We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and modern hotel”
Review of Ipoh French Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ipoh French Hotel
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“New and modern hotel”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Clean, modern, new hotel located in the centre of Ipoh. Free Wifi is a bonus. Pity it has no breakfast included. Very good price quality!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emigras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    303
    49
    10
    4
See reviews for
162
215
49
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Very clean, new hotel, very good customer service, reasonable prices, free VIFI, 10 out of 10,
look forward to go back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank naeem-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa luzia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

We booked one room to stay in this hotel 3 nights superior king . When we arrived to the Hotel the management told us that the room has no view but it was cosy. When open the door we saw no window at all . It was not a room but a BOX .
Come to the reception and say we could not stay in this "room" . We have been upgraded to twin single de luxe. They managed to put together the beds.

The room now is ok , with two windows . The room is clean.
Check out - the bill was not at we planned to pay but 30 RM more for the upgrade. The management did not want to hear that they should specify during the booking that there is boxes in their Hotel . management is polite but nothing else

Room Tip: Rooms with windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joe-frany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2012

This hotel is right in the middle of Ipoh. Clean, modern en supernew when we stayed there. Beds are very nice with topper on it. The staff is so friendly! They do everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. We used this hotel as a basis to visit Cameron Highlands and the Ipoh area at once. Small remarks: There is no minibar or safe in the room. In our case for cooling of my medicine the manager was so helpfull they arranged a central fridge that we could use.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fromhollandwithlove2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have travelled over the world and stayed in most types of Hotels, but have never stayed in a hotel which is a NON SMOKING HOTEL and the management that have the courage to charge guest a minimum of RM200.00 for those ignoring that rule.
Most impressive hotel, scrupulously clean. Staff courteous, helpful and friendly. Quality of the bedding and equipment is first class. Pity there are only 48 rooms, because I believe this hotel will be a favourite for people like me from England. Ipoh is not normally as well known as Penang or KL. But it is now fast becoming a tourist attraction with so many impressive places to see. The young manager is a credit to the establishment.
It is unbelievably cheap, so hurry, I cannot see the prices lasting very long. A few additions are needed, but I understand those are in hand. I give it 9 out of 10. I will certainly recommend my friends to stay here.

Jerome C Bateman FIH MCMI (UK)

Room Tip: Value for money in the middle of Ipoh Town. All Level offer less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jerome B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

I have recently went there with some friends and booked two rooms. We walked in on a Saturday and there were only 3 rooms left. Advisable to book in advance if you need more rooms.

Room and toilet are clean and modern. Although rooms are not very spacious, it was comfortable for a night stay. There is also complimentary wifi and car park for guest with car for night stay. Towels are also provided.

It is located near to the famous Ipoh chicken rice and salted chicken restaurants. Also not far away to Ipoh Parade.

Would consider staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view on the city. Corner rooms are more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amateur_Traveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stayed here with a colleague for 2 nights on 23 and 24 November 2011. Lobby is clean with a very modern set-up. The hotel officially opened for business on 20.11.2011.

Rooms assigned to us were very spacious and with chic and trendy design. Since it is still new, rooms were clean and comfortable. Linen and bed were of high quality and clean. Bathrooms were of good size with rain shower minimalist design.

Daily complimentary coffee/tea and mineral water were available in room. They do not have any F & B outlet in the hotel.

Location of the hotel is superb with 7-Eleven next door, 24-hour KFC within walking distance, money changer across the road, a supermarket few buildings away, 2 minutes walk to Pizza Hut and plenty of eateries nearby.

The hotel is excellent for business travellers on a short trip. Definitely will stay here again if I am back to Ipoh.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CeaserBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.8 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
0.5 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
549 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
M Boutique Station 18
0.3 mi away
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
#11 of 63 in Ipoh
387 reviews
0.5 mi away
MU Hotel
MU Hotel
#7 of 63 in Ipoh
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ipoh French Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ipoh French Hotel

Property: Ipoh French Hotel
Address: Hotel French 60 - 62 Jalan Dato Onn Jaafar, Ipoh 30300, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ipoh French Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
iFH is a 48 rooms, Business cum Family Hotel in the heart of Ipoh City. iFH provides a very clean environment, a smoke free atmosphere in all area. Hotel is equipped with wholesome amenities and manned by a warm & caring 24 hours front desk service. Average All-In Room Price is about RM150, this covers Government tax, etc (breakfast not included). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ipoh French Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing