We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's new, it's clean and well located.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It's new, it's clean and well located.”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The view from my 16th floor corner room was breathtaking. The city has almost a rustic feel from up there and the mountains all around are spectacular. I pArticularly enjoyed the sunrise view. The breakfast was quite good too. I did wish though that the windows could be opened fully. It was very difficult to click photos through the dirt on the windows. But it is hard to blame the management. I had a feeling there is just too much dust aroundso cleaning all the windows and the huge glass-fronts of the lifts must be difficult. The keypad in the elevator did not accept any room key, the internet was erratic. Towels had that washed-in-hard-water feel, the shower had only 2settings: very hot and cold. Fortunately the weather was hot enough so the cold water shower was quite invigorating. The gym did not open till 8 am and i was not too impressed with the gym attendant. All the same, my stay overall was quite pleasant. Mainly due to a nice evening spent with colleague-friends roaming around in town, enjoying a gooooood South Indian dinner and a walk on the Riverfront, which is right in front of the hotel. The river itself would be classified a dainty river, if such a classification existed, but the money the local government has spent in making the riverfront colourful deserves appreciation. Apart from restaurants, there are lighted up artificil trees, a miniature Golden Gate bridge and a small museum about tin mining- the economic backbone of the Ipoh area for generations.

Room Tip: Hard to say.... I will probably make only a day trip to Ipoh in future. At least the reason behind m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hrishikul298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    103
    128
    54
    35
See reviews for
142
38
14
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights to visit Ipoh and enjoy the food there. The staff were pleasant and prompt in responding to enquiries and requests. The distance to elsewhere is not too far. The river is well decorated and the shops that open in the evenings are not too bad. So, it is a pity that the apartments are poorly maintained. Fixtures are coming off and many items are not working properly. Also, the hotel should advise its guests who are staying there on Sundays that there is a morning market that blocks the entire stretch of road leading to the hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lengcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Selected this hotel for it is one of the newer hotels in Ipoh and was expecting a better experience with facilities. However, the expectation ended in much poor reviews for a 4 star hotel.
1) leaking water tap
2) wet wall just beside the bed due to water penetrating thru the wall of the shower room
3) broken toilet spray holder and missing soap tray. No place to put the shampoo/bath bottles.
4) shower spray built too high and they just broke the ceiling to cater to its height. omg..see pict.
5) dirty basin
6) dirty carpet
7) dirty drinking glass
8) dirty towels
9) no waste bin in toilet
10) no welcome at lobby. Nobody bother
11) no wifi given until I asked, then they provided a torn piece of paper with user id and pw written on it..
12) aircon adjustment min and max - no diff, too cold. Only the fan speed works.
13) standing light was found with used tissues stuffed around the light bulb. omg.
14) door latch hanging loose with 2 almost to drop off screws.
15) like the carpark security - friendly and plenty of parking (2 basements) available.
16) like the new Riverfront attractions with shops, eating places, riverside lighting and fireworks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khooht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ipoh hotels

Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were given a non functional and dirty 2 bedroom apartment (Kinta Premier) on the 2nd floor directly next to the rubbish dump area which makes the whole unit smells funny. Window to the 2nd room was faulty, unable to shut tight. Aircond unit was noisy. Telephone not working at all. Technicians came 3 times unable to fix the problem. Bedsheets were stained, worst than budget hotel sheets. The worst and most unacceptable was when we were given a baby cot which gave way and broke when my baby was on it. Luckily he was not injured. And instead of replacing with a new babycot, they tied the babycot legs with raffia strings and a ribbon! Finally we requested a unit change but again the air cond unit was faulty and it was dripping water directly onto the bed. Wires exposed from d walls as though it was half done. Definitely not the place to go if you are travelling with a baby or small kids. Totally unsafe. The worst ever apartment stay experience I have ever encountered!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pg13402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The hotel room and bathroom was spacious, breakfast have good variety choices of local food. Swimming pool is beautiful. Nearby hotel have Sunday flea market. Location is centralized. Staffs were friendly.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank limch48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

it doesn't seem like a 4 star hotel. First of all, we weren't welcomed by the staff upon arrival, Bell man wasn't initiative enough and just looked at us till we asked for luggage assistant! the assistant reservation manager or assistant front office manager (I forgot) who checked in us she really needs to improve on how to dealing with guest, we weren't given clear information example where the breakfast is, breakfast hours, swimming pool. ..room was ok, what we requested it needs to take longer time for them to delivered, wifi connection is sucks! overall what we experienced was worse what we expected!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank junz55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with work in December just for 1 night. The room was clean and modernisation had been attempted on our floor!! The breakfast in the morning was good- lots of choice. And all the staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinWatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.9 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
564 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
1.0 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#3 of 63 in Ipoh
620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tower Regency Hotel
Tower Regency Hotel
#45 of 63 in Ipoh
248 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
#14 of 63 in Ipoh
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites

Property: Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
Address: Jalan Lim Bo Seng, Ipoh 30000, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 410
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Launched on 1st January 2012, Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suite is one of the latest luxury destinations for holiday retreats in Ipoh. It is by far the largest hotel in Ipoh. Strategically located in the centre of Ipoh city, it lies elegantly along the Kinta River and runs parallel with Jalan Lim Bo Seng. It is owned by the Morubina Group of Companies which is also the owner of Hillcity Hotel & Condo Ipoh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing