We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not a good sleep quality”
Review of Le Metrotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Metrotel
Ranked #4 of 83 Ipoh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

This is not my first choice, but base on the location I last minute get the room from agoda.com. RM 110 per night for a king size bed. The room was too small, bad quality pillow, n bit noisy at night ( coz the hotel is just located side by the main road and unfortunately our room is facing the road), terrible soundproofing wall n door! People talking, walking, staff cleaning ALL the sound disturbing me from early morning. Value of the priced is ONLY pay for the perfect location, all the famous food are just within walking distance. FREE WIFI. FREE PARKING behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the room which not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ng b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le M, Front Office Manager at Le Metrotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Hi there Beeting,

Thank you for staying with us. It's sad to know that you had a bad sleep in our hotel but our hotel are located in the city center. More or less would be a little noise. Furthermore, we had already upgraded our quality of pillow!

Thank you and hope to see you soon!

Brandon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 145 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

We booked two standard room for one night stay. The location is undoubtly the best in New Town. All good food is merely steps away from the hotel. The room, albeit small is clean and new. The staffs are friendly and good at remmendations on where to buy good pastries.

Eventhough the hotel is listed as B&B in TA, i felt that it looks like a 3 star hotel. The hotel is wired with camera on every floor and internet and parking is free.

Would i stay here again? A definite yes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacqwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Le Metrotel is a new budget hotel in a great location because lot of famous foods (such as chicken rice, kaya puff & tau fu fah) surrounding at that area by walking distance. The staffs are friendly and the room is clean but the room size too small. If most of the time you are outside then should be no issue on this. I’m ok with this because only stay one night at Ipoh. But, the place was a bit noisy during night time – could clearly hear the car pass by quite frequent and this make me can’t sleep well at night. I’m very sensitive with sound during sleeping time, so if you are ok with this then just go for this hotel since overall quite ok and the price was very reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mandy0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

good of it - new, clean, and friendly workers
bad of it - the room is kinda small..only fit for 2 person
most of all the best is their security with cctv monitoring at the reception, is a very safe hotel indeed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellenysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Le Metrotel offers clean and comfortable rooms in a great location. I'm pleased surprised by its cleanliness, reasonably large room and proximity to various attractions. It is located at the Ipoh town, which is the best location for food trip! Ipoh famous chicken rice and ngar choi gai are just few minutes walking distance from the hotel. The friendly staff had provided a lot of information about the famous food in Ipoh. The price is affordable and definitely worth it. Also, there's also thai massage service available. Will surely stay here again, a great place indeed!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ehew23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

What more could I ask for the price? Not expensive and as other reviews had mentioned the hotel is in the middle of all the most famous eateries in ipoh. The workers and boss are so friendly. They actually drove my family and I to have breakfast and after that to the train station. Highly recommended hotel :)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Briancheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a excellent place to stay in IPOH town. It is at the best location for food trip. The famous chicken rice, salted chicken, curry hor fun and much more is located within walking distance.
The room is clean, got comfy bed to rest. Everything is great except the electric outlet is very close to the mirror that it is hard to charge my phone, as the charger usb port of my charger is facing upward like those samsung or htc charger, however if the usb charger port facing elsewhere like iphone, there will be no problem else just bring an adapter.
The hotel got water dispenser on the 1st floor, unlike other hotels, this makes my trip super pleasant as I drink lots of water.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, will help if asked.

Super recommended to stay here.

Room Tip: Bring an electric out adapter if you using samsung or htc charger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alvin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.2 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
649 reviews
0.6 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
0.5 mi away
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
#12 of 63 in Ipoh
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Seemsoon Hotel
Seemsoon Hotel
#28 of 63 in Ipoh
104 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#41 of 63 in Ipoh
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ipoh Boutique Hotel
Ipoh Boutique Hotel
#34 of 63 in Ipoh
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Metrotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Metrotel

Address: 26-8 Jalan Theatre, Ipoh 30300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Ipoh
Price Range: $27 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Metrotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern hotel, conveniently located in the bustling tourist hub of Ipoh City and right in the heart of Ipoh's famous food district. Famous eateries noted for their beansprouts chicken, chicken rice and baked salted chicken are just a stone's throw away from the hotel. Famous traditional biscuit shops and a popular shop for soya bean drink and tofu curd dessert are just 5 minute walk. Shopping centres, night spots, UTC Perak (government agencies One Stop Centre) and the nightly street market are all within short walking distance. Hotel Le Metrotel could not be better located for those who wish to explore Ipoh City and to savour the famous food and sights Ipoh has to offer. Hotel Le Metrotel with its strategic location is a perfect choice for both leisure and business travelers looking for convenient and great value stays in the heart of the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Metrotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing