We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Symphony Suites Hotel
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Value for money”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This hotel was still very new when I stayed there for a night. Basic amenities are available. There's a small living area that's separated from the bedroom with a kitchenette but with no cooking facilities. However, coffee & tea are available. Rooms are nice and comfortable but the bed sheets smell like it was just taken out from the store room. The location was ok, not in the middle of the town but since Ipoh is not a big town, travelling around wasn't an issue. There's some shop row next to the hotel but as the area was still quite new, most shop are vacant, so it was still comfortably quiet. Buffet breakfast are provided, nothing fancy but there's enough choice for a basic breakfast. Overall, it's a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlyBran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    69
    19
    4
    3
See reviews for
42
27
3
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Hi fellow travellers,

Wow, this the first time that I am reviewing a trip solely for business purpose. My expectation is very simple as it is not for pleasure but for convenience. FYI, my main mode of reservation would be via agoda, booking.com and the likes. There's a few promoting this hotel but sadly most would offer just rooms without breakfast offer. I find this quite inconvenient esp if you are travelling for business. For booking.com for instance, only the executive rooms are offered with breakfast deal. I noted that the hotel website itself offers in its "sale" option with breakfast but that the rate offered makes it more expensive than that for Impiana Hotel Ipoh which has great breakfast selection (Impiana is considered THE hotel still in Ipoh..old but still "4" star quality) as Impiana is located in a more centralised location with swimming pool etc.

Enough ranting about breakfast, but really the management should be more welcoming to business community. As for rooms, I have only tried the standard room which I do like the deco. However, my husband (who's been there for the past 2 weeks before this and was upgraded to its deluxe room due to unavailability of the std room booked) mentioned that the deluxe room is great, spacious and comfortable.

Location, only a local like me (it is my hometown) or those with businesses nearby would appreciate this location. It is not centralised though it is facing a very busy main road which accessible straight to the town centre.

One plus point which lacking in many hotels in Ipoh its perfect carpark facilities..either on site of on the second level. Great for business people with lots of thing to carry. Thumbs up. Service is good so far too..

Room Tip: If you want ease of working, try out the NON standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImaMohamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed in a Deluxe Suite King room for 3 nights. The room was bright and spacious. There was a separate living/ writing area from the bed room, with a wall-to-ceiling window. Our mini bar came with 2 cans of complimentary drink per stay- a pleasant surprise. The bathroom was very clean. It has a rain shower (no bathtub) and a complete range of amenities. There was also a safety box in the room. TV channels available are CNBC, FOX, Astro Chinese, NHK, and a few local channels. I requested for an iron and ironing board and they were brought to me almost immediately- thumbs up for the housekeeping team.

The only downside was: WIFI in the room was very weak. I could only get connected 50% of the time.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlion42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tokyo
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

new 3-star hotel with basic facilities all you need for travel. staff are very friendly. though it is not in city center, it is really quiet and splendid scene view. hard to turn on desk lamp, too bad. expect a good sleep. no massage services.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Totally out of Ipoh.....Otwerwise the hotel is clean and basic facilities.
Buffet was good. Opposite the hotel, there this tourist spot the Chinese Cave, pomelo stalls. Staff is nice and friendly..Nothing much to do except a busy street......

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarinaK2876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a pleasant stay in this hotel yesterday...Check in around 12pm and the staffs were extremely polite...Room was indeed clean and had all the facilities that we needed include a safety box,mini fridge and hair dryer...But had the most embarrased moment in my life during checkout...I had accidently pack my dirty laundries with their hotel's face towel...So during checking out the staff told us about a missing face towel...Immediately we check out bags and i found it packed together with my dirty cloths...Felt so shamed...
And then when i reach Tapah,i notice i left my sweater at their hotel,so i called up to confirm and they told me they tried calling me regarding this matter but can't get through...And they kept it until i called up my friend in Ipoh to collect it for me...Will be coming back Ipoh for visiting my friends but not sure if i'll be back here...This has nothing todo with the hotel...it's just my mistake and felt shamed...Overall...this is the best hotel in Ipoh so far!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Very new, nice sheets & bed linen (nicer than those found in many hotels costing much much more), free wifi, ample parking. Quality of construction materials is cheap & cheerful, but they try to disguise it with varying degrees of success. We had a deluxe suite, which came with a separate living room with 2 cheap looking sofas, small kitchenette & 2 bathrooms. 1 TV facing the bed and another in the living room. Limited channels. Wall mounted soap & shampoo dispenser in the shower, toothbrush kit provided. Rain shower pressure slightly low but acceptable. Air conditioning in the room not powerful enough, but again acceptable.

Small simple lobby. Lobby smells slightly unpleasant from the food in the adjoining restaurant. The bar is a pathetic row of 6 bar stools at a corner in the lobby. They only serve half chilled beer, no wine yet.

Great for business trips or family getaways. All boils down to your expectations- if you're after a luxurious place for a romantic getaway, you may be disappointed. But if you're after something clean, decent and no frills, you will be pleasantly surprised.

I'm a fussy traveler, but will return despite the few shortcomings. I've stayed in many other hotels in Ipoh- Impiana (AVOID AT ALL COSTS), Syuen, Heritage etc, and I will definitely choose this over the others.

Room Tip: Apparently there are no interconnected rooms in this hotel. Do ask prior if this is important to you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ieweey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
3.1 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
564 reviews
3.6 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#3 of 63 in Ipoh
621 reviews
3.3 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
2.9 mi away
M Boutique Station 18
3.4 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
#14 of 63 in Ipoh
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Symphony Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Symphony Suites Hotel

Property: Symphony Suites Hotel
Address: 41 Jalan Lapanganterbang | Jalan Lapangan Symphony, Ipoh 31350, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Symphony Suites Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Symphony Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing