We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Decent, Clean & Good Customer Service Budget Hotel”
Review of i Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
i Garden Hotel
Ranked #52 of 81 Ipoh B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 2, 2014

This was the 1st time i booked a hotel in Ipoh, Malaysia and after reading some comments
from Trip Advisor, i plan to check out this hotel which is entirely a bungalow with decent ground size. I book a Premier Deluxe as they inform that Deluxe has been sold out. So the pros and cons of this hotel:

Pros:
1. Their staff is very helpful but not very attentive. Example, need to request them for specific things like when raining, i need to request for umbrella, then only they come rushing out with their spare umbrella. But other than that, their service is quite good.
2. Location is also good - It is just a stone away from Ipoh shopping mall - Jusco.
3. Parking - There is ample parking with covered car park. I was expecting own personal garage as indicated in the website but i think those were for moe expensive room. But no sweat for me, much easier than finding carpark in a hotel carpark.
4. Quiet environment during the night
5. Room is spacious and bathroom is also spacious. Rainwater shower is good and strong pressure.
6. Gave me an extra newspaper in the morning. Good & flexibility.

Cons:
1. Need to place a cash deposit even after made payment to the hotel via bank transaction.
2. Due to room spacious, the air-condition needs longer time to cool the room. As the room air--condition unit is not centralize, the air condition unit HP is not fast enough to cool the room down. Also, the air-condition unit is not facing towards your bed, so double hot.
3. Certain edges of the bathroom has dirty stain and algae.
4. Bathroom water not flowing fast enough, so during bathing -- your area will be flooded.
5. Room not sound-proof. Can hear other room occupants turn on/off their TV during the wee hours of the morning like 2~4am. Also since it is a double storey bungalow, can hear bikers and motorist roaring on the road.

So, with the pros and cons highlighted, i can say that it is a decent hotel with basic items required for a night's stay. Room is big and not too bad. Will i stay again? Hmm.... perhaps.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yeap76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 17 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Me and my family spent a night in I garden hotel when we went to Ipoh all the way from jb to celebrate my grandma's birthday. I reserved a premier deluxe suite for a reasonable price. The service and cleanliness of the hotel is excellent and should be praised. They also have a beautiful balinese style garden. No breakfast will be provided but we simply settled it by eating nice Ipoh local food nearby. I strongly recommend this hotel as most of the hotels in Ipoh are old and need to be refurbished.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annettecool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The location was good, easy to access.
The services of staff was good as well, with smile always on and helpful.
The room was well design which is unexpected, with a welcoming flower on bed.
The room was clean, space was enough for us.
They have a little garden cafe with a few tables around, looks nice but I not trying it.

The only things that need to improve should be the roof outside, I can see the roof structure but there are no covered yet. It might be a problem when raining.

Room Tip: Can choose a double bed room, I think there are an private attached car garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tobypoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed in i Garden Hotel in August last year for business + leisure trip. The hotel itself is fairly new and set up in a bungalow rather than conventional hotel building. The check in process was smooth. Our room has a big king size bed, with ample spacing. I have to say that the staff are all very friendly and helpful. There were times when we went out and it was raining, one of the staff would bring an umbrella to fetch you from your car to the hotel. At the time of my stay, there were no restaurant yet or cafe but according to the floor staff, it is in the process of renovation. All and all I am satisfied with the service and would recommend this hotel to anyone. Just to mention that the hotel itself is not in the city center, it will take around 5 minutes by car to Ipoh town. The hotel itself is about 10 minutes walk from Pantai Hospital Ipoh.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keysersozei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

situated in an old part of Ipoh, very quiet and green. I love the concept giving private entrance to guests, large room space and bath area.

The staff are ever so friendly and competent. Willing to lend a hand without asking like as soon as we came in, it was a rainy night, a heavy down pour, already the staff, at least two of them were standing by with umbrella. Then came the third person, the security guard too. excellent service.

Room Tip: use Agoda or try to call for promotional rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ezhamk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.3 mi away
S Boutuique Hotel
S Boutuique Hotel
#44 of 63 in Ipoh
13 reviews
2.8 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
1.2 mi away
Art Cottage Hotel
Art Cottage Hotel
#10 of 81 in Ipoh
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tulip Hotel
Tulip Hotel
#17 of 81 in Ipoh
15 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
3.4 mi away
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to i Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about i Garden Hotel

Address: No. 97, Jalan Raja Hilir, Ipoh 30350, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Ipoh
Price Range: $27 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — i Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your i Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing