We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel, Rubbish Food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Kuantan
Cumbria
Level Contributor
254 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, Rubbish Food”
Reviewed October 3, 2008

We visited Holiday Villa during Ramadan which meant the hotel was really quiet. There are two pools on the complex, and both were almost deserted during our stay. The grounds are lovely with well manicured gardens and lovely plants and flowers. We stayed in a nice little villa close to the pool with a small sitting area and outside veranda. The hotel is situated on a lovely beach and you'd be able to walk along to Cherating Village during the day. There's not really any restaurants close to the hotel, so you'd probably need a car or taxi to take you into Cherating Village - its a backpacker place, so lots of cheap eating places. Unfortunately the food at the hotel was very poor, with dried up food and uncovered fruit open to insects (things may be better when the hotel is busier). I got food poisoning here, so my views are rather biased I'm afraid. There's a great turtle sanctuary a few miles away which is well worth a visit.

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds and lovely beach
  • Disliked — The food was very poor
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheilasWheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    76
    88
    52
    48
See reviews for
119
59
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
kuala lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 20, 2008

My Family and I have just returned from a stay at the Holliday Villa in Cherating, although I found the price range for the rooms to be a little pricey (RM230 per night for standard room) for the standard (3 Star is my opinion), the Hotel has alot to offer in ambiance, lush greenery, beautiful beach and quiet atmosphere. The food is fairly average in choice and cooking and not worth the prices. Staff are attentative but slow. The facilities are good and is ideal for children, with Tennis, Table Tennis, Video games,bicycles and water tours to keep the family busy. Overall I give the hotel a 5 of 10.

  • Liked — Setting and Ambiance
  • Disliked — Price, accomodation, Staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank KLBeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2008

The location was great, right on the beach (the beach and pool were about 100m from each other.) The beach was vast and clean and virtually deserted. The perfect beach resort much better than europes crowded beaches. The rooms were spacious and clean expect for a small ant infestation. The main hotel restaurant was resonably priced and breakfast was of a good standard with vast choice. However the resort was around 10 miles out of cherating and so only accessible by car, so not ideal if the small town is what you came to see.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — slight ant infestation
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charljack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2008

It's really not too bad considering the other places I stayed in but Holiday Villa has it's cons. First - on a rainy day we got a leaky room and a wet bed. but they were nice enough to change us to a new room which leaked is less strategic spots anyway. Cleanliness wise it was ok, I'm not particular about the room but give the place a few more years and it looks like it's going to need an overhaul. Garden Chalets were RM240 when I was there. The beach was very dirty. the resort does nothing to maintain beach cleanliness. The pool was murky as well. The arcade section, well, it's not Genting Highlands standard. Buffet Breakfast was a simple fair, a very simple fair.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank weiyein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kuantan hotels

singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2008

My friends and i stayed at Holidayvilla at Cherating for two nights. It is the worst resort that i have ever stay. First, when i step into the room, there is a dusty/moist smell and i can feel the foor is dusty too. Secondly, the ceiling light is not working and they take a long time to come after we call for maintenance. After when we come back, we realise that the door is not locked after the repair. Third, the water heater is still not working after the maintenance guys came to repair. We gave up in the end and have to bear with the cold water instead. Fourth, the breakfast is sucks. Finally, the worst thing is i got bitten by bedbugs..... :(

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judgery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kuantan
2.2 mi away
Residence Inn Cherating
Residence Inn Cherating
#2 of 6 in Cherating
3.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Legend Resort Cherating
Legend Resort Cherating
#30 of 43 in Kuantan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
5.3 mi away
Samsuria Beach Resort & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Suria Cherating Beach Resort, Kuantan
13.1 mi away
Swiss-Garden Beach Resort Kuantan
2.1 mi away
Cherating Eastana Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating

Property: Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating
Address: Lot 1303, Mukim Sungai Karang, Cherating, Kuantan 26080, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Pahang > Kuantan District > Kuantan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kuantan
#5 Spa Hotel in Kuantan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kuantan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lush greenery and secluded palm-fringed beaches fronting the South China Sea, Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating has the ideal facilities for family vacations and honeymoons, in addition to corporate meetings and team buildings. Situated 47km from Kuantan, the capital city of Pahang, the beach in Cherating is a haven amongst avid surfers who come from all over the world each year to especially enjoy the ride of the ocean waves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Fastbooking, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Villa Beach Resort & Spa Cherating reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Villa Cherating Hotel Kuantan
Holiday Hotel Kuantan
Holiday Hotel Cherating

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing