We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Chicken Rice in IPOH, so they say”

Restoran Nasi Ayam Pak Kong
Ranked #48 of 676 Restaurants in Ipoh
Restaurant details
Reviewed September 21, 2018

Our tour guide promised us a delicious lunch. Ipoh is known for Chicken rice and they say the best is at Nasi Ayam Pak Kong. It looks like a restaurant you would see in old Chinatown but I believe it is a family run business with a high turnover of people. You also can't just order the chicken rice as they had lots of delicious items on the menu. No airconditioning so if its a hot day, it's hot inside but the food's aroma and taste are absolute heaven.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lpk325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 27 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2018

We had one of the best meals of pur three month trip here. The restaurant does stdamed and roast fowl with rice. We were first given a bowl of chicksn soup, salty and flavoursome. We then had roasted chicken with rice, served with spring onions and cucmber. The taste was amazing. We had one dish with char siew and it had a rich flavour. With simple drinks it cost less than 13rm for two. The place is very professional and very crowded so you may have to lurk aroound for a table and will probably share a table with others but it is definitely worth it!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kathyk0l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Just went there to had my lunch. The store is famous for chicken rice. I also tried their char siew. So tender! Pork chop is so good! This stall is one of the signature at Ipoh!

Must try food:
Chicken (roasted/steam)
Char siew
Pork chop

Food: 5/5

Waiting time at least 20 minutes
(Because it always have a queue)

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank wayne02080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2018 via mobile

Char siew was nice. Steamed chicken was smooth but below my expectation. The rice was fragrant. Went barely 10 minutes after they opened, crowd was building up steadily. Would recommend. Clean n friendly staff. We also bought the pickled vegetables.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank klanggal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018

According to the staff t-shirts, Pak Kong has been around since 1957. This place is better than the overly commercialised Lou Wong (which is nearby). The chicken rice here is good and so is the char siu. However, the siew yoke and the complimentary soup is so-so only. Also, the standard serving of taugeh (RM3.00) is quite small.

If you want to avoid the crowds come a bit earlier like 11 to 11.30am.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank jchong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restoran Nasi Ayam Pak Kong also viewed

 

Been to Restoran Nasi Ayam Pak Kong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing