We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to unwind”
Review of The Roots

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Roots
Ranked #15 of 224 Perak B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Very safe eco-resort as you need to ring the buzzer to drive in. Lady co-owner is friendly and check-in is complete within 5 min. We stayed in the three house with one King Size and 1 double decker bed and the kids are excited with it as it has a Jacuzzi on the balcony. We spend out time playing ping pong, dart and basketball. The pool is very inviting and we love the sound of rapid waters as there is a river just beside our treehouse. We had chicken chop, spaghetti and pizza for dinner which is cooked by the lady co-owner and my kids passed it with flying colors. Buffet breakfast is just nice and we were lucky that we get to pluck rambutans as it was in season.

Room Tip: Choose the treehouse to get a real feel of staying in a 'jungle' with modern facilities
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Christine Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for The Roots
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

22 - 28 of 55 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

its a great place to stay especially if you like the quiet place. There is a river beside, you may just sitting there doing nothing. When it comes to the fruit season, you may just enjoy plucking the fruits there. At the moment, its the flowering season. The attentive staff with sincere smile makes you feel so warm. The room is fantastic and service too. Their service is for 24-hours. Totally great for their service. Every workers are friendly. They will clean a wonderful room for you. Besides, if you love nature, you will love the place. Its amazing. The food prepared by the staff is great as well. Though you have to wait for a little while, it's worth for that.. There prepared that with their sincere heart!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StephyChao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

It's surrounded by nature with nothing much to do except watching the day goes by slowly, which was exactly what we're looking for. We spent most of our time taking a dip in the swimming pool when the sun is out or warming ourselves nicely in the jacuzzi when it's raining. The buffet breakfast served was average but we didn't expect much anyway. The owner is supernice too. Though check in is at 3pm, she let us into our room at 11am so that we didn't have to wait. We've booked the treehouse deluxe. The room is spacious and clean.

It would be nicer, however, if the room is equipped by a TV as it can get quite lonely at night. The treehouse is located next to the road, so not recommemded for light sleeper. But we didn't really mind the noise. The trash outside of our room was not cleared out and it started to stink. The jacuzzi for the treehouse is not that private but we enjoyed it anyway. I wish the bar is open so we could have drinks by the pool at night.

I love Quentin the doberman, the cats and even the turkeys. But the parrots, especially Hugo, are in a sad condition. I don't think they should keep caged birds in an eco resort.

Despite all these, i would still come back. Had a great, peaceful time at the resort

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yunie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This eco-resort is actually quite nice and can be quite outstanding if the owners iron out few things.

We stayed at the tree house deluxe and luckily we didn't get any of the 3 units of tree houses which are too close to the main road (maybe these 3 units are not 'deluxe'). Too many reviews before about the traffic noise and sadly, if you had gotten any of these 3 units, those reviews are indeed true.

Our unit had a private outdoor jacuzzi but the jacuzzi is really not that private...anyone at the resort cafe can see us if they had wanted to.

Then you have these 3 exotic birds caged within the resort for guests to ogle at. But seriously, our heart goes out to the birds. Especially when you call this resort an 'eco-resort'. Let us put it this way...imagine you were in this fairy tale Jack & the Beanstalk and the giant decides to cage you for show. How would you feel ?

A big plus for this resort is that it's right next to the Kinta River. The owners however only got their gardener to tidy up the riverbank near the pool area but not elsewhere. The riverbank near the chalets are overgrown with bushes (we didn't mind the natural trees) and we wouldn't recommend anyone to hang out near the chalets' riverbank. We don't think it cost anything to get the gardener to tidy up the whole stretch of the resort's riverbank.

The biggest letdown was the bar at the pool that was never open. According to the resort manager (a very pleasant lady), the bar opens only for private bookings. Such a shame because the bar together with light music would have definitely liven up the place. And we would probably have spent tons of money there on drinks and light food whilst relaxing & enjoying the view of Kinta River and Gunung Korbu.

All in all, we did enjoy our stay.

Like we said, the idea is there but they need to work a bit on it.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road are recommended.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mauritiusman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Resort suffers from a very serious mosquitoes infestation problem. The main cause is probably due to lack of waste water outlets in the shower area. The floor of the toilet/shower area is covered with pebbles. Without any water outlets, waste water from one's shower will stagnate on the floor of pebbles. Over time, these pools of stagnant water will become rich mosquitoes breeding grounds. Highly recommended that potential guests bring along an effective mosquitoes repellent during their stay in this 'resort'!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kok Wai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

One night is barely enough to describe our experience staying here. For one, getting here is easy with Waze. Just look up for The Roots and you're all set to go, located along the trunk road passing by Tanjung Rambutan and set against the breathtaking view of Mount Korbu, known as the second highest mountain in the peninsular. Don't worry about petrol or convenience stores like we did, as we found out that as remote as it looks, quite a handful of them are available within the vicinity so it's a good idea to have your personal mode of transport to get around places and explore. ;)

Like other reviews have mentioned, call up the office once arrived to be let into The Roots. Once in, you'll be greeted by Ms. Meena, a warm friendly lady who loves to share with you everything you'd like to know about the eco-resort and her faithful companion Doberman, Quentin, with specialty in ssssnake hunting! No kidding. There's also Vodka the sheepish cat, only to be spotted upon our check-out the next day.

Anyway, both Ms. Meena and Quentin will be happy to show you the way to your stay and that's when you'll experience a somewhat time zone difference. The place is serenely quiet except for the cheering sound of robins and ecstatic squirrels, occasional breeze from the humid afternoon and the steady flow of Kinta river next to the resort. Having stayed at a similar backdrop during my younger days I was able to relive those precious moments that I missed then, and The Roots reminded me again on how good it feels, to be this close to nature.

The Roots is rooted on an orchard farm where tropical fruits such as durians, rambutans and mangosteen are abundant, and free! Well, only if you arrive at the right season that is. The trees were only about to flower when we arrive so TIP: make your way here around December this year to enjoy the fruit feast. ;) It's hard to imagine that the place was, according to Ms. Meena, crowded with big groups just a week ago (up to 60 pax!) due to the long holidays, so I guess if your intention is to have a nice little retreat, to get away from noise other than the sound of crickets accompanying your sleep at night, choose a random weekend stay for best experience.

We were given the spacious Orchard Villa, which can accommodate up to 4 people or a small family; a queen-sized bed and a bunk bed on the side. Everything you see (with the rest of Villas we believed) are built from scratch, hand constructed using wood-bamboo variety with minimalistic design in mind i.e. the wooden towel rack installed on the side of the bunk bed. There is A/C, a ceiling fan with dim lights, shelf to place your belongings, towels, toilet rolls, even a safe and a cooling fridge! That's something I wouldn't thought of since I told my husband prior to our journey that there wouldn't be a TV in the room.

I know the best part for many would be the jacuzzi tub right outside of your villa but for me, the semi open-air bathroom space enclosed by brick and bamboos and pebble flooring is my favourite. There's ample lighting for toilet trips at night, power hot shower and the toilet flush is working. The facilities are pretty basic but works better than what I had expected, given the rustic condition of the place. Be sure to keep your windows and doors closed at all times to minimise the number of 'uninvited guests' into the room... mosquitoes of course! Keep your sprays and repellents handy if you're not too keen on their presence.

Besides hanging out in the jacuzzi, you could try the swimming pool or watch time goes by from the Kinta river bank. There's a bar by the pool that seems to cater for huge BBQ session, a sand pit for children and a volleyball sand court, not forgetting to mention the variety of birds and peasants roaming freely. Ms Meena briefly mentioned that just the other day some otters have decided to drop by for a swim only to be scared off by the over-friendly Quentin. And squirrels that have made their love nest at one of the tree tops. Things like this, that I wish I could have stayed longer to witness. There are many things to see, if you look closely.

Perhaps a little too bad is that we didn't stay on for dinner as we were out to town to run errands and even missed our breakfast (inclusive of stay) the next day (we oversnoozed!) but foods shouldn't be too much of a concern if you're one with simplicity which I'm sure The Roots would be willing to accommodate. I would love to come back someday and share the beauty of this charming place.

So the grass is indeed greener here. I wouldn't have known that such beautiful place exists in the quiet town of Ipoh if it weren't for a deal site but, never too late, right?

Your turn now. :)

Room Tip: Orchard villa is good enough for a small family of 4.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ThCy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

its a great place to stay especially if you like the quiet place. There is a river beside, you may just sitting there doing nothing. When it comes to the fruit season, you may just enjoy plucking the fruits there. At the moment, its the flowering season. The attentive staff with sincere smile makes you feel so warm. The room is fantastic. If you love nature, you will love the place. Its amazing. The food prepared by the staff is great as well. Though you have to wait for a little while, it's worth for that.. There prepared that with their sincere heart.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yen1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perak hotels
2.7 mi away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
7.7 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#4 of 63 in Ipoh
627 reviews
7.7 mi away
Kinta Riverfront Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ipoh Bali Hotel
Ipoh Bali Hotel
#9 of 63 in Ipoh
116 reviews
7.6 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#6 of 63 in Ipoh
585 reviews
8.5 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roots

Address: Batu 10 1/2 Mile Jalan Chemor | Tanjong Rambutan, 31250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 224 B&Bs / Inns in Perak
Price Range: $79 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Roots 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Roots reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roots Hotel Perak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing