We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely overated! Not worthe the price paid for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Completely overated! Not worthe the price paid for”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The room's 1414 eletronics mulfunctioned.

HD TV satellite channels were too few and blurred. Room telephone was not working. provided only one soap and toothbrush and had to ask 2 times for the extra piece. Carpets in room was stained and very well used. Room was not well maintained and repaired needed here and there.

Room Tip: Do not take room 1414 and ask for rooms facing the river. High floors and corner rooms will give the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danieltankeemok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    101
    127
    53
    35
See reviews for
140
36
14
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Ultra slow service at Front Desk, very young & inexperienced staff in terms of personal presentation, communication skills (even on the phone). Stains on walls, peeling paint on bathroom door, mould in shower area & sink, no fitting was installed in a straight line, warped metal strip on wardrobe (unreplaced), very very shoddy workmanship everywhere you look, broken screen in lift, disintegrating silicon, dirty windows (even in the lifts facing outside, supposedly giving a nice view of the river), musty smell in corridors (they must be saving $ on aircon), poor maintenance overall. At least the aircon worked in our room & our sheets & towels were clean. So put off that we didn't even bother looking at the breakfast or pool. Wifi hardly worked ... Well it does, in trickles. Rm200 per night for a Standard Room and this is the quality we get.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ipoh hotels

Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Though the hotel is considerably new yet there are so many hiccups found.

The moment entering the parking basement, you'll be charge MYR1 as you do not yet check in as the customer of the hotel. The check in process was taking quite some time though there were not many people in line.

The good thing is the room is very spacious. However, the TV reception is terribly bad. The pool is still under maintenance and the food served for breakfast is consider as OK. Plenty of choices but do not expect a lot of it.

Overall, the room rate is quite pricey compare to the facilities provided in which some of it still under construction or maintenance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We were in Ipoh to attend a family occasion, and decided to stay in this hotel. It is one of the newer hotels in town and conveniently located by Kinta River

The room is reasonable in terms of facility. However, we were rather unfortunate that we encountered a problem in accessing the room due to faulty lock system. We were rather disappointed that the front desk personnel took a while to attend to the problem. Th

Otherwise, this is a reasonably good place for a short stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtiyabAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Nothing to shout about...but overall it was okay.
We had a pleasant stay, the room was clean, the rain shower was cool.
Breakfast was included in the room rate, though not extensive, it was okay.
We will consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RShahrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel is past its glory day though its history and central location are perhaps the reason for first time visitors who know no better.
Our host booked us into this supposedly top hotel in Ipoh. I checked the internet before arrival and from as far back as 2 years guests claimed wifi does not work. Hotel assured us it worked when we checked in but after several attempts throughout the day, we went down to the front desk who then called out some Chinese guy in charge (presumably IT) whose first reaction was that it was caused by the use of iphone...it raised our hackles as we had no problem using wifi in a local Italian restaurant or even the local OLDTOWN coffeeshop close by. He then led us to the guest services manager's desk and asked us to access wifi from that spot. No other solution was offered to ensure we had wifi access in our room. We checked out immediately and found an excellent hotel Symphony Suites which though farther from town was so much newer, pleasant and had good wifi

Room Tip: No comment but only that Ipoh is a town where you cannot find taxi so location does not matter as yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed on a Friday's night last week when I went to Ipoh for a meeting. This is our first time staying in this hotel & we are very happy with the location, the hotel & also the breakfast on the next morning. Good varieties & no complaint from us. The rate is reasonable. We will return to this hotel if we are in Ipoh again. Thank you to the staff & management of this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hanifflai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.9 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
530 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
1.0 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#33 of 63 in Ipoh
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#4 of 63 in Ipoh
606 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Regency Hotel
Tower Regency Hotel
#44 of 63 in Ipoh
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
Address: Jalan Lim Bo Seng, Ipoh 30000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launched on 1st January 2012, Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suite is one of the latest luxury destinations for holiday retreats in Ipoh. It is by far the largest hotel in Ipoh. Strategically located in the centre of Ipoh city, it lies elegantly along the Kinta River and runs parallel with Jalan Lim Bo Seng. It is owned by the Morubina Group of Companies which is also the owner of Hillcity Hotel & Condo Ipoh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing