We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills but perfectly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Shangg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Shangg
Ranked #28 of 69 Ipoh B&B and Inns
Pangkor
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“No frills but perfectly good”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed in Hotel Shangg for 3 nights 6-8th April 2012 and tried to see as many of the attractions of Ipoh as we could. The Shangg is a good 20 minutes walk to Old Town area which takes in Little India and a large chinese community. The facilities in the hotel rooms include en-suite, television and air-con. They are sufficiently roomy and cleanliness was good. Wi-Fi was available and although I only got a low power signal, it was fine for routine internet use.

There is a Chinese 'kiosk-stall' type eating premises at the rear of the hotel, we used it for our breakfast - it was basic, no-compromise chinese and very popular with the local community.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
9
14
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We stayed in Hotel Shangg for 2 nights.
Was a really nice stay. From the Owner, to the Receptionist, to the Housekeeping - everybody makes you feel like home.
It is just a 5 minute walk to Little India.
If you need some informations or a Taxi or something else, don't hesitate to ask - YOU WILL FIND A HELPING HAND HERE!
btw: rooms are quiet, new and clean.
cheers

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lupus243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Clean bathroom, clean crisp bedding, free wifi in room, aircon and TV. My wife had a great night's sleep so I was happy the next day even though our room overlooked 6 lanes of traffic. The problem for this hotel is its location and the Malaysian (or IPOH) lack of radio taxis. We waited 40 minutes for one to get us into the town, the hotel really is on the ourtskirts and it's quite a trek into town. I believe I overheard the management pledge to get taxis within 10 minutes in furture and if so, that would help if you're not in a car of your own. One tip I have is that if you're adventurous, forget going into town to eat. If you go up Leong Boon Swee a little way (turn right out of the front door) and turn right again, there are some marvellously cheap local places to eat behind the hotel, for example we had two banana roti each and a coffee each for 6 ringgits 40 cents (about £1.25 in total - FOR TWO!). Music to a backpacker's ears, surely?

Room Tip: Back of the hotel is quieter as there is a major arterial road at the front. If the lack of curtain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddoghere4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2012

The new open hotel in Ipoh. It's a good budget option to stay in Ipoh, but the location is not perfect. We need about 20-25 min walking to get to the city center. In the nearby there are some local restaurants and shops. The hotel is clean and new. The staff at front desk were friendly and helpfull. Our room was very spacious and camfortable. There is free Wifi in the room, but not especially fast one. The price (80 MYR) was good, however there is no breakfast in the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KubaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

We were actually on the way to Alor Star & we planned to stay in Ipoh for a night. We reached there very late at night but the receptionist greeted us with smile. The good thing about this hotel is the room is not too small and it was clean. They also provide clean towels. The toilet was good too, just nice & very clean. The hotel location is also ok. It was quite easy to get the after we exit from Simpang Pulai. The not so good thing is that there is not many parking space. So if you arrive late, you will need to park your car by the roadside or at the shop nearby. You have to move your car when the shop is open.

Room Tip: Try to get a room not looking the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cracow
Level Contributor
179 reviews
179 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a new hotel in Ipoh; the location is quite good, but it's situated not directly in the center of Ipoh; we need ca 20 min walk to the heart of city. In the nearby there are some cofeeshops and restaurants, there is also local bus station not far form the hotel. The staff at front desk were very firendly and helpfull. The room was spacious, very clean and camfortable. There was free WiFi in the room (not very fast but it worked enough good for check email etc.). The bath was O.K. with towels and some bath accessories. There is no breakfast in the hotel but you can eat in the nearby. Generally they offer good value for money and nice athmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CracowDanang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Very nice hotel with helpful staff and nice room.
The room has big windows, clean bathroom, good bed.
Would recommend this place for sure! Good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verleve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.8 mi away
Brick Box Hotel
Brick Box Hotel
#19 of 62 in Ipoh
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seemsoon Hotel
Seemsoon Hotel
#21 of 62 in Ipoh
95 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tulip Hotel
Tulip Hotel
#9 of 69 in Ipoh
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Metrotel
Le Metrotel
#2 of 69 in Ipoh
133 reviews
0.7 mi away
27 Concubine Lane
27 Concubine Lane
#14 of 69 in Ipoh
13 reviews
3.4 mi away
Art Cottage Hotel
Art Cottage Hotel
#6 of 69 in Ipoh
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shangg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shangg

Property: Hotel Shangg
Address: 37 Jalan Leong Boon Swee, Ipoh 31650, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Shangg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best rated budget hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Shangg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing