We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Popular, Crowded and Be Prepared to Wait”
Review of Thean Chun

Thean Chun
Ranked #1 of 14 Coffee & Tea in Ipoh
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Popular, Crowded and Be Prepared to Wait”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I together with our friends and their families made a stop at this coffee shop for breakfast. It is a small, old coffee shop located beside an equally popular coffee shop (Kong Heng). It has big mirrors on its wall and is also known as 'Hall of Mirrors'. We can cross order dishes from either coffee shops except for the koay teow noodles.
When we were there, the place was packed although it was a Monday, maybe because it was the holiday season and there were many outstation customers and tourists just like us. We ordered the koay teow noodles (kai si hor fun) but we had to cancel the order because the order queue was too long and the dish did not arrive on our table even after a more than half-an-hour wait. The egg custard, said to be the best in town, should not be missed by those with a sweet tooth. The 'chee cheong fun' was very smooth and different from the Penang version as it did not come with the dark prawn paste (har ko).
The pork satay seller operated from a stall between the two coffee shops. The satay was thick but tender. Satay made from pig innards were also available. The spring rolls (popiah) and 'lo bak' were of acceptable quality. The white coffee was good. We did not order any 'yong tau fu' as we were not prepared to wait.
Parking is a big problem in this vicinity because the roads are narrow and the parking lots are limited. Do make sure to park only in the designated parking lots and use the scratch-and-display local council parking ticket. One of my friends found a summon under his car wiper on his return because he did not use one. Alternatively, park in a private car park in the adjacent road and pay three ringgit per entry.
This coffee shop as well as the others in this vicinity has become a very popular tourist haunt through the power of word-of-mouth advertisement. Perhaps the food quality here has been compromised due to the overwhelming demand. But then, do come and try but be prepared to wait and endure some discomfort.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csChai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    136
    43
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
selangor
Level Contributor
139 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Definition of Ipoh Kai Si Hor Fun”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My friend who hails from Ipoh brought us here, and i ordered the famous Ipoh Kai Si Hor Fun (Ipoh Chicken Slice Kuey Teow Soup), the White Coffee and the egg custard which I was told were the best in the place.

The dishes were simple, cheap and delicious. The soup was flavourful and the hor fun was smooooth :) yumm! The White Coffee is perfect for coffee lovers like me. The egg custard, though, was a little tooo sweet for me. If you're not a sweet tooth, i seriously won't recommend.

My friends ordered the beef noodle and it was okay. I was saving my tummy all for hor fun, and it was worth the wait!

It was a full house when I went, but was worth it. Gotta try when you're in town.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sabahrefugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Over rated”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Tried the chicken floss hor-fun and beef noodle.

Hor-fun was definitely over rated. Few miserable slices of prawn, lots of hor-fun. Taste was rather bland.

Beef noodle's soup was tasty, but the beef itself is bland too. Luckily the crackers made up for it.

Coffee was good.

Didn't have room to try the caramel which is supposed to be their signature so no comment.

Shop was too hot and too crowded. I can live with the discomfort if food was nice. But in this case, the food was not nice enough to justify the visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yasumi999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Creme Caramel in an old kopitiam”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The caramel was not burnt - heavenly and served on a small plastic plate. No fuss, no high and mighty dining - plain and simple good food.

The hor fun here is quite good as well. They will not serve you only the nga choi (bean sprouts - which are fantastic and different in Ipoh than other places). You must order a bowl of hor fun (noodles) to go along.

Not too expensive. Yummy food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jasmyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We went on a weekday at about 10.30am and the coffee shop was literally empty of customers. It was not a happening place at all. Besides a couple, we were the only family of five eating late breakfast there.

No Chee Cheong Fun for us as the stall holder wasn't working that day. Tried the Chicken Hor Fun and the Pork Mee. They were good. The white coffee was bad however, nothing like what we had at Nam Heong and Yee Lock coffee shops. The egg caramel looked better than it tasted. Very silky but alas a tad too eggy. Overall, this eatery is nothing to shout about as there are better coffee shops with good food options in the vicinity.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ganadeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thean Chun also viewed

 

Been to Thean Chun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing