased review of M Boutique on Tripadvisor. It is our core belief at M Boutique to welcome everyone to our humble Home right here in Ipoh, like one inviting one's friend to your own home, and hope that this message had come across when you had stayed with us.

We had also noted your comments on the issuance of Key Cards, and would like to inform you that we do actually issue additional key cards upon request but we will look into the matter that you had so kindly brought up.

Once again, we thank you for your feedback and we will be encouraged to continue improving on our services. Looking forward to welcoming you back to M Boutique in the near future.

Cheers,

Lloyd Gan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
1.0 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
546 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#4 of 63 in Ipoh
611 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
M Boutique Station 18
1.5 mi away
Ipoh Bali Hotel
Ipoh Bali Hotel
#9 of 63 in Ipoh
108 reviews
0.6 mi away
MU Hotel
MU Hotel
#7 of 63 in Ipoh
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh

Property: M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
Address: 2 Hala Datuk 5, Ipoh 31650, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be pleasantly surprised by the smallest things. At M Boutique, stylized compact is the new signature in Ipoh! Through an inspiring fusion of Malaysia's Colonial past and modern contemporary decor, come partake in our 93 urban chic rooms, where every detail has been meticulously hand crafted; from plush down pillows, waffle weave slippers to our blissful beds. Home has never been this comfortable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing