We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing place with amazing nature (problem in the restaurant)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
Ranked #1 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Certificate of Excellence
Sopron, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing place with amazing nature (problem in the restaurant)”
Reviewed October 25, 2011

The hotel lies in the jungle, in a tranquil gorge. The interior decoration of the hotel is very sophisticated with many many natural accessories like tropical plants, flowers, water lilys, wooden carvings. In the middle of the beautiful garden is a natural hot spring with water falls, hot dipping pots. When you are in the hotel you can feel you don't want to go out.
We stayed at the garden villa for 5 nights. We prefered the garden villa because it has a bigger space with lush green tropical plants and pool. All the villas of high standard are beautiful, spacious, stylishly furnished, clean and very comfortable.
Services: You can relax in the meditation caves or the steam bath, they have fish doctors also. These little fishes are very funny animals! You have to try definatelly the fish pool.
If you are lucky you can see many wild monkeys who jumping on the threes in the morning. One of the morning we could see a horde swoop down on the garden, but we could see many butterflies, lizards and komodo dragon too. You can try the jungle trekk there.
The only problem is what is big enough (!): the service & the offer of the restaurant. The offer of the breakfast is very very poor, it seems they serve out only the demands of the malaysian guests. You can not get a normal breakfast with fine cheese, bacon, vegs, butter and whole wheat bread. The consistence and the colour of the ham - what you can find there - is very strange, not delicious. If you want to get fruit you have to buy it for extra money. You can get omelet, but I didn't want to eat it every 5 morning. You have to pray for a little butter and they don't have it every day.
If you want to have your dinner you can choose from the spare menu card. There are 2 sorts of soups and 5-6 main courses, same every day. You do better if you walk 200 meters from the next restaurants corner (just in front of the hotel) and eat a tasty local food for a peanuts.
I think if you pay for 1 night a colossal amount they wouldn't spare the catering! They should manage better the restaurant and its services. This is a big fault for a 5 stars property! I hope they can change their philosophy in this matter.

Room Tip: Garden villa the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Macska_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Dear Macska_11,

Thank you for having the time to share your comments on TripAdvisor. It’s a pleasure to learn that you have enjoyed your stay here at The Banjaran.

Your comments on our services at The Pomelo restaurant are very much appreciated and it has been brought to the attention of the respective department and to the management. Rest assure that steps on improving our menu items will be rectified and we hope to welcome you back at The Banjaran again in near future to experience the beauty of our retreat over again.

The Banjaran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    115
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
93
473
14
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This was a surprise 1 night trip planned by my wife...
We flew a R44 Helicopter up from Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, flight time just over 1 hour, and landed at the Banjaran Hotsprings to a warm welcome.

The property is surrounded by huge Mountains that go vertical from the spa, and this offers a very "protected" and cozy atmosphere to the place.

We stayed in a Garden Villa with our own pool, and jacuzzi, with Hotsprings water filling the jacuzzi... it was perfect for the people who like to swim and shower in their birthday suits.

The food was very good, and they have a nice wine selection...

It is a perfect place to come and relax, and unwind...

I strongly recommend this to anyone (except children)

Its a small resort for relaxing, and children are not welcome... and I think thats just fine... if you want to bring your children somewhere, take them to Sunway Lagoon, not to The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cliff4nier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Dear Cliff4nier,

We at The Banjaran, thank you for having taken the time to post your nice comments about our retreat on TripAdvisor. Glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay recently and we hope to look forward to welcoming you back again in near future.

The Banjaran Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

When my partner book this resort for our weekend retreat, i was thinking it's going to be a boring place that old people stay...we'r in out late twenties. Well, I'm so wrong !!

Environment - surrounded by mountains, Isolated and quiet.
Entrance - Instance tranquility and grand lobby

Garden Villa - Clean, spacious and privacy
Bedroom - High roof, standard 5 star hotel facility, a nice touch with pomelo as welcome fruits
Private swimming pool - Open space, skinning dipping with full privacy !
Washroom - Spacious, no need to fight for who brush their teeth first !
Living Hall - BOSE surround system with relaxing jazz music, no better place to read a book (please dont watch the 42" plasma TV) !
Private Jacuzzi - dip in and chitchat with your partner during nighttime, very romantic !

Customer services: Polite, greet you by name even the housekeeping lady.
Spa services: Complete range and above standard

Jeff's cellar: "A Rich Man aircond-ventilated cave", nothing much to do but it's a must order a drink and experience it.
Pamelo Restaurant - nothing to shout about of the food.
Meditation cave - It's full of mosquitoes, not sure how to meditate here...
Steam cave - get yourself a ice cold water and sit inside for at least 20min, amazing nature sauna.
Crystal cave - Man-made structure, small, nothing special.
Hot dipping Pot - another great place to chitchat

In contrast to the resort theme of tranquility and healthy lifestyle, there's lot of not-so-healthy street foods just 10min drive away in Ipoh town, temptation's hard to resist !!

Room Tip: Garden Villa 13 is good, lot of privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmonddes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Dear Dmonddes,

Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed comments on TripAdvisor. We at The Banjaran strive to provide a Malaysian experience equal to your expectation; therefore the quality of the guest experience is of the utmost importance to us. We will certainly pass along your compliments and comments to the department concerned. Once again, we are delighted that you have enjoyed your time with us and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you.

The Banjaran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

For a top notch resort they claimed they are, I'm truly dissapointed with their customer service. I was pretty interested in booking a night or two here for my parent's wedding anniversary, so I wrote them to with some of the queries I have regarding the package, restaurant, transport, etc. But no one responded to my queries at all!!! This has definitely changed my mind about this resort whatsover. Horrible customer service!

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Vanille C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear VanilleC,

Checks have been made and it is very regrettable but no communication ( letter or email ) was received by The Banjaran and this is probably the reason why a reply was not forthcoming. We are very disappointed that this happened but it was due to circumstances which were beyond our control.

The Banjaran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alor Setar, Kedah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

A group of us had visited the Banjaran last week before having our buffer dinner at the Pamelo restaurant. We are hosted by Mr. Wong, GM of Sunway Ipoh and Adeline from Banjaran.

We do not stay overnight at the resort, but the short visit really change our perception about luxury resort or retreat at Malaysia, especially at the small city like IPOH. The jungle walk from the Lost World of Tambun to the Banjaran is amazing. I could not remember my last trip when I walked in the jungle or bushes not to mention visiting all the caves that feel serene and peaceful. The meditation cave makes me feel very calm and I would love to come back again to have a bottle of wine at the Jeff cellar at another cave. The food at Pamelo is fantastic. My marinated beef is tasty so as the steam salmon. The service is five star and very helpful.

I have visited many luxury resort in this corner of the world, I could recognise which resort is real, which resort is fake. For Banjaran, it is a real resort in a real location. It is so quite, so peaceful, so serene and so natural. You feel so close to the nature, with the mountain as a backdrop. When you pay top dollar for a 5 star resort or retreat, you want to treat your soul and off course your body as well. The Banjaran Spa comes in handy. I would like to stay in a place where you could feel at ease and at peace before you could find your soul. To all the five star resort, like the Aman, taking care of your guest accommodation is the basic requirement; the main challenge is taking care of your guest soul / feeling. That is the hardest part. For Banjaran, the REAL THING makes it easy.

Room Tip: Take the lake view room. The view is much better than the garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Mr. Rick Cheng,

Thank you for having taken the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your visit in our retreat. We thank you for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
The Banjaran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I've spent one night here with my wife after purchasing a Groupon deal with ~50% discount. Much to our regrets that we didn't purchase the deal for extra nights.

Everything was perfect. Upon arrival, the security guards re-confirmed our arrival by mentioning our name. Once we arrived at the lobby, we were shortly greeted by Amutha, she was so friendly & attentive. We feel sorry but amazed that such a small lady was to carry our bags.

The garden villa was great!! It has private swimming pool, private geothermal jacuzzi, indoor & outdoor shower and also separate vanity space for 'his' and 'hers'. The king-sized bed was so comfy with extra big pillows. If you must get out of bed, you can relax at the sofa outside the bedroom with music played on BOSE sound system!!

We enjoyed the dipping hotspring pool, steam cave, crystal cave, ice dipping pool and overseeing the whole Banjaran Hotsprings lake from The Balcony.

Breakfast at The Pomelo was great & heavy but you can burn the calories real quick by visiting those places mentioned above.

In summary, everything was 5-stars..service and place.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oCHeHanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear CheHans,

We would like to thank you for your visit to The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We are happy to know that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat and we would love to have the pleasure of seeing you again in your next visit.

Warmest regards,
The Banjaran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
556 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 335 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This place is... awesome! In short, a small bit of paradise on earth with excellent service to boot!

The excellent service started even before we arrived. Calling in to confirm our late arrival, etc.. the guest relations officer who attended to our calls knew us instantly by name and we were definitely made to feel like no inquiry was too inconvenient and our every whim was their pleasure to fulfil. (I'm sure that wasn't the case, but that's how excellent their staff service is, something that was a constant theme throughout our entire stay!) With the amazing staff, you really want for nothing. All you have to do is ask!

With only 25 chalets, privacy is almost totally guaranteed! The villas are amazing (I do recommend the garden villas over the water villas) and while the best thing about this place is the total quiet & relaxation opportunities, there are enough attractions on the grounds to keep you occupied, should you be the somewhat-restless sort (like me!)

What I also love about this place is their conscious effort to employ eco-friendly initiatives (like solar panels for the garden lamps, ceramic shampoo flasks instead of disposable plastic single-use packs, etc).

Awesomeness: your very own in-chalet grotto filled with water from the geothermal springs, the magnificent & uber comfortable villas, the Crystal Cave, the Waterfall, Jeff's Cellar (lounge/bar), the wonderful landscaping, the fact that no children under the age of 8 is allowed to stay in the Banjaran!, the amazing staff! And most of all, the tranquillity.

Cons: limited food (although you can drive out a very short distance to find alternatives, and Ipoh town proper is a mere 15mins drive away), mosquitoes in some areas (bring repellent!) ... err... that's it! Everything else was absolutely PERFECT.

I will definitely be back! And perhaps for a longer stay the next time. :O)

(Small anecdote here: there was a small wooden puzzle in our chalet which was made up of wooden blocks you slide around to solve. I was obsessed with it the entire trip and wanted to purchase the puzzle, but was informed it was not for sale. However, the guest relations officer said that they would ask their Purchasing Department if they could procure one for me. Whether or not they'll be able to get one for me, the effort and initiative is something I appreciate immensely, because no other resort I've been to would make the effort to extend customer service past check-out! I'm very impressed.)

Room Tip: Garden Villas: better layouts & more private. Also, I'd advise against villas 1-3. Less priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IshDewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear IshDewyn,

Your comments are valuable to us in our commitment to provide the very highest standard of service to our guests. It is gratifying when one of our guest takes the time to let us know of his satisfaction. We appreciate the time that you took to write and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon and to providing with the very best of our hospitality.

The Banjaran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
6.2 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
5.2 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#4 of 63 in Ipoh
604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lost World Hotel
Lost World Hotel
#16 of 63 in Ipoh
356 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ipoh Bali Hotel
Ipoh Bali Hotel
#9 of 63 in Ipoh
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat

Property: The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
Address: 1 Persiaran Lagun Sunway 3 | Sunway City Ipoh, Ipoh 31150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ipoh
#1 Spa Hotel in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat is an integrated luxury wellness and spa retreat in Ipoh. The 5-star retreat is situated on a 16.19 Acre valley nestled within a cluster of towering limestone hills and features a combination of natural caves, pristine jungle, waterfalls and geothermal hot springs. It is a self-contained sanctuary consisting of 25 luxury villas offering holistic wellness and spa experiences inspired by authentic Malaysian practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat Hotel Ipoh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing