We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I couldn't have enjoyed this place more - amazing natural setting, great facilities and design and truly exceptional staff. Having lived in Malaysia for 4 years and visited a lot of different resorts this is the first one that exceeded expectations. This is a must if you are looking for a luxury treat - 1 day was like a week at a normal resort.

Room Tip: Villa 1 was great - quiet but near all the facilities so you could walk everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caoimhinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

We at The Banjaran, thank you for having taken the time to post your nice comments about our retreat on TripAdvisor. Glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay recently and we hope to look forward to welcoming you back again in near future.

Salam from
The Banjaran Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 780 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2012

The staff was friendly, hospitable and went out of their way to make us comfortable. The chairman's wine cellar is a must visit. Ipoh as a city doesn't have many attractions, but you will be so pampered in the resort, you won't feel like stepping out anyway!

Room Tip: We stayed in the pool villa, it was lovely! There was a private pool with a stunning view. Opt for v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnitaB31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

We are very delighted to read that your stay was nice and enjoyable and we thank you very much for having taken the time to share your thoughts with us. Your nice comments have already been shared with all our team and we can assure you that they have been highly appreciated.

We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back soon for another nice experience, with us.

Salam from
The Banjaran Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This is one of the best resort that i have been so far.
Great prival pool and jacuzzi , can enjoy wine while having jacuzzi there.
I had so much fun there, and yup, im missing the place again .

Room Tip: For couples who dont really enjoy the sun, you may request for Villa 3,4,5 & 6. Villa 4 is the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank AmyWoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

We at The Banjaran, thank you for having taken the time to post your nice comments about our retreat on TripAdvisor. Glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay recently and we hope to look forward to welcoming you back again in near future.

Salam from
The Banjaran Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

From the moment when you walk in until the time when you don't want to leave the staff at The Banjaran really look after you. Or, if you wish, you can stay within the secure walls of your luxury villa and simply enjoy your time there.

The setting is simply outstanding, tucked away as it is in a valley snuggled between tall, karst limestone monoliths that are riddled with natural caves, most of which have been utilised in very good fashion as relaxation, meditation or steam rooms. The bar, called Geoff's Cellar, is simply amazing with its stalagmites and stalactites creating little private areas in which to sit and enjoy a quite drink.

I had a spa treatment that was very relaxing and quite pleasant, with the added bonus that I felt great afterwards. Each villa has a private plunge pool, jacuzzi, fantastic verandah area, bedroom and bathroom, plus a butler to look after your every whim.

Breakfast was organic and delicious.

This is a place you could return to often when you need a little pampering. I had a wonderful experience here, and would have no qualms about booking in again for another stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank The_Grumpster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for your very nice and detailed review about our resort and for sharing your observations during your stay. We have noted your thoughts about our property and we thank you for your support.

Salam from
The Banjaran Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I can only point out that Banjaran is one of the most beautiful resorts I have ever beento. The ambience is absolutely breathtaking and very unique landscaping. The private pool and jacuzzi is awesome and one of the best!!! I had such a relaxing time here with my husband and found that it was one of my favorite places in Malaysia.
The reason why I gave 4 stars instead of the 5 is because when I go on holiday my biggest factor is food. Good food equals good vacation, bad food equals not a great vacation. I have to say the food is very good here but I really wish they gave a bigger portion, it was wayyyyyyy too small. And breakfast I have to say for the price you pay for a resort like this is pretty bad. The staff at the restaurant also didn't seem like they knew what was on their own menu.

Please revise your menu and prices and this would definitely be my favorite to go place in the world.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Siu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Your comments on our services at The Pomelo restaurant are very much appreciated and it has been brought to the attention of the respective department and to the management. Rest assure that steps on improving our menu items will be rectified and we hope to welcome you back at The Banjaran again in near future to experience the beauty of our retreat over again.

Salam from
The Banjaran Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Had an awesome time here. View is beautiful with excellent service from the staff. For those who seek peace..this is the place ! Away from it all....Food portion is small though...Villa is excellent - with your own swimming pool and jacuzzi ! Have enjoyed my 3 days 2 nights stay here. Rest, relax and rejuvenate !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachel_ose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat.
We thank you for your comments and we appreciate you taking the time to write to us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again and to providing with the very best of our hospitality

Salam from
The Banjaran Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Banjaran is well integrated with, and takes full advantage, if the natural landscape it's blessed with. The limestone cliffs and caves are breathtaking, and the natural hot springs do not have a strong sulphur smell yet provide a tranquil and fairly mosquito free environment.

The food is very healthy from the sole restaurant but there's not much variety. For the price, I felt there were a few things that are lacking for a rating of 5. Of the four shared outdoor hot spring pools, only one was useable due to extremely high temperatures and the cold water taps were useless in cooling them down. Staff were very friendly but english was subpar. Our pool and bathroom hot tub weren't cleaned every day so after a couple of days, due to lots of bugs and dead leaves, it became pretty disgusting to swim in.

Having said that, the natural scenery is breathtaking and the jungle walk allows free entry into the Lost World of Tambun petting zoo and water park next door, which was fun for a visit but a stunning contrast in terms of building a resort - the Lost World is all artificial and fake.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sting800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Thank you for your very nice and detailed review about our resort and for sharing your observations during your stay. We have noted your thoughts about our property and we thank you for your support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
5.2 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
631 reviews
6.2 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lost World Hotel
Lost World Hotel
#20 of 63 in Ipoh
381 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ipoh Bali Hotel
Ipoh Bali Hotel
#9 of 63 in Ipoh
121 reviews
5.6 mi away
Bedrock Hotel, Ipoh
Bedrock Hotel, Ipoh
#3 of 63 in Ipoh
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat

Address: 1 Persiaran Lagun Sunway 3, Ipoh 31150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Ipoh
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ipoh
Price Range: $336 - $541 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat is an integrated luxury wellness and spa retreat in Ipoh. The 5-star retreat is situated on a 22.7 Acre valley nestled within a cluster of towering limestone hills and features a combination of natural caves, pristine jungle, waterfalls and geothermal hot springs. It is a self-contained sanctuary consisting of 45 luxury villas offering holistic wellness and spa experiences inspired by authentic Malaysian practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat Hotel Ipoh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing