We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hospitality experience ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tower Regency Hotel
Ranked #41 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Reviewed April 17, 2009

We should have wised up when we had reservation problems with their salesperson, who somehow found it incredible that we wouldn't take his word for it, and insisted on a confirmation number.

When we arrived at after 4 pm (check-in time was after 3), only 2 out of 4 of our 2BR suites were ready. They couldn't find our reservation using any of our names. When we finally got into the rooms, 1 room couldn't be locked. Another didn't have hot water. The floor was dirty in all the rooms. 1 room had a choked toilet. Card reader in 1 room was defective, hence room had no power. There was no note beside the hotel phone to tell you what number to dial for reception. Water in the bathroom couldn't flow out properly, leading to wet floors and flooding in the rooms. Towel racks were rusty. All our specific room requests (which we were promised would be taken care of) were not. Breakfast in the morning was inadequate. Food, plates, and cups ran out at various stages.

It only seems funny now because we've left the hotel...

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoot69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 251 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2009

We spent a weekend at Ipoh and stayed at this hotel. Tower Regency Hotel is only 2 - 3 months old and the condition of this hotel is excellent. We stayed at the Apartments coz the rooms are fully booked. The bedding and towels are clean and the apartment is spacious with 2 bedroom which can easily fit my family (2 adults + 2 children).
The rates are also low at RM220nett per night plus breakfast for 4!!!
However, the pool is rather small and the internet booking is still not available. Reservation is only via phone, their number is +605-2418888.
It is good that there is a new hotel in Ipoh as the rest are rather old, also the industry in Ipoh needs to be more competitive.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ecnyew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frank0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Bilik normal sudah cukup, masih dapat bilik bertingkap yang memandang bandar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jai K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank バルセロナ2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled on business
Thank peterst1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlos c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.6 mi away
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Ritz Garden Hotel
Ritz Garden Hotel
#37 of 63 in Ipoh
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
#11 of 63 in Ipoh
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
Hotel Excelsior Ipoh
#15 of 63 in Ipoh
218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Syuen Hotel
Syuen Hotel
#29 of 63 in Ipoh
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#6 of 63 in Ipoh
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tower Regency Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tower Regency Hotel

Address: 6 - 8 Jalan Dato Seri Ahmad Said | Greentown, Ipoh 30450, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range: $35 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tower Regency Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located within the main business hub of Ipoh city center, Tower Regency Hotel & Apartments combine refined luxury with unparalleled accessibility to provide a uniquely sophisticated living experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Tower Regency Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing