We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unaceptable surrounding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Osborne Apartments
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Ipoh
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unaceptable surrounding”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family and I booked the 3-room apartment, scheduled for 21-22 December 2013. However, upon our arrival, we were shocked to see the surrounding; old shop lots and night pub. We couldn't find a parking spot near the shoplot "apartment" as it is a public carpark and they do not provide designated or private carpark for their patrons. My family discussed amongst ourselves if this is where we really want to spend our weekend at and we foresee inconveniences because of our children and cars parked in an unattended public area. Moving forward, we decided to cancel the booking and stay elsewhere. We called the apartment and spoke to the receptionist. She couldn't make any decision if they will still charge us as her manager is currently on leave. We received a notification on Sunday that they have charged us for the 3-room apartment (RM398) and our cancellation reason was not acceptable. We spoke to Christy, the Hotel Manager and she feedback that she couldn't do anything as it is her bosses decision. Honestly, RM398 for such location is totally unacceptable so my genuine advice is to stay somewhere else if you are travelling with family and children. It was a good lesson for my family and we will never trust or opt for such apartment concept ever again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkKSLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOsborneApartments, Public Relations Manager at The Osborne Apartments, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear MarkKSLaw, Thank you for your feedback and my sincere apology for the inconvenient caused. And the standard hotel cancellation policy stated clearly in our website's booking page that the cancellation received within 7 days prior to arrival will incur the first night charge.We are deeply sorry for the unpleasant feeling that you felt and we will definitely look into our flaws and mistakes of our hotel and improve it because our guest's satisfaction is our top priority. I sincerely hope that this unpleasant experience will not deter you from patronizing The Osborne Apartment again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    35
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
46
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Selangor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

It's a very clean place located strategically around several restaurants and also nearby Lost World of Tambun (10KM). However I could only think of one rude receptionist whom ruined my whole trip to Ipoh. Even the night security guard was more polite than her made me look forward to night than having to face the receptionist during the day. Please take note that this apartment is not convenient for elderly folks.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Logi5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOsborneApartments, Public Relations Manager at The Osborne Apartments, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Logi5 , Thank you very much for taking your time to share your recent stay experience with us at The Osborne Apartments. I would like to extend my sincerest apology for the inconvenience caused regarding the rude experience you have encountered .Your highlights have been brought forward to our team's attention.

I sincerely hope that this unpleasant experience will not deter you from patronizing The Osborne Apartments again. Thank you & Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I chose this hotel based on the great reviews on TripAdvisor. After arriving at the hotel, I wondered if those reviewers stayed at the same hotel and I checked the reviews again online to be sure! For the same price, we could have stayed at a nicer hotel.

Pros:
1) Great location with all the eating places (for taugeh ayam, curry mee, etc) we wanted to go to within walking distance.
2) Spacious rooms

Cons:
1) The room wasn't as nice as the photos (as complained about by at least one reviewer on Agoda).
2) We got only two big towels for two people (though I see small towels in some room photos) and no one came to clean the room during our 2-night stay.
3) Since we asked for a room away from the street, we didn't hear any noise from outside, but we heard water repeatedly draining from the room upstairs. When they flushed their toilet, I thought someone was flushing our toilet!
4) One of the receptionists was very helpful, but the other one had an attitude.

Room Tip: If you're sensitive to noise, get a room on the top floor. (Warning: there's no lift in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalKuidaore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOsborneApartments, Public Relations Manager at The Osborne Apartments, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear GlobalKuidaore,

Greetings from The Osborne Apartment , Ipoh

Thank you for staying with us, and we really appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on the hotel. We will definitely look into your concern and highlight it to our management. I would like to extend my sincerest apology for the inconvenience caused regarding the noise as well. Once again , our guests satisfaction is our top priority.

We sincerely hope that this unpleasant experience will not deter you from patronizing The Osborne Apartment again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

I came here with my family. At the reception the receptionist was very polite. I am very happy. Plus the rooms were very clean.The bathroom was also very clean. But the dining area could be taken away as not many people would cook there. Overall it is a very good hotel indeed. I would be glad to stay in that hotel again when I go back to Ipoh

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Koh Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOsborneApartments, Public Relations Manager at The Osborne Apartments, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear Koh Y ,

Greetings from The Osborne Apartment, Ipoh

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your recent stay experience with us at The Osborne Apartments. I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would be glad to stay with us again.We are definitely looking forward to your visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

The place has a great location....but the place is run by workers & owners are never around...I have been to this place a couple of times on business.. I have always felt suspicious when I see that the sheet look rumpled... This last trip, I got them to change the sheets. I spoke to cleaners & confirmed that they do not always put in clean sheets... So remind them to change the sheets when you get in....

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marky226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klang
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Booked this apartment with just a quick phone call as was coming back from Penang Island. The customer service is really polite and well-trained with her product information. Once enter the room, I feel like I'm home. The cozy feeling and everything in the apartment is complete. It worth for paying the price. Strategic location where you can find hawker stalls just nearby. I would love to come back to this place again if have chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beanicholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOsborneApartments, Public Relations Manager at The Osborne Apartments, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Value Guest,

Greetings from The Osborne Apartments, Ipoh.

Thank you for staying with us, and I really appreciate you taking time to share your feedback on the hotel.
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the stay. We hope to welcome you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

I also booked the Osborne Apartments though the Agoda website and had nothing but an excellent stay at the Osborne. On check-in we found the reception staff friendly and willing to go out of their way for us. She took the time to carefully explain the features of the apartment, including the fact that the electricity in each apartment is triggered by it's proximity entry card slot, installed in the entry way. She also offered us a car park for the use of our relatives that were to come and go throughout our stay. I found the reception team courteous and helpful throughout our stay.
The apartment itself is very spacious, well equipped, modern and clean. To those unfamiliar with Malaysian style bathrooms, it is normal to not have a separate shower stall installed. Although I recommend keeping the bathroom doors closed to stop the mosquitoes from coming in. Our apartment had 3 air conditioners installed and could have easily turned the apartment into a ski slope in no time.
Our apartment was opposite the popular eateries across the road. We stayed 6 nights, however found that we only had a slight noise problem during Thursday evening when they were open till 3 am. There was no loud music or karaoke, just talking and the sound of happy diners. I did not find this to be a problem.
The master bedroom would have had reduced noise as it was not directly opposite the restaurant.
I would quite happily return and stay longer at the Osborne, anytime that I am back in Ipoh.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank METAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheOsborneApartments, Public Relations Manager at The Osborne Apartments, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from The Osborne Apartments, Ipoh. Thank you very much for taking your time to share your recent stay experience with us at The Osborne Apartments. I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your comment is a great learning opportunity for us and we will continue to use them to carry out the necessary measures to further improve our facilities and services. We have passed your kind words to our associates and they were encouraged by it. The team and I look forward to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.6 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#3 of 62 in Ipoh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.4 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
6.3 mi away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 62 in Ipoh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.2 mi away
MU Hotel
MU Hotel
#7 of 62 in Ipoh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#31 of 62 in Ipoh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Osborne Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Osborne Apartments

Property: The Osborne Apartments
Address: 58 Jalan Dato Tahwil Azhar, Ipoh 30300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Osborne Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Osborne is desigend to give travelers the feeling of living in the comfort of a home whilst on holiday. We are proud to offer you relaxing, stylish and fully equipped accomodation during your stay in Ipoh. Our distinctive suites are modern and fully equipped 1, 2, and 3 Bedroom suites have been tastefully decorated with individual colour theme for your conveniences and comfort. All suites are fully equipped with modern appliances and conveniences to make it your home away from home ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Osborne Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing