We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish in Ipoh”

Healy Mac's Irish Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 578 Restaurants in Ipoh
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, International, Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A family owned business established in Ireland, at a place known as “Cork” in 1845 and till today runs the 2 outlet by its family members. It has been a local bar for the famous actor Oliver Reed. Healy Mac’s is the first of its kind, establishing its foothold in Malaysia in 2009, a multi-cultured country in the Asia region. Healy Mac’s Irish Bar and Restaurant provides the best Irish conceptualized ambience with a feel of comfort and satisfaction. The authentic Irish atmosphere experience designed by the Irish family members prides them by being and giving the best in drinks and food to its friend, the “Asian Region”. The family owned business aim is being a local Irish concept provider, with more than 20 years of experience in the Irish Bar.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Walking through the colonial areas of Ipoh through the Chinese area and what do we see but an Irish bar. So for a change we decided to eat there. It was good food served with a smile and was just what we needed. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience and if you don't fancy one of the wonderful Chinese, Malay or other Asian food tastes this is a good place to find western food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam H, Owner at Healy Mac's Irish Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hi Peter,
Thank you so much for your review. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your meal in our bar and found it to be a good spot to get a good Western meal although we do serve some local dishes too which are very popular. Glad to hear you enjoyed your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

167 - 171 of 193 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

We had never been to an Irish Bar before, so we were not too sure what to expect. It was really good, busy and buzzing with activity. Apart from the screens showing football and music videos there was a live band that all added to the atmosphere.The staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate a large Hawaiin Pizza, which we found was really good but too much for the 2 of us!! They were very busy and service was a bit slow 40 mins from order to serving but we were quite happy enjoying "watching the world go by" We also enjoyed the large glasses of Tiger Beer. It was more expensive than the local restaurants, but worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JSGARTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam H, Owner at Healy Mac's Irish Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Hello there,
Thank you so much for your review. I'm delighted to hear this was your first time in an Irish bar and I hope it rubbed off on you! Thank you for your comments on our atmosphere and could enjoy the live band, music videos and sports. Our pizza is a speciality of ours with all of our ingredients coming fresh from Italy. I apologize for the slow service, when it is busy this is sometimes a problem. We hope you'll visit again and enjoy your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The place is great for a night out with friends as they serve a variety of beers and cocktails in reasonable price. Food wise I really like their feta cheese salad. They serves nice pizzas and also plenty of choices for snacks. Love the bread pudding alot. Jerry is a great manager, friendly and attentive. Most of the staffs are attentive, even if the place is packed they still respond pretty
fast. The area is pretty safe for ladies as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank karenosl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam H, Owner at Healy Mac's Irish Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Hi there,
I appreciate you taking your time to write this. I am happy to hear this is where you come to socialize with your friends and that you all enjoy your time here! Our feta cheese salad and pizzas are popular and I am glad you tried these. Thank you for your compliments on our staff, I am happy to hear you are well looked after. It's a pleasure serving you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

great food & service happy hour 2-8 daily ,brilliant value , Buckets of tiger , pizza , liqueur coffee ,a very good pub

1  Thank craig m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam H, Owner at Healy Mac's Irish Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Hi Craig,
Thanks a lot for your review. I am happy you appreciated our service and all we have to offer. It was a pleasure to serve you. Please visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

the pork knockle is excellent cook but in terms of size it is probably too huge for 2 people. cabbage is pan fried with butter, not a german style. do they really eat cabbages this way in ireland ?pork ribs, i do not like it.

Thank travel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liam H, Owner at Healy Mac's Irish Bar and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Hi there,
I greatly appreciate you taking some time to write this. I am glad you enjoyed our pork knuckle and cabbage. Yes this is how we eat cabbage in Ireland! I am sorry it was not in German style and that our ribs were a let down. We hope you will visit again so we can fix this for you. Thanks for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Healy Mac's Irish Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Healy Mac's Irish Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing