We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Much To Expect”
Review of Fair Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fair Park Hotel
Ranked #37 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Reviewed October 9, 2011

Room was clean and just nice. Bathroom looks gloomy. Okay for short stay but don't expect much.
Hope they improve the WiFi service cause it was terrible in the room and change the old bulky TV.
Staff at reception were not friendly and not easy to get parking.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ally2582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (106)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 106 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2011

OMG! I guess these three letters have already summed up my review of the hotel...
Where to start? Wanted to have a quick weekend getaway with wife. Planned to stay for 3D2N. Lobby ok-ish, but receptionist not friendly and haven't smiled to us for any second of our stay.
Room? Better to sleep in my house... Room in hotel dreary. Carpet has aged badly, wardrobe looks like it has been terrorized. Toilet as good as any badly maintained public toilet... floor isn't cleaned at all. Mattress and cover looks like it belong in a dump.
Price doesn't suit what is offered. I had cut the trip short. Go home with a broken heart... and a dent in my wallet.
Avoid at all cost!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bvc100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond_Tanggapan, Duty Manager at Fair Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2011

Dear Sir / Mdm,

We thank you for your comments about your recent stay with us. It certainly moves us into action.
We do want to hear your review and hope you will choose to stay with us on your next trip to Ipoh
Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused to you.

Best Regards
Desmond Tanggapan
Duty Manager, Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

Forget 4 star hotels with high class names, this hotel is adequate if you wish a clean, very reasonable rate. The only gripe I have is the limited parking space.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoeH160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We stayed at Fair Park Hotel on our short trip to Ipoh in April 2010. We chose that hotel purely due to good comments written in Trip Advisor and well seriously, it was not that bad (except for the breakfast)
Checking-in was easy, even though we came by walk-in. The receptionist was nice to us. There was a computer with free Internet access near the receptionist area. Our Standard room was located at the new wing, so everything was pretty new and clean. Room size is considered spacious, it was easy for both of us to move around. Basic necessities were there, TV, comfy bed, wardrobe, water heater and toiletries. No bath tub and no window in that type of room. No swimming pool and no gym in the hotel.
Parking area was pretty small and cramped. In front of the hotel, there were shops and clinics. Jusco Kinta City was only few minutes away.
However, there were not many choices on the breakfast. For additional RM20 we pay, it was not quite worth it. They served only mee, kuew teow goreng, watermelon, bread, butter and jam, cornflakes and milk and that was all. I guess we could get more if we eat outside. But anyway, the waitress were courteous and nice.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zul_Zal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

Stayed in Fair Park Hotel for a week in Dec 2009, for work purposes, with a group of colleagues.

Hotel is simple, yet has all the necessities that one needs at the end of a long day, when all one wants is a hot shower, hot drink, and bed to sleep in.

Location wise, Fair Park was pretty decent - there was a Chinese restaurant across the street, and a Indian food corner a few meters away, as well as a 7-11 Convenience store and a burger stall (at night only). We generally had to wait about 10-15 minutes to hail a cab at night - it is much easier to hail one during the daytime. It was about 20 minutes walk away from the 'Gerbang Malam' night market, as well as a basic shopping mall.

Rooms were equipped with TV, coffee/tea making facilities, and wardrobes. However take note that there is no gym/swimming pool. For the price and promotion that we got, we were not complaining! There was also a computer for use in the lobby, and wi-fi access in all rooms.

The only downside to the hotel was the plumbing and water supply for the standard rooms in the old wing. Half of our group stayed in Standard Rooms (both old wing and new wing) and the other half stayed in Superior Rooms (old wing). For the Standard room - it is worth to pay an extra RM10 and stay in the new wing, as the shower facilities are much better than the new wing.

Those who stayed in the old wing Standard rooms (1st floor) faced problems with the hot water - there was no/very limited hot water, as we were told that the tank was shared with the higher floors, which basically meant that if the guys upstairs were having their baths, we would not get any hot water. Matter was raised to the staff 3 times, but they claimed to be fully booked and could not change our rooms. However they tried their best to accommodate us, and sent someone to look into the matter - but it was not fixed during the week that we were there. Those on the upper floors (superior rooms) and New wing standard rooms had no issues with their water supply!

One of the standard rooms also had an issue with the water flow, as after a shower, the water in the bathroom would take at least an hour to fully subside, which gave it a 'swampy' kind of feeling.

The Superior rooms had much more space than the standard rooms, which were more suited for budget travelers. However facilities were the same, so basically one is paying for the extra space, which is handy when you want space to do some work (i.e. laptop & table).

Overall, a good basic hotel with staff that tries their best to assist you. Would recommend this to those who are traveling on a budget, as well as those who want a simple room with adequate facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sue162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Stayed there 2 years ago. It should not be called a budget hotel cos it's bigger than a small hotel. Rooms okay; I like the new rooms better. I remember one receptionist who is nice and friendly. No, she is not a gorgeous hot girl. Her service is a reminder of this hotel. Oh YEs, I wonder if the buy 1 free 1 still available.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lilytan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tatyana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
2 mi away
Indra Hotel - Boutique Suites
1 mi away
Ipoh Boutique Hotel
Ipoh Boutique Hotel
#34 of 63 in Ipoh
101 reviews
0.7 mi away
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
Regalodge Hotel Ipoh
#11 of 63 in Ipoh
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Seemsoon Hotel
Seemsoon Hotel
#26 of 63 in Ipoh
103 reviews
2.5 mi away
De Botani Hotel
De Botani Hotel
#25 of 63 in Ipoh
25 reviews
1 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fair Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fair Park Hotel

Address: Hotel Fair Park 85 Jalan Kamaruddin Isa, Ipoh 31400, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 63 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range: $27 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Fair Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fair Park Hotel features multilingual staff, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and laundry facilities. Event facilities measuring 2762 square feet (249 square meters) include a conference center, conference space, and meeting rooms. Public areas are equipped with complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access. For a surcharge, the property provides a shopping center shuttle and a train station pick-up service. This Ipoh hotel also offers dry cleaning/laundry services and an elevator (lift). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Fair Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing