We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pizza in the town!”

Michelangelo's Pizzeria
Ranked #12 of 477 Restaurants in Ipoh
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Ipoh's first and only True Authentic AMERICAN Rock 'n' Roll Wood Fire Pizzeria. Every item here is made exactly how we would do it back in Chicago / New York. Everything is made fresh in the pizzeria, we believe in commitment and keep all our recipes exactly as they were the day we started. All pizzas are cooked at 750f degress in a real wood fire oven, hand tossed. We offer pizzas, pastas, salads and sweets. This is as close to America you can get without actually being there.We are a fmaily place where the music is played loud (retro 70's-90's rock and pop) and you can jump up on the counter and dance for a free pizza.
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pizza in the town!”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

I would say they serve the best pizza in the town and truly authentic recipes all the way from America.

Great meals with fast and efficient servers and I'm looking forward to see new menus from time to time. The music is quite loud though but it's fine as it fits the feeling of a typical diner in USA so I get to enjoy it here. Friendly & funny owner, so thanks for the awesome meal, Mike!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nigelfoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    86
    21
    12
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Go early!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I've been going to Michelangelo's since they opened and have always loved the food there. I am not a fan of crowded or noisy spaces, so because we live in Ipoh, we usually phone in to order a take out and eat at home instead. However recently, we had a friend visiting from overseas and we decided to dine in. I had forgotten how amazing their pizzas are straight from the oven - hot, crisp, chewy and delicious. Ipoh is famous for its food and Michelangelo's definitely has the best pizza in Ipoh and arguably the best pizza available in the country! The food is good, so dinner at Michelangelos on a busy night might require a bit of a wait for a table. Just a heads up, like American Chillis in KL they only seat complete parties, so make sure your whole group is punctual and arrive at the same time or you may have to wait longer for a table. If you prefer not to wait like me, either go early around 6.15pm or late after 9pm. Their spaghetti carbonara is really good and though they are famous for pizza, the desserts really are worth saving space for. The cheese cake and Insane brownie are both really delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FayEuFoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
224 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Thank God, these guys saved me from Domino's!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

First night in Ipoh blindly walking around in search of a place for dinner.
Ran into Michelangelo's.
Small outlet but that gives it a cosy, family atmosphere.
Pizzas are fantastic (mostly non-halal).
Staff are friendly but get flustered when something isn't going as planned, like trying to fit groups to the right size table and bringing a bottle of wine. All sorted in the end.
Not the cheapest place but reasonable considering the pizza is far superior to the standard found in Malaysia.
So good we went two nights in a row!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackmark1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Echuca, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“worst pizza ever”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

went to Michelangelos after reading the reviews about it , worst thing we could have done . After taking ages to come take our order { there was only 2 other people there} we got our pizza and the coffees we ordered, the pizza was like tissue paper and the topping wasnt to good either we had trouble picking the pieces up and it had no taste to speak of so most of it was left ,our coffee was just as bad tasted like luke warm dishwater so we left them too .we reluctently paid our bill and left.. As we were driving back to our hotel we passed a dominos pizza resturant and stopped and got a really nice pizza there which we took back to the hotel to have for dinner .Should have gone there in the first place wouldnt recommend michelangelos to any one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank noddy_diesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Necessary or not??”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Went up for my dinner with my wife & 4 four buddies while they just on their way. First waiter said...need to wait until my buddies all arrived, then will get a table for us. Fine..we waited outside. Second & third waiter came to us..same answer, WAIT, WAIT, WAIT!!!. Tables are available inside.!!!
Common...my wife is pregnant, she was hungry. No priority for her??? We're not ONLY ordering Pizza for our 6 paxs @ No a la carte to order???. such as Pasta?? POOR & UPSET for me.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Fook L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michelangelo's Pizzeria also viewed

 

Been to Michelangelo's Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing