We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointed” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Italia Mia - CLOSED

Italia Mia
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Ipoh, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

not as good as being told by friends. the carbonara was so so and the pizza... the taste was funny. i went there with 3 people and all of us agreed the taste of the pizza was weird...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank seahyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Food !!!! Personalised Service !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The best Salmon Pasta ever !!!! This place is a must for Italian food lover...the chef is Chef Kenny..also the owner of the place.
They have a restaurant manager who visits each table and asked you if you are ok with the food, etc. There's also Creme Brulee and ice cream for desserts...Excellent Coffee Latte to finish off your dinner !! Open for lunch 12 noon - 3 pm. Dinner 6pm-10pm. Closed on Wednesdays. EXCELLENT place !!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura_loves_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
168 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Party of four dined at Italia Mia in Sunway City, Ipoh. The atmosphere is very authentic, pleasant and subdued. The meals were authentic and excellent. The service flawless.
We will be going again tonight for Chinese New Year Dinner.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank beaunestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“you don't need to close your eye to know you're in heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

We know Kenny from Sabah and Penang so we knew for sure that we were in for a treat. With the hand on our hearts we can say that this time he's outdone himself!
Standing in front of the restaurant it is as if the building is magically taken out of a rustic Italian village. Inside you are warmly greeted by Kenny and his staff. The menu of ITALIA MIA consists of “starters & appetizers”, “fresh from the oven”, “Pasta” and “entrée”. Dishes like the famous “OSSO BOCCO A LA MILANAISE”, “COQUILLES SAINT-JAQUES AU SAFRAN” or “CARPESE of SUN RIPE TOMATO WITH MOZZARELLA CHEESE” and of course PIZZA’s grace the menu of ITALIA MIA. Do not forget under any circumstances to order the tiramisu, Kenny can wake me up any time for that dessert! ITALIA MIA does serve wine. Prices are very reasonable starting with 8 Ringhet, 46 Ringhet for a PAELLA BIG ENOUGH FOR TWO PEOPLE or 48 Ringhet for a GRILLED TENDERLOIN LYONNAISE. Kenny only used fresh produce and most certainly does not use any MSG (ajinomoto), Kenny is a perfectionist and that translates into his dishes. The staff are professionals in a very pleasant way. They made sure that our glasses were filled and used plates were taken away immdiately. The premises were spotless and so were the restrooms. ITALIA MIA is open for business at lunchtime and in the evening starting from 7PM ‘till 10 PM. There is more then enough parking space.
Trust me, you don’t need to close your eyes to know you’re in heaven!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank overseaswriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Truly a Gem of a restaurant in Ipoh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2012

We arrived at the restaurant at 7.00 pm and was greeted at the door by the Chef Kenny. Apparently Chef Kenny and his American partner bought Italia Mia from Tino and Nicky the previous owners. The dinner was very good and we found the prices very reasonable. We found a great selection of wines at the new Italia Mia.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Arnold L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Italia Mia also viewed

 
Ipoh, Kinta District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing