We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and wonderful place to stay”
Review of The Roots

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Roots
Ranked #13 of 220 Perak B&B and Inns
Friedrichshafen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing and wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Happy people, nice and friendly. Personally I think it's a cool site to relax during holiday. Staying there has been a pleasure since it's located so well directly to a river and freakingly close to the jungle. It's surrounding is just amazing and peaceful.
Houses and beds are cozy and very comfortable. Fairly I have to say ... I slept very well in those beds :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    22
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
18
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a great place for a chill-out trip. Spent one night here. The owners are really friendly. So are their pets. The entire private b&b is located within an orchard, with turkeys, chickens, and pheasants walking around the free range. It's next to the Kinta River, which is quite nice. Next door is a family farm and a stud farm. The owners told us that if we visited during June the fruit trees would have produce and we could eat them. Nice nature escape. Be sure to ask for the Orchard villas as they are located away from the road, hence quieter. It's 15 minutes from Ipoh town. And yes, for an eco-styled place it's very clean (with air-cond and water heater).

Room Tip: Pick the orchard villas as they are away from the road. Less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faltasian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We (2 adults & 4 kids) stayed over at the Roots during the recent CNY holidays 9th-12th Feb booked directly with the resort itself. We didn't want to put our hopes too high on resorts like this as it will normally fall short of our expectation but it was worth the drive. Our mistake was to travel during the eve of CNY, it took us in total 7 hrs to reach Ipoh....torture torture.
The location of this resort is a few meters after Hospital Bahagia, next tot he National Stud Farm. As we arrived the place looks very quiet despite it being near the road, Meena the owner made the check in very quick & easy and Quintin the resident doberman was there to greet us too. (very friendly dog,my 2+ yr boy was his bff during the stay). We stayed in the Orchard Villa (incl of breakfast) which comes with 2 bunk beds & 2 single beds just nice for our family. The kids were excited with the partial open-air toilets. The room is very basic, comes with aircon,ceiling fan,coffee/tea,kettle & water heater but no TV or fridge. TV is only available at the lounge area. (good way to meet new people)

The swimming pool was divine..as it is made out of marble, the water was cold & nice. Next to the resort runs Sg Kinta, it was very relaxing just sitting by the gazebo to do meditation or just to catch up on your reading. The currents at the river was abit strong so, family with kids, please be careful. Breakfast was nice, nothing fancy, but it was enough choices for our family.

The Roots feels very down to earth almost like home :) we met new friends during this trip & they felt the same way too. Our family enjoyed going back to nature & it was stress free for us. I would recommend this to people who are enjoy nature & not to particular about having the standard resort amenities. It is like being in a nice kampung.....

Thank you to Meena,Reuban & all the staff at Roots, we had a good family time & it was nice knowing you all. We hope to make another trip with our friends one day

Room Tip: If you like peace & quiet, request for rooms that are at the back of the orchard. More peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OrrieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We extended our stay here from 3 to 6 days. Nice and spacious bamboohuts set in a eco-friendly and beautiful environment. Lovely swimmingpool, great for (young) kids. Very helpful staff. Breakfast is a feast; from cereals, bread, toast and eggs up to roti pratha, nasi lemak etc. Dinner is also good and they can do many more dishes than are on the menu ( ask!). As Ipoh and its surroundings have more to offer than we had expected, we were glad to extend our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gtijdink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

After reading some of the reviews from other travellers I was wondering if we had the name wrong of the place we stayed as our experience was completely different. We stayed 3 nights at The Roots with the first two nights in the treehouse and the last night at the back of the resort in a River Villa. The treehouse is located right near the road so we didn't get alot of sleep because of the traffic noise. Also, the roof was not fully covered so the sun came in early in the morning waking up the whole family. The roof leaks so our clothes got wet which wasn't much fun with little children. There were ants and bugs so I would definitely recommend bringing bug spray.

The River Villa was alot nicer and quieter so our experience may have been different if we had stayed there for the whole time. The outdoor bathroom is quite a unique experience.

We couldn't use the jacuzzi in both Villas as it was either not connected to water or filled with dirt and bugs.

The breakfast was very disappointing with the same choice each day and if you don't get there before 9am the food runs out. We had to wait a long time before we saw any staff come out so that we could ask for things

On the first day, we wanted to do some sightseeing however there were no maps available and the staff didn't seem to know where anything was.

The positives of this place is if you are wanting to get in touch with nature you will certainly do that. It is very quiet and scenic and being rambutan season we were able to pick and eat as much as we liked. Our children enjoyed that.

Room Tip: Go with the river villa rooms at the back of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vergis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Beautiful resort for people to have an escape from a city life, lovely and helpful staff specially Meena and we are having memorable time with kids and family... Thumbs up and recommended to everyone !!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magesmona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friedrichshafen
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The area is ideal for varied excursions. We were in the jungle with the Orang Asli, the indigenous people, and it was very adventurous and exciting and memorable.

The Roots was just a dream, everything here has just voted. Accommodation, beds and other Bedding and entertainment were fabulous. We will definitely go back there, it was a dream.
In the preparation of the food, the staff were very flexible and accommodating. It exceeded our needs and expectations. Absolute top class! Thank you!

The Roots offers many child-friendly facilities, so that the little ones enjoy the holidays are so great. Thanks to all employees of The Roots Eco Resort.

Room Tip: There are different categories, but it doesn't matter where you sleep. We can not say anything a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walterkoenig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perak hotels
2.7 mi away
The Haven Resort Hotel, Ipoh – All Suites
7.7 mi away
Ipoh French Hotel
Ipoh French Hotel
#3 of 63 in Ipoh
621 reviews
7.6 mi away
WEIL Hotel
WEIL Hotel
#5 of 63 in Ipoh
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Ipoh Bali Hotel
Ipoh Bali Hotel
#9 of 63 in Ipoh
112 reviews
8.5 mi away
M Boutique Hotel, Ipoh
3.6 mi away
Lost World Hotel
Lost World Hotel
#15 of 63 in Ipoh
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roots? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roots

Property: The Roots
Address: Batu 10 1/2 Mile Jalan Chemor | Tanjong Rambutan, 31250, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Perak
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 220 B&Bs / Inns in Perak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Roots 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your The Roots reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roots Hotel Perak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing