We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE REAL THING, THE REAL RESORT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Ipoh
Certificate of Excellence
Alor Setar, Kedah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“THE REAL THING, THE REAL RESORT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

A group of us had visited the Banjaran last week before having our buffer dinner at the Pamelo restaurant. We are hosted by Mr. Wong, GM of Sunway Ipoh and Adeline from Banjaran.

We do not stay overnight at the resort, but the short visit really change our perception about luxury resort or retreat at Malaysia, especially at the small city like IPOH. The jungle walk from the Lost World of Tambun to the Banjaran is amazing. I could not remember my last trip when I walked in the jungle or bushes not to mention visiting all the caves that feel serene and peaceful. The meditation cave makes me feel very calm and I would love to come back again to have a bottle of wine at the Jeff cellar at another cave. The food at Pamelo is fantastic. My marinated beef is tasty so as the steam salmon. The service is five star and very helpful.

I have visited many luxury resort in this corner of the world, I could recognise which resort is real, which resort is fake. For Banjaran, it is a real resort in a real location. It is so quite, so peaceful, so serene and so natural. You feel so close to the nature, with the mountain as a backdrop. When you pay top dollar for a 5 star resort or retreat, you want to treat your soul and off course your body as well. The Banjaran Spa comes in handy. I would like to stay in a place where you could feel at ease and at peace before you could find your soul. To all the five star resort, like the Aman, taking care of your guest accommodation is the basic requirement; the main challenge is taking care of your guest soul / feeling. That is the hardest part. For Banjaran, the REAL THING makes it easy.

Room Tip: Take the lake view room. The view is much better than the garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickCheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Mr. Rick Cheng,

Thank you for having taken the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your visit in our retreat. We thank you for your feedback and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Warmest regards,
The Banjaran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    109
    14
    7
    5
See reviews for
89
435
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

I've spent one night here with my wife after purchasing a Groupon deal with ~50% discount. Much to our regrets that we didn't purchase the deal for extra nights.

Everything was perfect. Upon arrival, the security guards re-confirmed our arrival by mentioning our name. Once we arrived at the lobby, we were shortly greeted by Amutha, she was so friendly & attentive. We feel sorry but amazed that such a small lady was to carry our bags.

The garden villa was great!! It has private swimming pool, private geothermal jacuzzi, indoor & outdoor shower and also separate vanity space for 'his' and 'hers'. The king-sized bed was so comfy with extra big pillows. If you must get out of bed, you can relax at the sofa outside the bedroom with music played on BOSE sound system!!

We enjoyed the dipping hotspring pool, steam cave, crystal cave, ice dipping pool and overseeing the whole Banjaran Hotsprings lake from The Balcony.

Breakfast at The Pomelo was great & heavy but you can burn the calories real quick by visiting those places mentioned above.

In summary, everything was 5-stars..service and place.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oCHeHanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear CheHans,

We would like to thank you for your visit to The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.

We are happy to know that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat and we would love to have the pleasure of seeing you again in your next visit.

Warmest regards,
The Banjaran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
461 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

This place is... awesome! In short, a small bit of paradise on earth with excellent service to boot!

The excellent service started even before we arrived. Calling in to confirm our late arrival, etc.. the guest relations officer who attended to our calls knew us instantly by name and we were definitely made to feel like no inquiry was too inconvenient and our every whim was their pleasure to fulfil. (I'm sure that wasn't the case, but that's how excellent their staff service is, something that was a constant theme throughout our entire stay!) With the amazing staff, you really want for nothing. All you have to do is ask!

With only 25 chalets, privacy is almost totally guaranteed! The villas are amazing (I do recommend the garden villas over the water villas) and while the best thing about this place is the total quiet & relaxation opportunities, there are enough attractions on the grounds to keep you occupied, should you be the somewhat-restless sort (like me!)

What I also love about this place is their conscious effort to employ eco-friendly initiatives (like solar panels for the garden lamps, ceramic shampoo flasks instead of disposable plastic single-use packs, etc).

Awesomeness: your very own in-chalet grotto filled with water from the geothermal springs, the magnificent & uber comfortable villas, the Crystal Cave, the Waterfall, Jeff's Cellar (lounge/bar), the wonderful landscaping, the fact that no children under the age of 8 is allowed to stay in the Banjaran!, the amazing staff! And most of all, the tranquillity.

Cons: limited food (although you can drive out a very short distance to find alternatives, and Ipoh town proper is a mere 15mins drive away), mosquitoes in some areas (bring repellent!) ... err... that's it! Everything else was absolutely PERFECT.

I will definitely be back! And perhaps for a longer stay the next time. :O)

(Small anecdote here: there was a small wooden puzzle in our chalet which was made up of wooden blocks you slide around to solve. I was obsessed with it the entire trip and wanted to purchase the puzzle, but was informed it was not for sale. However, the guest relations officer said that they would ask their Purchasing Department if they could procure one for me. Whether or not they'll be able to get one for me, the effort and initiative is something I appreciate immensely, because no other resort I've been to would make the effort to extend customer service past check-out! I'm very impressed.)

Room Tip: Garden Villas: better layouts & more private. Also, I'd advise against villas 1-3. Less priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank IshDewyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear IshDewyn,

Your comments are valuable to us in our commitment to provide the very highest standard of service to our guests. It is gratifying when one of our guest takes the time to let us know of his satisfaction. We appreciate the time that you took to write and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon and to providing with the very best of our hospitality.

The Banjaran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

I stayed three days in Banjaran Hotel and I really enjoy everything. We choose the "villa" package wich gives you a beatiful little house with your private pool, big private external jacuzzi, a beautiful living room (open space with roof) and a very comfortable sleeping room. Everything around you is thought to be very elegant . I'm not talking about the las veagas luxury (banal and pompous luxury) but something completely different. You can feel that everything around you it is made and carefully selected to be at your service with elegance. I reccomend to everyone to spend some days in this natural paradise to relax yourself.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ezequiel_85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Banjaran at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Dear Ezequiel_85

It was a pleasure having you stay with us at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat.
We thank you for your comments and we appreciate you taking the time to write to us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again and to providing with the very best of our hospitality

The Banjaran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

It's a real pardise! Garden villas are wonderful and you can find a lot of privacy there. you will find a personal swimming pool, personal hotspring jacuzzi and an amazing bed. it's the perfect place to relax and to enjoy good moments. even if it is so quiet you will never get bored because the place is so special and you can choose many things to do (massages, spa, jungle walks, gym). all the staff is excellent. food is great even if maybe there is no so much choice.

Room Tip: I think garden villa is better than water villa because it is bigger and with more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tami1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Banjaran Team at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Dear Tami,

It was a pleasure having you staying with us again at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat.
We thank you for your comments and we appreciate you taking the time to write to us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again for a further visit and to providing with the very best of our hospitality

The Banjaran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stepping in to the Banjaran Hot Springs Retreat is akined to stepping into the pages of James Hilton's "Lost Horizon" novel, and his imaginings of a hidden Shangri-la paradise.

Situated placidly in the Malaysian state of Perak, The Banjaran Hotsprings retreat rests within an area of remarkable natural beauty. Nestled in the lush tropical rainforests of Tambun, housed within a 16 acre valley. Malaysia's first luxury 5-Star Wellness Resort. Situated just two hours from Kuala Lumpur, this sophisticated retreat promises to be one of the most exclusive world class destinations for discerning travelers who wish to have a luxury vacation while experiencing the very best in both spiritual and holistic healing. Hosting 25 luxurious villas, each with their own plunge pool and a sunken Jacuzzi with geothermal hot spring water piped directly from the source daily,  and over 40 different treatments and therapies. Think Manolo Blahnik rather than Boot Camp.

The essence of The banjaran can be found in its renowned natural hot springs. Each day, three million litres of fresh water billow up from the ground below, replenishing the hot pools. With crystal-clear waters, these dippingpools offer a highly soothing and restoractive form of therapy.

A true escape for the senses, and a sanctuary from the outside world. Comfortably located amid lush tropical jungle, and embraced on every side by magnificent 400-million-year-old limestone cliffs, The Banjaran Hotsprings retreat is luxury in nature, bound in perfect harmony. Surrounded by an abundance of health-giving hot springs, designed around a philosophy of protecting and conserving the natural environment. Preserving the beauty is The Banjaran's upmost importance, using sustainable practices including the careful management  of water, waste, and energy resources, and a special programme of protecting and planting the surrounding forest. Here, the three strands of malay, Chinese and Indian trdaitions intertwine, breathing new life into contemporary wellness practices. 

Here I found the heart and soul of the of a tyue spa experience, where my road to wellness truly began. I experienced the true inherent Asian philosophy of wellness and treatments from the ancient ethnic traditions of indigenous Malay, Chinese and Indian cultures. Including Ayurvedic therapies and Malay healing rituals to contemporary spa treatments, enjoing both pure and natural ingredients with the intention of improving my wellbeing. With both The Banjaran Retreat and The Lost World staff are mostly all local residents from the surrounding villages, drawing upon the local knowledge and talent. With a few addtional specialist brought in from the the surrounding region. The Banjaran Hot Springs Retreat is Perak's holistic jewel in the crown!

~ Leroy Mark Ford
(Singapore)
April 2011

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LeroyMarkFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Banjaran Team. at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Mr. Ford

It was a pleasure having you with us sometime back at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat.
We thank you for your comments and we appreciate the time that you took to write to us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again and to providing with the very best of our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

A real five star hotel .
Amazing room with private pool and a very beautiful open air living room .
The best thing of the room is the Jacuzzi that has water from the hot springs.
The food is very good and nicely presented.
Do not miss the Cellar bar , a cave has been turned into a bar . You have to go at least once for a drink . ( take a jacket with you because it is quite cold inside )
Very pleased with the hotel’s spa.
If you wish to go to the Seven Wonders Park I suggest you take the trail from the hotel , but first talk to the reception in order to open the door for you when you arrive to the park.
It is worth walking at this path although the park is not so good.
It is also worth visiting the Zen cave it is very impressive .
The staff extremely polite and helpful .

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Alexandros D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this review, July 27, 2011
Dear Guest,

Your comments are a valuable tool in our commitment to provide higher standards of service to our guests. It is gratifying when one of our guest takes the time to let us know of his satisfaction. We appreciate the time that you took to write and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back again and to providing with the very best of our hospitality.

The Banjaran Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.6 mi away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
5.5 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#3 of 60 in Ipoh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
6.2 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lost World Hotel
Lost World Hotel
#15 of 60 in Ipoh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
8.2 mi away
M Boutique Station 18
5.2 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#6 of 60 in Ipoh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat

Property: The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
Address: 1 Persiaran Lagun Sunway 3 | Sunway City Ipoh, Ipoh 31150, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ipoh
#1 Spa Hotel in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat is an integrated luxury wellness and spa retreat in Ipoh. The 5-star retreat is situated on a 16.19 Acre valley nestled within a cluster of towering limestone hills and features a combination of natural caves, pristine jungle, waterfalls and geothermal hot springs. It is a self-contained sanctuary consisting of 25 luxury villas offering holistic wellness and spa experiences inspired by authentic Malaysian practices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat Hotel Ipoh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing