We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat
Nearby Hotels
$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ipoh French Hotel(Ipoh)(Great Value!)
$36
$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh(Ipoh)(Great Value!)
$32
$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$28
$26
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$26
$21
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Station 18(Ipoh)(Great Value!)
$20
$18
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
$25
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$280
$125
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
MU Hotel(Ipoh)(Great Value!)
$51
$47
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (849)
Filter reviews
849 results
Traveler rating
686
134
17
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
686
134
17
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrystal cavewater villajeff's cellarsteam cavegarden villaprivate pooljungle walkfish spapomelo restauranthot springsdr fishwine cellargeothermal waterdipping potsdipping poolice bathspa treatments
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
770 - 775 of 849 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Stepping in to the Banjaran Hot Springs Retreat is akined to stepping into the pages of James Hilton's "Lost Horizon" novel, and his imaginings of a hidden Shangri-la paradise.

Situated placidly in the Malaysian state of Perak, The Banjaran Hotsprings retreat rests within an area of remarkable natural beauty. Nestled in the lush tropical rainforests of Tambun, housed within a 16 acre valley. Malaysia's first luxury 5-Star Wellness Resort. Situated just two hours from Kuala Lumpur, this sophisticated retreat promises to be one of the most exclusive world class destinations for discerning travelers who wish to have a luxury vacation while experiencing the very best in both spiritual and holistic healing. Hosting 25 luxurious villas, each with their own plunge pool and a sunken Jacuzzi with geothermal hot spring water piped directly from the source daily,  and over 40 different treatments and therapies. Think Manolo Blahnik rather than Boot Camp.

The essence of The banjaran can be found in its renowned natural hot springs. Each day, three million litres of fresh water billow up from the ground below, replenishing the hot pools. With crystal-clear waters, these dippingpools offer a highly soothing and restoractive form of therapy.

A true escape for the senses, and a sanctuary from the outside world. Comfortably located amid lush tropical jungle, and embraced on every side by magnificent 400-million-year-old limestone cliffs, The Banjaran Hotsprings retreat is luxury in nature, bound in perfect harmony. Surrounded by an abundance of health-giving hot springs, designed around a philosophy of protecting and conserving the natural environment. Preserving the beauty is The Banjaran's upmost importance, using sustainable practices including the careful management  of water, waste, and energy resources, and a special programme of protecting and planting the surrounding forest. Here, the three strands of malay, Chinese and Indian trdaitions intertwine, breathing new life into contemporary wellness practices. 

Here I found the heart and soul of the of a tyue spa experience, where my road to wellness truly began. I experienced the true inherent Asian philosophy of wellness and treatments from the ancient ethnic traditions of indigenous Malay, Chinese and Indian cultures. Including Ayurvedic therapies and Malay healing rituals to contemporary spa treatments, enjoing both pure and natural ingredients with the intention of improving my wellbeing. With both The Banjaran Retreat and The Lost World staff are mostly all local residents from the surrounding villages, drawing upon the local knowledge and talent. With a few addtional specialist brought in from the the surrounding region. The Banjaran Hot Springs Retreat is Perak's holistic jewel in the crown!

~ Leroy Mark Ford
(Singapore)
April 2011

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank LeroyMarkFord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Banjaran Team. at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Dear Mr. Ford

It was a pleasure having you with us sometime back at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat.
We thank you for your comments and we appreciate the time that you took to write to us.
We look forward to welcoming you back again and to providing with the very best of our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

A real five star hotel .
Amazing room with private pool and a very beautiful open air living room .
The best thing of the room is the Jacuzzi that has water from the hot springs.
The food is very good and nicely presented.
Do not miss the Cellar bar , a cave has been turned into a bar . You have to go at least once for a drink . ( take a jacket with you because it is quite cold inside )
Very pleased with the hotel’s spa.
If you wish to go to the Seven Wonders Park I suggest you take the trail from the hotel , but first talk to the reception in order to open the door for you when you arrive to the park.
It is worth walking at this path although the park is not so good.
It is also worth visiting the Zen cave it is very impressive .
The staff extremely polite and helpful .

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Alexandros D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, The Management at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2011

Dear Guest,

Your comments are a valuable tool in our commitment to provide higher standards of service to our guests. It is gratifying when one of our guest takes the time to let us know of his satisfaction. We appreciate the time that you took to write and we thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We look forward to welcoming you back again and to providing with the very best of our hospitality.

The Banjaran Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2011

absolutely loved the villa with its own plunge pool, and natural hot spring tub. the bedroom and bathroom was just perfect. the entire place was just unbelivable from the meditation cave, to Jeff's cellar and the excellent spa treatments. i especially enjoyed the spa cuisine. must try the pomelo and prawn salad, and the freshly baked bread. it's a shame the portions weren't 'American diner super sizes' as the taste was so yummy it made me want more!! a great getaway just 2 hours from KL.

Room Tip: the garden villa was just amazing
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank speechsoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

If you love green environment and privacy, this is the best place for you to stay in Malaysia. The hotel is new and clean, the service here is fantastic too. You will find back the passions between you and your love one here after many years of marriage or being together. I love the private pool and the (hot spring water) Jacuzzi in our own villa. We used to read or do nothing in the lovely open living room.

Room Tip: Call them or e-mail them to get the best offer.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TIFFANYSOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

EXQUISITE. VERY UNIQUE EXPERIENCE. The Garden Villa we stayed in was very exclusive, private and every elements exuded class and quality. Right from the moment we arrived, every aspect of our stay was cared for. Very detailed and well-thought of. Every villas have their own plunge pool and get this- geothermal jacuzzi, all within the secluded exclusivity in your villa. Highly recommended place for couples, young and old either to build a new relationship, or to rekindle an existing one. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AwesomeBlossome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBanjaran, Director of Sales at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2011

Dear Guest,

We at The Banjaran Hotsprings Retreat are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us so much. Thank you for taking time to write this review. We look forward to welcoming you at The Banjaran again and making your next holiday a success.

The Management
The Banjaran Hotspings Retreat

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews