We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Affordable, Comfortable, Budget-Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Caspian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Caspian Hotel
Ranked #39 of 60 Hotels in Ipoh
George Town, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Affordable, Comfortable, Budget-Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights in October. Wasn't really impressed at first - the reception area is in need of refurbishment & there is no elevator. However, the room was alright & met our expectations. Got the room with 2 double beds, it wasn't cramped and was quite clean to our standards. The 'must have' basic amenities - air cond, TV, attached bathroom & water heater, were all included. Certainly not luxurious, but comfortable in an unassuming way. Was surprised that they have free Wifi, you don't get that often in hotels around the same price range!

Overall, it was worth what we paid for it. Location wise, it is situated on a quiet street off the main road, within walking distance away from various amenities. There is good food just a block away at night, if you don't mind walking in the dimly lit streets. You will find plenty of coffee shops & food stalls around the other side of the block during the day. Also located not far from the Ipoh Parade shopping centre, which is about a 10 minute walk away

What we liked - Quite well maintained, free wifi, quiet location, near to various amenities, value for money

What we disliked - The road leading to the hotel from the main road which was dark & unwelcoming at night, open uncovered car park

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J0shie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    10
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
8
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2011

Stayed a night and had a very pleasant stay. Very affordable (about US$20 to US$25), basic amenities, clean, friendly staff, located in the quieter part of old Ipoh town and convenient private car park. Superb location to stay and savour fantastic Ipoh street food, all located within half a kilometer - beef noodles, chicken rice, Ipoh bean sprouts, fantastic noodles, breakfast goodies, all types of famous Ipoh coffee, etc. Just ask the reception where to walk to for your favourite food and you will be glad the hotel don't provide breakfast or room service.!!! The wet market is also nearby and it is a very interesting place to see the goodies the locals buy for their daily needs. If you like to go upmarket there is a Parkson shopping mall within walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teohuibek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

Spent 2 nights in this hotel in aug. 2011. Rooms and bathrooms would need some serious refurbishment but are nonetheless rather clean. Air con and free wifi access. Location not the best but within walking distance from main POI in Ipoh. Very friendly staff. All in all quite a good bargain when travelling on a tight budget.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poulette01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

We only stayed here for one night and it really didn't leave the best impression. The room was littered with moth balls in every corner, which I suppose were there to masquerade the smell of stale cigarettes.
The toilet flush didn't work and the curtains were plastic?? and dirty. The next day my hair smelt of cigarettes and mothballs and so too did all the clothes in my pack.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank seaswim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ipoh hotels

Paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

Friendly staff, cheap hotel, but could be cleaner. There is no breakfast at the hotel but many restaurants nearby. Definitely a good option considering there is no much choice of good hotels in Ipoh. Having taken a drink at the majestic, definitely would go back to the new caspian if we had to.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Urbanworker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muar, Johor
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2008

a very nice hotel where it's facilities and rooms are rather comfortable and clean too..
all the usual amenities(water heater, parking space, tv, etc) are provided as well and also they have friendly staff there...
Chinese foods are abundant nearby provided you ask the staff there for some guidance(around 5-10 mins walk)

If you all are passing by Ipoh and wanted to find a place to stay.. i recommend this hotel...

Sorry for not able to provide any phone number or pics...
i jus saw this TripAdvisor page...
there will be pictures in the future,,, stay tuned!@!

  • Liked — good service, friendly staff, and situated near busy places such as banks, malls, flea markets
  • Disliked — don't park your car within the compund of the hotel... there are bird droppings every morning pn your car if you do.. haha
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RooKieSlaYer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ipoh hotels
0.2 mi away
D Eastern Hotel
D Eastern Hotel
#31 of 60 in Ipoh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chariton Hotel Ipoh
Chariton Hotel Ipoh
#35 of 60 in Ipoh
3.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dragon & Phoenix Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pi
Hotel Pi
#19 of 60 in Ipoh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Eastana
Hotel Eastana
#37 of 60 in Ipoh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
2.1 mi away
De Botani Hotel
De Botani Hotel
#20 of 60 in Ipoh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Caspian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Caspian Hotel

Property: New Caspian Hotel
Address: 6-8-10 Jalan Jubilee, Ipoh, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak > Kinta District > Ipoh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 60 Hotels in Ipoh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
2 double bed type ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your New Caspian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing